The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Shambaugh Family Papers: Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008. Photographs: Noted below |
|
Return to Shambaugh Family Papers Main Page
Box Contents List
This inventory was compiled by Mary Bennett in 1980 as part of her inventory of the larger collection of Bertha M.H. Shambaugh photographs in the collections of the State Historical Society of Iowa. The two volumes labeled "Photographic Record" are, however, held by the University of Iowa Libraries.
BFS = Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh
BMHS = Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh
"Son" = Benjamin Shambaugh Horack, BMHS's brother's son and BFS's namesake
Box Contents List
Box 27
Volume I
page/subject
2 -- 3 copies of Christmas cards (printed)
4 -- 11 copies of Christmas cards (photos)
4 Santa and sleigh, 1924 *43.9
6 King Corn, 1928
8 BFS on sofa, 1930 *52.37
11 -- 16 printed cards (see dates listed on SHSI inventory of plates)
17 -- 24 Corn folk dolls *41.1 -- 41.28
25 Political Science Club arrangement *44.1
26 Sara Cox's Horoscope Birthday arrangement *39.11
26 Wimpus luncheon arrangement
27 Political Science Club arrangement (different than p. 25)
28 Mother's picture with pansies, June 25, 1929 *43.17 -- 43.19
28 Benjamin Shambaugh Horack's 12th birthday, October 3, 1929 *39.8
29 Political Science Club's 30th Anniversary, January 10, 1927 *44.2
30 Benjamin Shambaugh Horack's cake stand, 1917 -- 1927 *39.10 (no print)
30 -- 31 Benjamin Shambaugh Horack's birthday cookies, October 3, 1917 -- 1927 *43.1 (no print)
32 more cookies in animal shapes
33 Wimpus creatures
34 -- 35 Pine cone figures *42.1 -- 42.2
38 Bertha in travel outfit, wearing hat of BFS, "somewhere in Yellowstone" July 1928
40 Reunion of PhD's, on porch of Shambaugh house, 1930
40 7th Commonwealth Conference, night shot at Old Capitol, Bruce Bliven speaking
42 Christmas, Shambaugh house interior; tree with elephant-shaped cookie *6.11
43 Christmas, Shambaugh house interior; evergreens and pinecones over doorways (7 photos) *6.3 -- 6.9
46 BFS, 1924 *52.32; BMHS, wearing hat, 1924 *49.23. Same as joint portrait *51.4
47 interior of old Unitarian Church, Iowa City *10.3
48 Mother's picture with pine cones and evergreens, Christmas 1930
48 Christmas tree *43.21 (no print)
49 Corn folk dolls and printed information
50 -- 51 Indian trail map
52 -- 72 Travel
52 BMHS at Marble Rock Canyon with horse, wearing riding pants
53 BFS at Canadian Rockies in British Columbia, bridge behind
54 Long's Peak, scenery only, September 1929
57 New Mexico, Bishop's Lodge, BMHS and BFS, March 1928
58 Yosemite, no year given
60 BFS at Canadian Rockies in British Columbia
61 Bertha with horse, "Peanuts," at Longs Peak, ColoradoBertha with horse at Canadian Rockies in British Columbia *38.6
62 Longs Peak, Colorado, September 1929
63 BFS at Glacier Park and at New Mexico
64 Glacier Park; New Mexico, BFS and BMHS
67 Colorado
68 -- 69 Longs Peak, Colorado
70 -- 72 British Columbia
73 Dickinson oil portrait of BFS in Iowa Memorial Union
74 -- 75 Commencement, June 6, 1932 (potted palm)
76 Old Capitol, spiral staircase
77 Shambaugh house, summer seat and bittersweet (in back yard), 1925, "from a snapshot with the old Kodak" (taken from yard) *3.18 or 3.19
78 -- 79 Shambaugh house, pergola (in back yard), March 1932 (shoveled sidewalk) *3.20 or 3.21
80 Shambaugh house exterior in wintertime (etched effect), photo by Mr. Kent, 1925 *3.13
80 Shambaugh house, front porch steps with peonies, 1910 "sent to me in Europe"
80 Shambaugh house exterior in the wintertime, 1925 "snapshot made with old Kodak"
82 -- 83 Travel: Black Hills, Latch String Inn, 1932 *38.12 -- 38.14
84 -- 85 Eleanor Dixon's birthday celebration, February 1933 *39.12 -- 39.23 (no prints)
86 Table decoration, butterflies with one tall candle on cake *39.62 (no print)
87 BFS and grandneice, Eleanor Dixon *39.12 -- 39.61 (no print)
88 -- 89 BFS and namesake nephew, Benjamin Shambaugh Horack, 1924 *56.6
88 BFS and baby, February 10, 1918
89 BFS and Benjamin S. Horack dressed in a boy scout uniform *56.9 -- 10
90 BMHS wearing a white lace dress and garnet necklace, 1907 -- 1908 *40.22
91 BMHS and "Son", Bertha is wearing a dark dress with lace at collar and upper sleeve, ca. 1920's
92 BMHS with Katharine (neice), taken as leaving for Europe, 1910
92 -- 93 BMHS with her nephew "Son"
93 BMHS in Amana costume (Townsend) 1908 (slightly different view, front)
93 BMHS's profile *40.21
95 BMHA and BFS with young nephew and neices
96 Benjamin F. at age 5 *52.1
96 Benjamin in hunting outfit and other photos of BFS
96 BFS and BMHS, 1898 *52.9 and 49.14
97 Bertha with Katharine and"Son"
99 -- 105 Amana photos
106 -- 107 Travel: BFS with Maria Chiwiwi, June 1933 (2 photos) *38.20 -- 38.21
108 -- 110 BFS and BMHS in Taos Indian Village
111 Harold Turpin and "The last Dandelion" student working in the yard
112 Old Mechanics Academy *18.8
113 Old Capitol
114 -- 115 Zetagathian and Irving Halls *21.2 -- 21.3
116 "Son"
116 Eleanor
117 -- 121 Travel: Trip to Yellowstone
121 Logan Pass, Glacier Park scenery
122 -- 123 Eleanor Dixon, 1934 *39.24 -- 39.61 (no prints)
123 -- 124 Mr. and Mrs. Dixon and Eleanor
125 -- 133 Travel: At Puye *38.27 -- 38.28
126 Bertha on vacation
128 Hopi-land
129 Second Mesa
130 BFS in Indian headdress, May 1937 *52.48
130 At San Ildefonza Pueblo
131 Julian Martinez, San Ildefonza Pueblo, near Santa Fe
131 Joe Esquibel, jeweler at La Fonda, Santa Fe
132 Joe Esquibel and BFS discussing silver
133 BFS dressed as Indian chief by Julian Martinez
134 Commencement
135 Men and women reading in southwest corner of library lecture room, long view *53.13
135 BFS at bookcase on west wall of library lecture room
136 New room with atmosphere, BFS at desk
136 Man and woman reading, close-up *53.15
137 BFS at desk in new library lecture room*53.9
137 Chair, lamp and table in Campus Course library lecture room
138 -- 143 Travel
138 Latch String Inn, Black Hills, September 1, 1934
139 BFS in tree trunk, September 1934, Long's Peak Inn
140 BFS
141 Vincent Lalla
142 -- 144 Black Hills142 Panning for gold
143 BMHS
143 BFS "sunning"
144 BFS and BMHS chopping wood with axe
144 BMHS contemplating aspen trees
145 BFS and Dr. Chong in graduation robes, 1934
145 Student working in yard, house in background
146 -- 147 Inauguration Day, 1934
148 BFS seated in mother's rocking chair in library, reading, January 29, 1935
149 BFS in entryway with hat, canes, overcoat, January 29, 1935
149 BFS and BMHS reading in library, January 29, 1935
150 -- 152 Eleanor Dixon in five photos: with table decoration, father, BFS, roses and butterflies. February 25, 1935
153 -- 159 Travel: Oak Creek Canyon, Arizona, BMHS leaning on rock window. *38.29 -- 31
155 Desert Inn, Palm Springs, Cilifornia, BFS under old peppertree, May, 1935. *38.33
157 -- 159 Mojave Desert, Capistrano, etc. BFS and the doves. *38.34
160 Commencement
161 BFS at the Old Farm House, September 6, 1935
162 -- 165 Travel: Arkansas travel shots, several photos, Ozarks, September 1935
Box 28
Volume II
page/subject
1 Coover house interiors (loose) *4.1 -- 4.5
1 BMHS's graduation gifts, June 7, 1889, 66.1 -- 66.3
2 -- 4 Horack house interiors *2.1 -- 2.14
5 Snowball bush in mothers garden, (Horack) *67.3
5 The lady slipper bed, north side of Horack house *67.1 -- 67.2
6 -- 8 BFS in campus course room, (3 photos) *53.1 -- 53.10
9 -- 13 Travel: Ozarks, April 1936
10 San Antonio, Texas, May 1936
10 BFS and BMHS seated on wooden bench (yucca plants behind) on patio of the old Spanish Governor's Palace *38.39
13 BFS and BMHS standing rock bridge, Brackenridge Park, Japanese garden
14 -- 15 Commencement, 1936
16 Jack Horner pie, daisies, PhD Luncheon, June 24, 1936 *39.65
16 Political Science Wimpus luncheon
17 Carl Smith wedding, 1936 *43.10 -- 43.11
18 Commencement at night, August 1936
19 Dickinson painting of BFS in Union
20 -- 22 Travel: Estes Park, Long's Peak. Scenery and BMHS and BFS
23 Wimpus cake decoration
23 Dinner for Bud and Elizabeth, September 24, 1936 *40.22 -- 40.23
24 House interiors: sofa with "October in Iowa" painting and bust sculpture of BFS *5.7
25 BFS reading, 1936 (Huxley) *52.46
26 Mormon trek plaque
27 -- 31 Travel: Bryce Canyon
29 BFS with hat, May 1937
32 Elsbeth in wedding dress, 1936
33 -- 34 Commencement, 1937
35 The Brain Derby, 1937
36 -- 37 BFS in the garden, September 1937, (several photos)
38 BMHS at Spillville
38 BMHS at Katharine's house
39 -- 40 BFS in the garden *52.51
41 Table decoration, October 14, 1937 *40.15 (no print)
41 Table decoration, guest of honor, Ethan Allen's daughter (used in This Old House) *39.63 -- 39.64
43 Doll and cradle *65.1. (no print)
44 Wimpus, Halloween, luncheon for graduate students *40.19 -- 40.21
46 House exterior
48 -- 59 Travel
49 The Pan American Highway, Mexico
50 BFS at the Pyramids
53 -- 59 Taxco (several photos)
60 BFS at Piney Woods School with Laurence Jones, four photographs
61 Old Capitol
62 -- 63 Commencement 1938
64 BFS on campus
65 BMHS in the garden
66-7?. Travel
66 -- 68 Black Hills, Needles Highway
69 -- 71 Yellowstone
72 BFS (IRA photo) same as with Ethyl Martin
72 New Diggens, Wisconsin church
74 House exterior, clematis
76 House exterior with snow (negatives at U of I)
77 Father's father (Horack)? Log cabin
77 Coover house interiors *4.1 -- 4.2
79 -- 100 Christmas cards from friends
101 BMHS seated indoors with small pine trees, Christmas 1938 (photo by F. Kent)
101 Pine trees and the library, Christmas 1938 (photo by F. Kent) *6.15 -- 6.21
103 BMHS with her Amana pillow, February 12, 1939
105 Birthday flowers, February 12, 1939 *43.22 (no prints)
105 Campus course painting over the fireplace, February 1939 *43.23 (no print)
106 Birthday cards
107 BMHS standing near split-rail fence *49.6
107 Old Capitol
108 Thomas Cox
108 1939 map of Iowa City
109 Henningsen, Eastern Star Group (No BMHS or BFS)
110 -- 117 Travel: Floating gardens in Mexico Taxco (Several photos)
118 -- 120 Commencement June 5, 1939; James O. Howard
124 "Old Stone Capitol Remembers," framed sign by BFS *52.52
124 BFS and T.V. Smith (half-tone) *56.15 (no print)
127 -- 128 Chauncey and Dolly Swan (original daguerreotypes at SHSI)
129 BFS on cover of The Executives' Club News for Benjamin Franklin Day, January 12, 1940
130 Erika Mann
131 Benjamin Franklins *56.16
132 Wimpus
132 -- 140 Greeting cards
134 Christmas card, photo of Nile Kinnick holding baby Sandy Hook, "Iowa 1960" on baby's shirt