|
Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were given to the University Archives by various donors on numerous occasions. Additions to the collection continue to accrue. Guide written and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson in December 2004; revised December 2006. Photographs: |
|
Scope and Contents
The Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files of the University of Iowa Archives consist of records pertaining to over 500 former University students. The files may include, but are not limited to, obituaries and newspaper articles. These records are collected continuously, and new files are created from these newspaper articles. The collection is a convenient source of biographical information about University of Iowa alumni and former students.
Related Materials
Related materials at the University of Iowa Archives include the University General Catalog collection. Released annually from 1855 to 1972 and biennially thereafter, the catalog includes lists of enrolled students from 1855 through the 1934-1935 academic year. The catalogs include lists of graduating students through the 1940-1941 year.
Many photographs of alumni are housed in the F.W. Kent Collection of Photographs. These photographs are dated approximately 1863 until 1958, with the bulk of them dated in the late 1800s. In some instances, there are larger collections of papers in the Department of Special Collections pertaining to the individual. For example, Nile Kinnick is represented not only by a folder in this collection, but also by the Papers of Nile C. Kinnick.
The Hawkeye yearbooks, published annually until 1992, contain student portraits and information about student activities. No Hawkeye annuals were published for the years 1973-1976, although freshman yearbooks exist for a portion of this period.
The Office of Alumni Records maintains official graduation and degree information about all UI alumni. To submit a request for information, contact the Office at http://www.iowalum.com/find.
The Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files consist of one series, arranged alphabetically by name of individual. The list of files below indicates that a file pertaining to that individual is available at the University of Iowa Archives. For convenience, researchers may click on the letter of their choice to view that portion of the list. This A-Z series is preceded by a small set of miscellaneous files pertaining to alumni.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M
N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X – Y | Z
Box Contents List
File List
Iowa alumni by county of residence, ca. 1923 (four folders)
Alumni Awards
Alumni Bureau (Greater University Committee), 1910-1911
Alumni Club of Des Moines
Alumni - Alumni Reserve Officers' League
Alumni - Annual Dinner, 1923
Alumni - Articles of Incorporation
Alumni - Collective members - clippings
Alumni - Collective members - lists, etc.
Alumni - Correspondence, misc.
Alumni - Early graduates
Alumni - Iowa Alumnus
Alumni - Miscellaneous, pamphlets, fliers, etc.
Alumni - Noted
Alumni - Occupation of Iowa graduates
Alumni - Reports from Executive Secretary, SUI Alumni Association
Alumni - Reunion letters, Association business, etc.
Alumni - University of Iowa Association
Alumni - University of Iowa Alumni Association (UIAA) 50,000-member mark, 1999
A [ return to A-Z directory ]
Abron, Lilia.
Adams, William E.
Ahmed, Rafiuddin.
Aitchison, Eric.
Alamu, Josiah.
Alchon, Bernard. See: Subject > Misc. > Lectures: Alchon Memorial Forum
Alexander, Archibald A. (Archie).
Alexander, Kineke.
Alexander, Margaret Walker.
Allen, Donald.
Allen, Joseph H.
Alpers, Bobbi.
Amlie, Thomas R.
Amundson, Craig.
Anders, Mae Corrine.
Anderson, Barrett.
Anderson, John.
Anderson, Matt.
Anderson, Steve.
Anson, Adrian Constantine ("Cap").
Arkoff, Samuel.
Arnold, Kenny.
Arnold, Tom.
Ashton, Ned.
Athearn, Walter Scott.
Ayers, Lemuel.
Baber, Asa.
Babineaux, Jonathan.
Bacon, John.
Bagley, Lewis C.
Bail, Phillip Milo.
Bailey, Alfred M.
Bailey, McKinley.
Baird brothers, George and William.
Baird, Steven.
Baker, Jason.
Baker, John.
Baker, Larry.
Bakken, Hans.
Baluyot, Sotero.
Banach, Eddie.
Banowetz, Dean.
Barclay, Wade Crawford.
Barrett, Lawrence E.
Barron, Irving J. “Stub”.
Bartsch, Paul.
Bassett, Edward P.
Baumgartner, Nancy.
Beard, Henry C.
Bednasek, Robert E.
Beers, Leslie.
Beiderbecke , Leon “Bix”.
Belding, Leland.
Belding, Lester Coit.
Belding, Paul H.
Bender, Isaac W.
Bender, Joan.
Benson, Mildred (Augustine) Wirt.
Bergmann, Leola Nelson.
Bergstrom, Wallace.
Bettenhausen, Elizabeth.
Biber, Stanley.
Bielema, Bret.
Blackman, Mark Kenneth.
Bledsoe, Letta Cary.
Blessing, Lee.
Bloor, Samantha “Sadie” Cranston.
Bly, Robert.
Boal, T.D.
Bockes, Bernard.
Boddicker, Mike.
Boies, William Dayton.
Bollinger, James W.
Bolte, Rudolph.
Boudinot, Howard S.
Bradley, Barry.
Brainerd, Ossian Hatch.
Branch, E. Douglas.
Branstad, Terry E.
Bresland, John.
Briggs, Charles W.
Briggs, Shirley.
Broders, F.M.
Brokaw, Tom.
Brooks, Michael.
Brown, Bennie Drew, senior.
Brown, Carroll T.
Brown, Charles R.
Brown, Greg.
Brown, Joe R.
Brown, Lewis Harold.
Brown, Norris.
Brown, Samuel Joe (Also as: Brown, S. Joe).
Burbridge, Charles Elvin.
Burge, Martin H.
Burgess, Mitchell.
Burroughs, John A.
Burton , Harry Edward.
Busse, Johanna.
Butler , Robert Olen.
Butters, Ronald R.
Byers, Frank C.
Byoir, Carl Robert.
Cameron, Harriet.
Campbell, Chris.
Campbell, John.
Canterbury, Julie.
Card, Charlie.
Carey, Edward MacDonald.
Carlson, Steve.
Carter, Edward A.
Carter, George H.
Carver, Clayton.
Catalano, Tess
Catlett, Elizabeth.
Chapman, Ansel.
Chaturvedi, Mahesh.
Chelminski, Brian. See: Khalsa, Sahib.
Chow, Liang.
Christiansen, Paul.
Christman, Lauree.
Clark, Alexander.
Clark, Dallas.
Cleaves, Margaret A.
Clemons, Craig.
Closz, Jacob.
Cocking, Walter D.
Cole, Colin.
Collins, Arthur.
Collins, Max Allan Jr.
Collins, Thomas.
Collson, Mary E.
Cone, William Vernon.
Conrad, Paul.
Considine, Sean.
Cook, George Cram.
Cook, Marv.
Cooley, Peter.
Coughlin, Joan.
Coulter, Chan.
Couppee, Al.
Cowen, Howard.
Craven, John P.
Crum, Franklin.
Crum, John V.
Cuhel, Frank J.
Culberson, Richard.
Culver, Mari.
Cummings, Anne.
Dahl, Eva.
Dana, Robert.
Davis, Barry.
Davis, Keno.
DeLand, James E.
Dean, Floyd R. “Buzz”.
Desir, Jathan.
Devine, Aubrey.
Dewel, William C.
Dewey, Charles A.
Dirksen, Dustin.
Dittmer, Jack.
Doak Davis, Nan.
Dobyns, Stephen.
Doderer, Minnette.
Dodge, Donald William.
Domke, Joseph (Joe).
Dove, Rita.
Downer, Robert.
Drake, David.
Drewelowe, Eve (Mrs. Van Ek).
Dubus, Andre.
Dueber, Jeanne.
Dulin, Tarana Grothaus.
Dwight, Tim.
Dybek, Stuart.
Dykstra, Clarence A.
Easker, Fred.
East, John Herschel.
Eby, Moray.
Edberg, Diane Lee.
Edson, Elizabeth.
Edwards, Kim.
Edwin, Moung.
Eells, Paul.
Eggers, Lolly.
Eichacker, Lois.
Eldred, Cal.
Elliott, Charles Burke.
Elliott, Owen N.
Elmen, Ernest.
Emery, Imogen B.
Emme, Eugene M.
Erdahl, Clemens A., Sr.
Estes, Simon.
Evans, Dina Rees.
Evans, Richard.
Fales, Dean.
Fatland, Oley.
Fellows, Albion N.
Fenton, William.
Ferentz, Brian.
Fields, Matt.
Finkbine, William O.
Finn Milleman, Katie.
Fitch, Arthur E.
Fitzgibbons, Leo.
Fitzpatrick, Thomas.
Fleming, Merle.
Flood, Elmer “Bud”.
Ford, Nick Aaron.
Forman, Percy.
Forsythe, Henderson.
Foster, Melvin.
Francis, Marion David.
Franker, Dave.
Freeman, Tony.
Freyer, John.
Frye, "Red".
Fukushima, Marina.
Fuller, Njeri.
Fuller, O. Anderson.
Fulton, Robert L.
Furbish, Frederick.
Gallery, Robert.
Gallup, George Horace “Ted”.
Gardner, Archibald K.
Gardner, John.
Gardner, John Raphal.
Gibbs, Major General George Sabin.
Gichohi, Jane.
Glenn, John.
Goeb, Roger.
Goeldner, Katharine.
Goetz, Lance.
Gordon, Edward L. Jr.
Gould, Beatrice B.
Grealy, Lucy.
Green, Dennis.
Green, Edwin B.
Green, H.L.
Green, Robin.
Guggenheim, Charles Eli.
Guise, Bryan.
Gunderson, Sonia.
Guttenfelder, David W.
Haaf, Daniel.
Haddock, Mary.
Haddock, William.
Hageboeck, Eleanor.
Haight, Mike.
Haldeman, Joe.
Hall, James W.
Haluska, Adam.
Hamilton, John J.
Hanley, Joe.
Hansberry , Lorraine.
Hansen, Brooke.
Hansen, James.
Hansen, Robert and Velma.
Harmon, Ronnie.
Harper, Harry D.
Harper, Virginia.
Harris, Homer.
Harris, Jim.
Harris, Paul P.
Harris, Percy.
Hausrath, Don.
Hawkins, Connie.
Hays, Silas B.
Hebard, Grace (Raymond).
Hecht, Ben.
Heezen, Bruce C.
Henley, Jesse Van Fleet.
Hecht, Anthony.
Heineking, Donald.
Heineman, John.
Herbst, Josephine.
Herring, Ebenezer. (See also: Bloor, Samantha)
Hickerson, Loren.
Hickey, Mary (Wilkinson).
Hierstein, Richard.
Hilgenberg, Jerry.
Hilgenberg, Joel.
Hinkel, Ed.
Hinton, Al.
Hoegh, Holger N.
Holbrook, Frank Kinney.
Holleran, Andrew.
Holt, Rochelle.
Hopp, Marshall Scott.
Horner, Jeff.
Howrey, Edward F.
Huang, Siming.
Hubbard, Philip G.
Huftalen, Sarah.
Hultin, Dr. Johan
Huntinger, Paul.
Hurt, Mary Beth.
Husain, Ali.
Hussain, Reza.
Hutchinson, Jim.
Hyde, Arthur Mastick.
Interlandi, Frank.
Irving, John.
Ishikawa, Kizo.
Jackson, David.
Jackson, Nell.
Jaeger, Lowell.
Jan, Rafat.
Jarreau, Al.
Jepsen, Les.
Jewel, James E.
Johnson, Adah (Hyde).
Johnson, Lulu Merle.
Johnston, Tim.
Jones, Charles Deacon.
Jones, Clavin.
Jones, Laurence C.
Jones, Tayari.
Juarez, Rudolph.
Kaczynski, Wanda.
Kaeding, Nate.
Kalas, Harry.
Kallenberg, Henry F.
Kampman, Aaron.
Kapenstein, Ira.
Karras, Alex.
Kawakami, Kiyoshi Karl.
Kelly, George Alexander.
Kemp, Barry.
Kennedy, Dr. Elizabeth S.
Ketelson, Kyle.
Keyes, Charles Rollin.
Khalsa, Sahib.
Kielkopf, Mike.
King, Tom.
Kingsbury, Chris. See: Subject > Athletics > Basketball, Men's: Kingsbury
Kinnick, Nile.
Kittle, Bruce.
Klabunde, Charles.
Klemesrud, Judy.
Klinefelter, Emily.
Klinefelter, Katy.
Kobayashi, Junko.
Koch, Sigmund.
Kramer, Larry.
Kramer, Mary.
Krause, William A.
Krepella, Dr. George E.
Kresowik, Mark.
Kresowik, Tim. (also Dan, Jessie, Mark)
Kril, Ray.
Krist, Lisa.
Kroul, Matt.
Krueger, Janet.
Kubby, Karen.
Kuntz, Everett.
Kutcher, Ashton.
Kwok, Samuel.
Lacy, Mary.
Lamb, William Edward.
Lane, Linda.
Larson, Chuck.
Laure, Martin John.
Law, Jolette.
Law, W.R.
Lee, A.W.
Lee, Robert.
Levitt, Richard S. and Jeanne S.
Levine, Dr. Max.
Li, Yiyun.
Lindsey, Kevin.
Lohaus, Brad.
Locke, Gordon.
Loetscher, Ila Fox
Long, Chuck.
Louis, Norwood.
Lourens, Raina.
Lowden, Frank O.
Lu, Gang.
Luck, David.
Lugn, A.L.
Lustig, Arnost.
Lyness, Janet.
Maassen, Lois.
Macbride, Philip D.
MacDonald, Nancy.
Magalhaes, Shaner.
Magid, Frank N.
Mahan, Bruce E.
Mahoney, Jock.
Mali, Sid.
Malone, Francis.
Mannheimer, Robert.
Marshall, Charles B.
Martin, Dora (also as: Berry, Dora Martin).
Masters, Richard.
Mattes, Jed.
Matteson, Oral.
Mattill, John I.
Mattison, Bertha B.
McCann, Terry.
McCarney, Dan.
McCorkle, Brad.
McCormick, Carolyn.
McCrory, Samuel H.
McCutchen, Heather L.
McFarland, Joseph.
McIlravy, Lincoln.
McKean, Penny.
McKinley, Mike.
Meek, Edward.
Melampy, Carolyn (Tiebout).
Melloy, Michael Joseph.
Mendieta, Ana.
Merritt, Fred D.
Meyer, Nicholas.
Meyer, Randall.
Miller, Laurence.
Miller, Warren.
Mindrum, Gordon.
Moon, Ronald.
Moore, Tom.
Morris, Greg.
Morris, James B. (family)
Mowlam, Marjorie.
Morano, Michele.
Morrison, S.T.
Morse, Charles H.
Morse, M. Rowena.
Mott, Alice J.
Mottlow, Martin “Red”.
Murphy, George.
Murphy, Jeremiah.
Myers, Robert J.
Nakhasi, Atul.
Nelson, Terry.
Nimmer, Katie.
Nissen, George.
Nollen, John S.
Norman, Dean.
Norton, Donald “Don”.
Nukuri, Diane.
Ochoa, Ramon.
Ochs, Jim.
O'Connor, Edward L.
O’Connor, Flannery “Mary”.
Odems, Demo.
Oehler, Jay.
Oeur, U Sam.
Olsen, Sonny.
Olson, James M.
Olson, Robert A.
Onstot, Doug.
Otte, Lowell.
Ottens, Sarah Ann.
Owens, Robert Leon III.
Owenson, Henry Adolph.
Pack, Abigail.
Packer, Zuwena “ZZ”.
Pappajohn, John.
Parker, Jerry.
Partee, Anthony.
Patrick, Amos.
Patrick, Mary Mills.
Patterson, Clair.
Pawley, Thomas D.
Penhorwood, Constance. (also as: Cuccaro, Costanza; stage name)
Perry, Mark.
Petersen, Dennis.
Peterson, Richard Phillips.
Petrzelka, Matt.
Pfeffer, Paul E.
Phillips, John T.
Phillips, Van Lehn.
Pilsbry, Henry A.
Pitner, Monty.
Podolak, Ed.
Popaja, Jasmina.
Poulin, Al.
Pounds, Tim.
Prasse, Erwin.
Pratt, H.M.
Prestage, Jewel.
Price, Franthea.
Pugh, Richard.
Q [ return to A-Z directory ]
Ramsey, Bo.
Ray, Dottie.
Reden, William Franklin.
Reed, Diana.
Reger-Wilkinson, Mary.
Remley Family.
Rice, Rachel Williams.
Richard, John.
Richer, Paul J.
Rider, Dr. Thiel.
Riggs, Charles E. (Rear Admiral)
Riley, Bridget.
Rinard, Park.
Ris, Wally.
Roberts, Arlene.
Robinson, Eddie.
Roby, Reggie.
Roddy, George.
Rodgers, Will and Amanda.
Rogers, Matt.
Rohrbacher, Dr. William M.
Rojas-Cardona, Juan J. “Pepe”.
Rose, Edward S.
Rose, James.
Ross, Kevin.
Ross, Ronald K.
Roth, Matt.
Rottler, Phyllis (Pooley).
Routh, Brandon.
Rowley, Coleen.
Ruben, Ruth S. (Subotnik)
Ruiz, Mariano Ventura.
Russell, Frank.
Sadler, Steven Ray.
Sahs, Ella B.
Sailor, Rachel.
Samuelson, Agnes.
Sanborn, David.
Sanders, Bob.
Sarpkaya, Turgut.
Savery, Annie.
Schaefer, Ruth.
Schapiro, Miriam.
Schmarje, C.F.
Schmitz, Chester.
Schnepf, Heather.
Schrafel Family.
Schwengel, Fred.
Schwilck, Lucille.
Sciortino, Mary A.
Scott, Elsie.
Seaman, Halleck W.
Seamans, Gary F.
Seberg, Jean.
Seerley, Homer Horatio.
Shan, Linhua.
Sharpnack, Joe.
Shaw, Dina Rees Evans (see Evans, Dina Rees).
Shirley, John William.
Shoultz, Ramond.
Shuler, Robert G.
Siems, Alice Littig.
Simmons, Ozzie.
Simons, Henry C.
Simonsen, Todd.
Sioson, Miya.
Sivan, Ori.
Sklar, Morty.
Skolaski, Jennifer.
Slater, Fred "Duke".
Smiley, Jane.
Smith, Althea Beatrice Moore.
Smith, Crystal.
Smith, Dennis.
Smith, Dexter Edson.
Smith, Luther H.
Sojka, Richard.
Spade, Sydney.
Spangler, Harrison E.
Speed, Jim.
Spence, Hartzell.
Spencer, Dick.
Sperry, Frederick.
Stefansson, Vilhjalmur.
Stern, Rudi.
Stewart, Jennifer.
Stoops, Bob.
Stork, Nicole.
Stout, Juanita Kidd.
Stover, Russell.
Strand, Mark.
Street, Chris.
Streit, Gary.
Strong, Alfred C.
Strub, Sean O'Brien.
Stump, E. Turner.
Stutsman, W.H.
Swaine, Robert.
Swan, Ethel Elliott.
Swisher, Benjamin F.
Swofford, Anthony.
Szukula , Rafal.
Tao, Chiang.
Tate, James.
Taylor, Pete.
Ternus, Marsha.
Thomas, J. Wendell.
Thomas, Lora.
Thomas, Seth.
Thompson, Donald.
Thompson, John Wesley.
Thompson, Ray.
Threlkeld-Wiegand, Chris.
Tipler, Carol.
Tippett, Andre.
Tippie, Henry B.
Tosaw, Richard.
Triplett, Ben.
Triplett, Brian.
Vandervelde, Julian.
Van Duyn, Mona.
Van Oosterhout, Martin.
Vass, Greg.
Veblen, Oswald.
Verhille, Robert.
Vlasic, Mark.
Vollmer, Henry.
Volleweider, Henry.
Von Maur, Cable G.
Vredenburg, Dwight
Wait, George Ray.
Waitt, Ted.
Walker, Margaret (see: Alexander, Margaret (Walker).
Wallace, Naomi.
Walljasper, Jay.
Wang, Qidong.
Ward, Betty Arnett.
Weaver, James B.
Webb, Ivory.
Weber, Irving.
Wen, Wen-Ling.
Wenger, Marion A.
West, Steve.
Western, Gary.
Wheeler, Sheba.
Wheeler, Ted.
White, J. Patrick.
Wickham, Kate.
Wiegmann, Casey.
Wier, Murray.
Wilburn, Ross.
Wilder, Gene. (also as: Jerome Silberman)
Wilkerson, Vernon Alexander.
Wilkinson, Bud.
Wilkinson, Mary Roger.
Williams, S. Clyde.
Williams, Tennessee.
Wilson, Mrs. I.P.
Wilson, Robert "Chug"
Wilson, Tony.
Winbigler, Donald.
Winckler, Susan.
Winninger, Steve.
Witt, Colin.
Witter, Aaron C.
Wolfe, Russell Marcus.
Wood, William.
Wozniak, Jim.
Wueschner, Erika.
X – Y [ return to A-Z directory ]
Yeager, Tim.
Yeggy, Tricia.
Young, Marguerite.
Zabel, Jim.
Zadick, Bill.
Zadick, Mike.
Zazza, Alan.