Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Shambaugh Family Papers:

RG 99.0152
Collection Dates: 1893-1940
1.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008.

Photographs: None









Return to Shambaugh Family Papers Main Page

Box Contents List

Box 1


Printed in October No. of Current Encyclopedia

Applied History, 1912 (2 copies)

Citizenship and Citizen Training

"Commission Government in Iowa: the Des Moines Plan." Publication no. 650 American Academy of Political and Social Science. Reprinted from The Annals (November 1911)

"Constitutional Disfranchisement of the Negro." Printed in Current Encyclopedia (November 1901) (original)

"Constitutional Law." Published in Process, V:11 (original)

The Constitutions of Iowa: an Historical Essay,

Material for use in writing Cyclopedia of American Government

Title page and preface to Debates of Iowa Constitutional Conventions, 1844 -- 1846. Dated 1900 (original)

"Des Moines Plan of City Government," paper on. Published in the Proceedings of the Political Science Association (original)

Horace Emerson Deemer

Documentary Material Relating to the History of Iowa -- copy of cover page, 1895

The Case of Scott vs. Sandford, the Dred Scott Case

"The Founding of Iowa City." The Palimpsest, XX:5 (May 1939)

Historical Introduction (to the constitution of Iowa), a pocket edition (original)

"History of Iowa City." Original notes and manuscript, written as Master’s Thesis, University of Iowa, 1893 (3 folders)

Box 2

"History of Iowa City." Original notes and manuscripts, written as Master’s Thesis, University of Iowa, 1893, cont.

The History of the Constitutions of Iowa.

The History of the Constitutions of Iowa. Chapter XIV (original)

The Influence of Climate on Civilization.
Prepared for Dr. Patten’s Seminary, University of Pennsylvania, January 1894

"An Introduction to the Study of Government on Iowa." Original manuscript Doctor’s Thesis (2 folders)

"Iowa’s Century of History." Published in The Iowa Clubwoman, XiV:4 (March -- April 1932), page 2

"The Living Philosophy of Benjamin Franklin." Published in The Executive’s Club News, 16:16 (January 26, 1940)

Messages and Proclamations of the Governors of Iowa, a fragment from printer’s copy

"The New Constitution of Alabama." Printed in Current Encyclopedia (December 1901) (2 copies)

"Old Capitol in Iowa City," notes regarding the construction of it. From the personal recollections of George H. Yewell, December 26, 1922

Data to use in The Old Stone Capitol Remembers (2 copies)

The Old Stone Capitol Remembers, dedicated to Bertha M.H. Shambaugh

The Old Stone Capitol Remembers. Chapter 1

Original government and charter outlines, compiled by Benjamin F. Shambaugh

Political Geography. (2 copies)

Box 3

"A Preliminary Report on the Public Archives of Iowa." Published in Reports of the American Historical Association (November 1900) (original)

A Report on the Public Archives. Printed by the Historical Department, September 1906 (original)

Some memoranda in the university lecturers and introducing speakers including a list of speakers

Some unpublished books

"State and local historical societies west of the Mississippi River" (copy of a report on)

The Teaching of Civics in the Secondary Schools (2 copies)

Training for Public Service

Trends in American Civilization: a Civic Interpretation