Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Shambaugh Family Papers:
Realia and Oversized Materials

RG 99.0152
Collection Dates: 1888-1940
2.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008.

Photographs: None









Return to Shambaugh Main Page here

Box Contents List

Box 43  

Note: A selection of materials on the illness and death of Dr. Shambaugh, plus memorial items are not included in this list.  There are also items listed which are not in Box 43.

Oversized Materials

Deemer, Judge Horace E. “Iowa History and Historians: An appreciation of the work of the Honorable Charles Aldrich and Dr. Benjamin F. Shambaugh” in The Mail and Times, LVI:16 (August 9, 1907), pages 9 -- 10 (2 copies)

"Father Marquette’s Journal” in The Mail and Times, vol LI: no 5 (November 19, 1904), page 10

“Some Historical Discoveries. Valuable Material for Unpublished Books” in The Mail and Times  vol LIV:20 (November 17, 1906), page 8 (3 copies)

"What It Means to Go Far Away,” in The Mail and Times (August 12, 1905), page 6

Press Proofs, Old Stone Capitol, Athens Press. (10 copies)

Pencil Sketches

Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Iowa’s Dreamer of Dreams and Builder of Traditions

Father of Iowa History

Intensely American, Thoroughly Iowa – the Complete Cosmopolitan

Director Iowa Commonwealth Conference

Master of Ceremonies

In his Mother’s Lincoln Rocker

In the campus Course Library

In his October Garden

Pen and Ink Drawings

Under the Reading Lamp of Katherine Horack (Bookplate)

Where Memory brings the light of other Days to Greet You (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS

From the Home of Benjamin F. and Bertha M.H. Shambaugh (Bookplate)

From the Home of Benjamin F. and Bertha M.H. Shambaugh (Bookplate)

Here old affections linger to greet you with the legends of the past (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS

Speakin’ of Iowa After Corn-huskin’ – it’s Christmas-Time Greetings (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS

When Winter Came, 1892 by E.D. Van Ek

Where Evening Lamp and Rocking chair Invite the Companionship of Book (Bookplate)

Where Welcome Greets You at the Door and Memory Lingers in the Hall (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS

Where Memory Holds a Seat and Welcome Smiles to You (Greeting Card) BFS and BMHS

See, Winter Come to rule the Varied Year (Greeting Card)

A Code of Law and Practice of State and Local Self-Government in Iowa

Scrapbook about BFS April 2 -- 8, 1940


Lantern Slides, Four-Minute Speaker. 3 items

Zinc etchings

Benjamin F. Shambaugh signature. 3 items

The Old Stone capitol. 1 item

The House. 1 item


The Wisconsin Perry’s Victory Centennial Medal, 1913

United States Centennial, 1776 -- 1876

St. Louis Exposition, 1904, Gold

St. Louis Exposition, 1904, Bronze

Diplomas and Certificates [These are filed with similar materials in an Archives Map Case.]

Bertha M. Horak, Iowa City High School, June 7, 1889

Benjamin F. Shambaugh

Iowa National Guard, appointment as Captain of Company B University Battalion, May 14, 1892

University of Iowa, Zetagathian Society, June 10, 1892

Bachelor of Philosophy, June 16, 1892

Iowa City Academy, June 13, 1888

Lewis and Clark Centennial Commemorative Diploma

Nebraska State Historical Society Corresponding Member, January 29, 1910

Minnesota State Historical Society Corresponding Member, February 12, 1906

Washington Memorial Founder’s Certificate, February 21, 1914

Phi Kappa Phi fraternity diploma, Iowa State College, June 3, 1912

State Historical Society of Iowa Life Membership Certificate, February 7, 1912

Active Membership Certificate, November 12, 1902

Appointment of the Curator of the Historical Department of Iowa, November 27, 1908

Halle, Wittenburg, August 8, [1895?]

Halae, April 26, 1895 [?]

University of Pennsylvania, Doctor of Philosophy, June 3, [1895?]

State University of Iowa, Master of Arts, June 15, 1893

Material for a Projected Biography from Miss Hovey, Addendum