MsC 283

  Manuscript Register


Collection Dates: 1948 -- 1984
3 linear ft.

This document describes a collection of materials held by the
Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1420
Phone: 319-335-5921
Fax: 319-335-5900

Posted to Internet: April 1998
Addenda 1979, 1984

Acquisition Note: Mr. Norris gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1973. Additions to the collection were given in 1979 and 1984.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright:  Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on "Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials"

Use of Collections:  The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Abbreviations: For an explanation of the abbreviation and dating conventions used in the finding aids, see Abbreviations.

Table of Contents  

Biographical note

Scope and contents

Box 1 Correspondence, 1948 -- 1972

Box 2 Correspondence with David Ulmer Norris

Box 3 Correspondence with Donald Nixon Morris -- University of Missouri School of Journalism Community Service Award

Box 4 Republican National Convention, 1968 -- Speeches, 1949 -- 1973

1979 Addition

Box 5 Correspondence, 1971 -- Speeches, 1973 -- 1978

1984 Addition

Box 6 Correspondence, 1960 -- 1984

Biographical Note

Newspaper editor and publisher, Paul Gifford Norris, Jr. (1904 -- 1985) was born in Grinnell, Iowa. He began his career in Chicago as a reporter and rewrite man. In 1927, he joined the staff of the Marshalltown Times-Republican, remaining there for nearly sixty years. He worked successively as the sports editor, state editor, and city editor. He left for a brief time to run the newspaper's radio affiliate, KFJB of Marshalltown. Norris was the editor and publisher of the Times-Republican from 1949 until his retirement in 1980. He was named Iowa Master Editor-Publisher by the Iowa Press Association in 1956, and was president of the organization from 1974 to 1975.

Paul Norris was a member of the board of directors of Blue Cross - Blue Shield of Iowa and of the Inland Press Association. An active Republican, he was a delegate to the Republican National Conventions in 1956 and 1968. The only non-player ever elected to the hall of fame of the Iowa Amateur Athletic Union, he helped found the Iowa AAU Basketball Tournament in 1947. Paul G. Norris, Jr. was eighty years old when he died of injuries suffered in an automobile accident.

 Scope and Contents

The papers of Paul G. Norris, Jr. consist of three linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1948 to 1984. Most of the collection is made up of correspondence, dealing with family matters, newspaper business, and politics. Some of the correspondents include: Philip D. Adler, Gerald L. Bogan, Terry E. Branstad, Dick Clark, Sonja Carlsen Egenes, Charles E. Grassley, H.R. Gross, Roger W. Jepsen, Ann Landers, Karl M. LeCompte, Kenneth MacDonald, Thomas E. Martin, Jack Miller, Merle Miller, Richard M. Nixon, Frank T. Nye, Robert R. Rigler, Jean Seberg, Neal Smith, and Lew Warren. The remainder of the collection is made up of two folders of materials relating to the 1968 Republican National Convention and two folders of speeches given by Norris from 1949 to 1978.

 Box 1


1948 -- 1951, including letters from H.R. Gross

1951 -- 1955, including letters from H.R. Gross, Estes Kefauver and Richard M. Nixon

Congratulatory letters for the Master Editor Award (1956) and election to membership in the American Society of Newspaper Editors (1957), including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Otha D. Wearin, and Paul Franzenburg


1958 -- 1960, including letters from Verne R. Martin, Thomas E. Martin, Kenneth MacDonald, Leo A. Hoegh, and Robert K. Beck

1961 -- 1964, including letters from Philip D. Adler, H.R. Gross, John M. Henry, Jack Miller (plus signed photograph), Lew Warren, Karl M. LeCompte, Howard R. Bowen, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Richard M. Nixon and Ann Landers

1965 -- 1970, including letters from Philip D. Adler, Sonja Egenes, Ernest A. Hayes, H. R. Gross, Ronald Reagan, Kenneth MacDonald, Jack Miller, Robert D. Ray, Duane E. Dewel, and Ann Landers

Political correspondence, 1970 -- 1971, including letters from Robert D. Rigler and Mrs. Elizabeth R. Miller


1971 -- 1972, including letters from William D. Proxmire, H.R. Gross, Jean Seberg, and Merle Miller

 Box 2

 Correspondence with David Ulmer Norris, 1951 -- 1971 (4 folders)

 Box 3

Correspondence with Donald Nixon Morris, 1951 -- 1961

Correspondence with Paul G. Norris, III, 1955 -- 1966 (4 folders)

University of Missouri School of Journalism Community Service Award, 1951

Box 4

Republican National Convention, 1968, including letters from Mrs. Elmer M. (Mary Louise) Smith, Charles E. Wittenmeyer, Sonja C. Egenes, H.R. Gross, Karl M. LeCompte, and Robert R. Rigler (2 folders)

Speeches, 1949 -- 1973

 1979 Addition

 Box 5


1971 -- 1975, including letters from Dick Clark, Lew Warren, H.R. Gross, John S. Murray, David M. Stanley, Charles E. Grassley, and Neal Smith

1976 -- 1979, including letters from Dick Clark, Terry E. Branstad, and Maurice Van Nostrand

Dick Talmadge, 1960 -- 1964 [stepson]

Speeches, 1973 -- 1978

 1984 Addition

 Box 6


1960 -- 1969

1971 -- 1980, including letters from Charles E. Grassley, Roger W. Jepsen and Ernest A. Hayes

1981 -- 1984, including letters from George Mills, Gerald L. Bogan, Frank T. Nye and Carl Hamilton. Also includes a speech entitled "Early Recollections of Marshalltown"

Clippings, 1974 and 1985


return to inventory
Go to top of page
Return to Inventory
of Page