
|
Subject Vertical Files Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were given to the University Archives by various donors on numerous occasions. Additions to the collection continue to accrue. Guide posted to the Internet December 2004; revised December 2006. Photographs: |
|
Scope and Contents
The Subject Vertical Files of the University of Iowa Archives consist of records pertaining to the University’s colleges, departments, offices and programs, as well as events and topics. The files may include, but are not limited to, newspaper articles, publications, pamphlets, announcements, special event programs and other documents. The collection is a convenient, wide-ranging source of topical information about University of Iowa history.
Related Materials
In many instances, related materials at the University of Iowa Archives include larger collections of records transferred to the Archives by faculty, staff, alumni and others. For example, Religion is represented not only by the files in this collection, but also by the Records of the School of Religion.
The Subject Vertical Files of the University of Iowa Archives consist of one series of categories, arranged alphabetically. The following list of categories indicates that one or more files pertaining to that topic is available in the collection. For convenience, researchers may click on the category of their choice below to view that portion of the expanded file list, which follows below. Researchers may also locate a topic in this collection by entering a word or phrase in the search feature of their Web browser, if available.
Categories
Box Contents List
ADMINISTRATION [return to categories]
Academic information (release of)
Administration, 1906-1976
Administrative advisers (President Freedman, 1984)
Administrative code revised to allow for furloughs, 2001
Administrative Council, 1959-1962
Administrative Council, 1961-1963
Barnett affair (Prof. Donald Barnett), 1967
Calendar, 1965-1967
Campus IT Review Committee (information technology), 2006
Campus police/security, 1963-1980
City-University Committee, 1957-1958
Committee on Institutional Cooperation, 2002
Committee on Recommendations for Provost, 1962
Committee system, 1972 and 1974
Committees, 1967-1969
Dean of Academic Affairs, 1967
Dean of Women, history, 1935
Discipline Committee, 1962-1964
Discrimination, 1962-1965
Distinguished Service Awards, 1967
Dorm judicial system, 1966
Draft law and The University of Iowa, 1965-1968
Economies and unmet needs, 1969
Emergency Operations Board, 1972
Faculty Council, 1965 and 1972
Faculty dismissals, 1968
Faculty Research Committee, 1954 and 1955
Foreign students (international students), 1931-1932, 1947-1975
Grades and grading, 1966, 1967, 2001
Greater University Committee, 1907-1909
Hearing officer, 1970
International House, clippings, 1952-1957
Investigation, 1871, 1886-89, 1899, 1931
Leaves of absence, 1965
Membership in outside university organizations, 1963
National ranking, 2003
Neighborhood Youth Corp., 1965
North Central Association Committee on Evaluation of Accrediting Procedures, 1939-1940
Off-campus and continuation center committees, 1955
Office of Student Life
Ombudsman, 1969, 1972, 1973
Organization of The University of Iowa, 1944, 1950, 1951, 1968
Parking ban, 1966
Parking Committee, 1956-1958
Parking Committee, 1966-1971
Planning, 1966 and 1973
President, reports, etc., 1934, 1949, 1964-1965, 1968-1969
Presidents, candidates (recommendations and applications), 1858, 1867, 1870, 1887, 1898-1899, 1933-1934, 1940
Presidents, inaugural addresses
President's salary, 1973
Provost, history of the office
Provost search, 2007
Public Relations Committee, 1950-1952
Related clippings, 1971 and 1988
Retiring Faculty Recognition, Committee on, 1956-1957
Rules of Conduct (Board of Regents), 1970
Senate boards, 1914-1915
Senate-faculty, 1908, 1919, 1953
Solicitation procedures, 1966
Standing Committee on University Relations, etc., 1968
Strategic planning, 2006
Strategic Planning Committee - Achieving Distinction, 2000
Student Services, Office of, 1952, 1963-1965, 1980
“Suggestions on Future Directions for Development of Our Three [Regents] Institutions: Responsive to President Maucker’s Memorandum of January 5, 1959 bearing the above title.” President Hancher memorandum, February 20, 1959.
Tuition (out-of-state vs. in-state; non-resident tuition vs. resident) court trial, 1966
University Committee on Cooperation with a Negro College, 1963-1964
University of Iowa (UI) on the Web, 2001, 2003
University Social Science Research Council, 1951
Vice President for Business and Finance, 1965
Vice President for Instruction and Dean of the Faculties, 1955-1956, 1963-1964, 1969
AFRICAN & AFRO-AMERICAN STUDIES [return to categories]
African Studies, 1968-1969, 1990
Afro-American World Studies, 1969-1970, 1990
AIR SCIENCE [return to categories]
A.F.R.O.T.C. (AFROTC), two folders, 1962-1988 and 1952-1966
AMERICAN INDIAN / NATIVE STUDIES PROGRAM [return to categories]
Miscellaneous, 1993, 2001, 2003
AMERICAN STUDIES [return to categories]
Controversy, 1993
Alumni, 1930
Budget, 1991
Clippings, 1936-1998
Curricula, 1938-1974
Dada archive, 1978-1987
Faculty biographical information, 1952-1953
Faculty meetings, 1944 and 1971
General (correspondence), 1990-1993
History of Art (course study), correspondence, 1930s
International print show, 1951
Models, nude, 1937-1948
Murals, portraits, artwork on campus
Papermaking
Personnel, 1920, 1935-1940, 1945, 1948-1949, 1951, 1953-1954
Ph.D. degrees awarded
Praise, 1938, 1945-1946, 1948, 1951
President’s Council on the Arts, 1963-1964
Printmaking, 1963, 1998
Printmaking, Lasansky, 1948-1949
Rental gallery collection, 1988
Scholarships, 1991
Slides, 1953, 1956
State of the department, 1936, 1962, 1969, 1979
Students, Veterans Administration Regulations, 1949
Thesis requirements, 1947
Videotape controversy ("Taxi Zum Klo"), 1993
ASTRONOMY [return to categories]
Meteors, etc., 1929, 1930, 1933, 1942, 1946-1947, 1953, 1986
State of the department, 1930, 1942
Study and teaching, 1942, 1946, 1948, 1958
ATHLETICS [return to categories]
Academic issues (see also: Athletics: Graduation rate)
Athletics Director search, 2006
Baseball, 1985-86, 1990, 1994
Basketball, drug treatment, 1988
Basketball, men’s (clippings, etc.), 1962, 1970, 1980-1981, 1984, 1993, 1995-1996
Basketball, men's, head coach search, 2007
Basketball, men's, Kingsbury
Basketball, men's, tornado damage - fundraising
Basketball, Pierre Pierce case
Big Ten Network
Black men and women, 1991, 1995
Board in Control of Athletics, 1915, 1929, 1960, 1966, 2003
Color guard, 1981
Conduct policy
Donations / fund raising, 1983, 1988-1989
Football, 1974-1998
Football, Alamo Bowl, 2006
Football, anniversary of 100 years, 1989
Football, Antwan Allen case, 2005
Football, Big Ten termination, 1929-1930
Football, black players, 1968-1969
Football, Capital One Bowl, 2005
Football, coaches, captains, and season records, 1889-1946
Football, coaches / controversies, 1989
Football, fans, 1980, 1982, 1989-1990, 1993
Football, Floyd of Rosedale trophy, 1968-1969, 1973, 1987, 1993
Football, Gator Bowl, 1983
Football, HRN, 1994
Football, Holiday Bowl, 1987
Football, Iowa fight songs: “On Iowa,” “Iowa Fight Song” (by Meredith Willson), “Roll Along Iowa,” “Alma Mater Iowa”
Football, Iowa / Indiana game, 1931
Football, Nile Kinnick coin, bust
Football, Outback Bowl, 2006
Football, player misconduct
Football, schedules (Seahawks-U.S. Navy Pre-Flight School), 1942
Football, special trains
Football, sports agents' trial, 1989
Football, Super Bowl (Iowa connections to)
G.A.A. camp, 1953
General financial information, 1971-1994
Graduation rate, men and women, 1986-1995
I Club Scholarship Fund, Inc., 1978-1979
"Iowa – Inside Hawkeye Sports", 1979-1980
Iowa Lottery controversy, 2007
Iowa paraphernalia and logos sales, 1980, 1988, 2000
Iowa Sports School (summer sports camp), 1979, 1993
Marching band (see Music Department)
Men’s football, blacks’ boycott, 1969
Men’s general, 1963, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1976, 1979, 1980, 1995
Men’s general, controversy, 1989
Miscellaneous clippings
Native American team mascot policy
Penalties, controversy, 1983, 1986, 1988
Recruiting
Relations with Iowa State University and Iowa State Teachers College
Representatives to Big Ten and NCAA, 1988
Rowing
State of the Institution, 1972, 1974, 1991
Swimming (clippings), 1992
Television
Tennis courts, 1938
Ticket sales and publicity, 1950s and 1960s
Title IX (gender equity)
Women’s athletics
Women's athletics - basketball
Women’s athletics 20th anniversary, 1993
Women’s rifle team, 1930-1932
Women’s rowing, 1993
Wrestling
Wrestling camp, 1983
BIOCHEMISTRY [return to categories]
Alumni, 1963
Conferences, 1937 and 1963-1964
Research, 1941 and 1948
Scholarships and Fellowships, 1957-1959, 1964, 1966
State of the department, 1970
Study and teaching, 1957-1969
BIOLOGICAL SCIENCE DEPARTMENT [return to categories]
Biological Science Dept., proposed, 1991
BIOLOGY/ ZOOLOGY [return to categories]
Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing, 1999
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology - SEE: Medicine > Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Clippings, 1990, 1991
Genomics, 2001
Plant Molecular Genetics, 1985
Zoology clippings, 1919-1949
Zoology conferences (and classes), 1924-1957
Zoology curricula, 1918, 1953-55
Zoology employees, 1943 and 1946
Zoology gifts, collections, etc., 1920 and 1935
Zoology guests, lectures, etc., 1936-1947
Zoology publication lists, (also papers, letters), 1935-1943
Zoology research, 1935, 1936, 1943
Zoology scholarships, fellowships, etc., 1962-69
Zoology state of the department, (history of the department), 1926, 1954, 1962
Zoology students, (numbers enrolled in each class), 1949-1956
Zoology study and teaching, 1965-1969, 1973, 1987
Zoology Wild Life School, McGregor Iowa, 1935-1939
BOARD OF REGENTS [return to categories]
See "Governing boards"
Alumni, 1926 and 1950
Clippings, 1990 and 1996
Correspondence, 1909-1955 (to Macbride, Kay, Shimek, Stuit, Gilmore, Seashore, Jessup, Davis, McChesney, Horner, Fisk, Loehwing, Peterson, McGrath, Farr, Wylie, and Shull). Also Dept. facts sheet 1919-1923, budgets 1919-1920, and course recommendations
Curricula, 1952, 1953, and one very old but undated
Ginko trees, 2002-2004
Herbarium
Herbarium, controversy surrounding move to Iowa State University, 2003-2004
State of the department, 1940 and 1962
Students, 1884 and 1954
Study and teaching, 1906-1915, 1966-67, 1976, 1996
BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION [return to categories]
Bureau of Business and Economic Research, incl. 2 photos, 1944-1970
Caterpillar Speaker Series, 1992
Cedar Rapids Education and Conference Center, 1994
Center of Labor and Management
Clippings, 1977-1991
Commerce economic education, 1950
Crash of '87, The
History, 1995-1996
Hughes Lectures, 1993
International Economic Development, 1985
Iowa Centers for Enterprise: Business and Commercialization Services
Iowa College Community Research Center, 1958-1962
Iowa Council on Economic Education, 1957
Iowa Electronic Markets (IEM), 2003
Management Center / Industrial Relations Institute, 1984-1985
Management series, 1945-1946, 1964-1965
Master’s theses presented, 1950-1966
Miscellany, 1917-1994
Ph.D. program
Short courses, 1953-1956
UI Futures Market
BUSINESS OFFICE [return to categories]
Administrative data processing
Affirmative Action
Business office
Cobb, W.H., 1941 business manager
General stores, 1964, 1966 stock catalogs
Organization
Proposed budget, 1917 through 1966
Student financial aid
Student health insurance, 1961
Treasurer’s office, 1961, 1965 clippings
CHEMISTRY [return to categories]
Bacteriology (correspondence), 1918 and 1921
Conferences (clippings), 1946-1948, 1953
Correspondence, 1918-1950
Curricula (clippings), 1941-1942
Employees (clippings), 1945
Equipment and facilities, 1934, 1948
Guests, lectures, etc., 1897 lecture syllabus, 1944-1948 clippings
History (correspondence), 1985, 1997
Publication lists, 1940-1965
Research
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
Students (clippings), 1946 and 1948
Study and teaching
Workshops
CHINESE & ORIENTAL STUDIES [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
CLASSICS [return to categories]
Alumni (Guild of Domidus), 1934-1935, 1950
American Philological Association
Anniversaries, etc. (Horace Bimillenium Birthday Celebration)
Classics department, 1927
Conferences
Correspondence
Curriculum
Gifts and collections
Guests, lectures, etc.
Humanist Society
Latin institutes
Publication lists
Radio broadcasts (WSUI)
State of the department
Students
Study and teaching
Workshops, Latin
COMMUNICATION SKILLS [return to categories]
1947-1948
1949-1950
Committee (Communication skills)
Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Report (Communication skills)
Reports
Rhetoric Program (main course syllabus), 1966
COMMUNICATION STUDIES. SEE "SPEECH" [return to categories]
CONFERENCES [return to categories]
Administration and supervision
Chicano conference
College and University Machine Records Conference
Commonwealth Conference
CONTINUING EDUCATION [return to categories]
Elderhostel
Iowa summer writing festival, 1992, 2002
DEAN OF MEN [return to categories]
General
Historical data
Housing service
DEAN OF WOMEN [return to categories]
(see also "Director of Student Affairs")
Freshmen Orientation
History
Women of the University
Report, 1922-1923
DENTISTRY [return to categories]
Admission requirements
Alumni
Alumni Association, 2 folders, (1) 12th-34th meetings, (2) 35th- meetings
Brochure 1891 and Commencement 1892
Century of Progress Expo, 1933
Class schedules
Combined course-Liberal Arts and Dentistry (Dorcas correspondence), 1938-1939
Committee Studying Case Assignment
Comparisons with other schools
Conferences
Correspondence (W.J. Simon)
Council on Dental Education, survey, 1933 and 1942
Dental consultation plan
Dental Health Education Handbook and supplements, 1950
Dental Health Education Handbook, 1961, and Annual Report, 1967-1968
Dental Hygiene (correspondence, etc.), 1920-1939
Dental Hygiene closing and fight to reopen, 1991
Dental Hygiene department (correspondence, booklets, etc.), 1950s-1960s
Faculty meetings
Fifteen-year Progress Report on the College of Dentistry (Simon, W.B.), 1940-1955
Films, 1958
General clippings, 1909, 1944-1989
Graduate courses
History
Hospital Dental Service, 1946-1951
Instrument and text lists, 1939-1966
Keokuk Dental College, 1900-1927
Meetings, 1917-1966
Miscellaneous
Mobile Dental Unit, 1971-1972
Naval Reserve Program for Dental Students, 1954
Oral Surgery
Pediatric Dentistry
Peridontology, 1965
Postgraduate courses
Preventive Dentistry and Pedodontics, Dept. of
Printed forms
Private practice plan, 1965
Private practice regulations, 1953-1954
Publication lists, 1958-1961
Refresher courses, 1958, 1964-1965
Research, 1927
Suggestions for improvements, 1946-1953
Survey of students, 1959
Training grants, 1958-1960
University Relations Committee of Iowa State Dental Society
Women in Dentistry
Workshops, 1965
ECONOMICS [return to categories]
Conferences, 1934-1935
Curricula, 1905
General, 1991
Institutes, 1953, 1967
Scholarships, fellowships, etc., 1968, 1970
Study and teaching, 1970
Workshops, 1950, 1952
EDUCATION [return to categories]
Bureau of Education Research Stations, 1918-1919
Bureau of Educational Research, "Inventory of College Planning", 1967
Bureau of Educational Research and Service (43rd Annual Report), 1956
Center for Gifted and Talented (Belin), 1992 and 1995
Center for Teaching-2 folders (1) Miscellaneous, (2) TALK Newsletter
Clippings, 1963 and 1966
Counseling Psychology Program
Creative Work as Thesis, 1931
Curricula
Early Childhood Education Center, 1970s and 1980s
Education, late 1920s through early 1930s
Educational Placement Office (clippings)
Educational Testing
Evaluation and Examination Service, 1948 and 1968
Fiftieth anniversary, 1923
Graduate program, 1950s through 1980s
Higher Education, Study Committee on, 1956, 1961
History and personnel (general)
Iowa Academy of Education, 1996
Mid America Center for Bilingual Materials Development
REACH (Realizing Educational and Career Hopes)
Rehabilitation Counseling Program, 2007
Science Education
Science Education Center, history of, 1950-1975
Special Education Program, 2001
University Elementary School (see "Experimental Schools")
University High School (see "Experimental Schools")
ENGINEERING [return to categories]
Academy
Alumni (lists, placement reports, etc.), 1919-
Biochemical Engineering, 1985
"Bridging the Gap" (between University and industry), 1933
Brochures, 1894-1950s
Brookings Institute, 1933-1934
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology - SEE: Medicine > Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Center for Very Large-scale Integrated Circuits, 1985
Chemical Engineering
Clubs and organizations
College of Applied Science, 1904-1924
Combined course (Engineering and Liberal Arts)
Computer Aided Engineering Laboratory (UI College of Engineering), 1983, 1996
Conferences (symposia)
Corn Monuments, 1990
Curriculum, 1923, 1955, 1960-1961
Driving simulator
Electric rate investigation, 1928
Engineering shops, 1918-1920s
Ethnic Inclusion Effort
Five-year course (correspondence), 1921-1922
General clippings, 1972-2003
Gifts of equipment
History
History to 1939
Hydraulic research (general correspondence), 1922-1936
Hydraulics and mechanics, 1926-1934
Institute for Hydraulic Research (correspondence, clippings, etc.), 1930-
The Iowa Transit (publication), 1933
Legacy of Engineering, 2004
Library
Miscellaneous, 1921-1937, 1960s-
Parade (empty file; see: Subject > Traditions > MECCA)
Proximity fuse (alternate spelling: proximity fuze), 1945
Public utility (correspondence), 1925-1926
Publication lists
Salary survey, 1908
Societies
Space Grant Fellowship and Scholarship Program
Steam tunnels (see also: Buildings and Grounds vertical file > Misc. > Tunnels)
Stream gauging in Iowa
Student, lists, etc., 1920s-1964
War courses, 1940s
Women students
ENGLISH [return to categories]
14th Century English Mystics newsletter
Awards, contests, etc.
Charles Olson Festival, 1978
Clippings
Conferences
Correspondence
Curricula
European literature and thought
Faculty
Freshman English
Guests, lectures, etc.
High school preparation for college English
Institutes
International Writing Program, 2 folders (1) Clippings, etc., 1967- , (2) Miscellaneous, correspondence, etc., 1970-
Iowa Center for Modern Letters
Iowa Literary Caucus, 1935
Linguistic atlas
Literature
Mark Twain text, 1972
Problems
Rhetoric
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
Students
Study and teaching
Translation workshop
Walt Whitman Centennial Conference, 1992
Walt Whitman Club, 1954
Workshops
Writing festival
Writing programs
Writing University / Writers' House
EXPERIMENTAL SCHOOL [return to categories]
Annual Report of the University High School, 1921-1922
Annual Report of the University Schools, 1923-1924
Clippings (2 folders)
Commencement, 2 folders- 1967, 1971
Early history, City High School cooperation, 1913-1915
Educational television, 1962-1963
Elementary School , 1914-
General
History
Home room program, 1932-1933
Partial Report of Principalship (Milton C. Del Manzo), 1923-1924
Principal's Report (University High School), 1925-1926
Principal's Report, 1926-1927
Principal's Report (Phillip M. Bail), 1928-1929
Schedules, 1925-1926
University Elementary School (3 folders)
University High School, history
University High School
University High School, anniversaries
University High School, clippings
University High School (early)
FACULTY [return to categories]
Achievements
Awards banquet
Clippings
Collective bargaining
Contingent faculty
Convocation
Creativeness Conference (G. W. Stewart), 1949
Deans and directors, 1962
Departed faculty members
Departmental grievance reports, 1949-1950
Development
Dormitory disorders, clippings
Emeritus professors
Emeritus status
Employment
Eva Draegert, M.A. thesis
Evaluations
Faculty evaluation
Ida Beam Visiting Professor Program
IHEA
Judicial Commission
Leaves of absence
Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service
Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Promotions: Manner of determining, etc.
Rating of Faculty by Students, (Survey Project), 1968-1969
Recognition dinner
Recruiting
Reports of Social Committee, 1932-1933
Research professorships
Research vs. teaching
Retirement (2 folders)
Retirement annuity plan, 1944-1945
Retirement Plans, History of (Compilation of notes and articles by Robert Soldofsky)
Sabbaticals
Salaries (3 folders)-(1) 1930s-1960s, (2) 1980-1981, (3) 1986, 2004
Scholars program
Senate
Study of superior teachers
Tenure
UIEA
FINE ARTS [return to categories]
History
T. Henry Foster, 1937-1938
FOREIGN STUDENTS (INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS) [return to categories]
Academic Exchange Program
First foreign student, 1878
Foreign student aid
Foreign students (international students), 1947-1948
Foreign students (international students), clippings, 2 folders: (1) 1947-1948, (2) 1949, 1970s
International host family program
Miscellaneous
Office of International Education
Tracking of foreign students, 2002
FRENCH & ITALIAN [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
Special course in Italian
GENERAL ASSEMBLY [return to categories]
Board of Regents (Coordination of the Three Institutions of Higher Learning)
Investigation, 1931
Legislature, Relationship between the University and General Assembly
Miscellaneous (2 folders)
University audit
Visit to University
Visiting committee reports
GEOGRAPHY [return to categories]
Conferences
Curricula
History
Institutes
State of the department
Study and teaching
Urban & Regional Planning, 1965-
GEOLOGY [return to categories]
Alumni (lists-1940)
Clippings, 1935-
Curricula and field trips
Departmental report, 1962
Institutes, 1962-1965
Anniversaries, etc.
Curricula
Guests, lectures, etc.
Research
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
"Taxi Zum Klo", (film showing controversy), 1991
GIFTS (INCLUDING GRANTS) [return to categories]
Elliot, Mr. and Mrs. Owen (jade collection)
Martin, Dr. John, of Clarinda (rare medical books)
Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Morrell paintings (T. Henry Foster), gift to Children's Hospital, 1941-1942
Ranney, Dr. Mark (books, special collection)
Report of Cash and Securities Received, Gifts and Federal Grants, 1860-1952
GOVERNING BOARDS [return to categories]
Board of Regents, 1847-1916
Board of Regents, 1917-1939
Board of Regents, 1940-1950
Board of Regents, 1951-1968
Board of Regents, "Regents Guide", 1990-2000
Board of Regents, 2000-
Board of Regents, clippings (general)
Board of Regents, collective biography
Board of Regents, employee classification
Board of Regents, first female
Board of Regents, history
Board of Regents, survey
Duplication of Courses at Iowa's Regents Institutions, ca. 1915
Bailey, Ray (Regent)
Baker, George T. (Regent)
Baldridge, John D. (Regent)
Belin, Constance (Regent)
Boyd, William R. (Regent)
Collins, Thomas (Proposed regent), (See: VF-alumni)
Collison, Margaret (Regent)
Crabbe, Maurice B. (Regent)
Dancer, David A. (Regent)
Ekeren, Jacklyn (Appointee)
Evans, Mrs. Kenneth (Regent)
Gartner, Michael (Regent)
Hagemann, Harry H. (Regent)
Hall, W. Earl (Regent)
Hamilton, Vincent B. (Regent)
Harris, Percy (Regent)
Houghton, Dorothy (Regent)
McCartney, Ralph F. (Regent)
Molison, Wilbur C. (Regent)
Neas, Harry M. (Regent)
Noehren, Alfred W. (Regent)
Oberhausen, John C. (Regent)
Petersen, Mary (Regent)
Plock, Richard H. (Regent)
Pomerantz, Marvin (Regent)
Redeker, Stanley F. (Regent)
Richards, Jonathan B. (Regent)
Richey, R. Wayne (Regent)
Rider, Dwight (Regent)
Rosenfield, Dannie (Regent)
Rosenfield, Joseph F. (Regent)
Rosenfield, (Mrs.) Joseph (Regent)
Schoentgen, Edward P. (Regent)
Shaw, Donald Hardy (Regent)
Strawman, Clifford M. (Regent)
Van Ekeren, Jackie (Regent)
Van Gilst, Bass (Regent)
Vasquez, Rose (Regent)
Wallace, Ralph H. (Regent)
Williams, Mary (Regent)
Zumbach, Steven (Regent)
GRADUATE COLLEGE [return to categories]
Advanced degrees
Application forms and brochures
Appointments
Biological Sciences
Clippings
Deans
English
Fine Arts Round Table, in connection with the 30th Anniversary of the Founding of the Graduate College, 1930
First degrees, including information on undergraduate degrees and ethnicity
Graduate assistants
Health Services Research Center
History
Institute of Mental Hygiene
Instructions for Plan of Study for Ph.D.
M.A. without thesis
Manual (working papers for the 1966 Revison), 1966
Master’s degree
Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous historical
Neural and Behavioral Sciences Program
Organized research units
Philosophy
Policy determination
Research administration
Research, classified
Research professorship
Rules and regulations, 1955
Scholarships
State of the college
Thesis rules
Thirtieth anniversary (30th anniversary)
Training of college teachers
Traveling Scholar Program
Urban and Regional Planning
Withdrawn theses and dissertations SEE ALSO: Miscellaneous > Cheating; Law > Plagiarism
HISTORY [return to categories]
American Civilization course, 1933-1934, 1944, 1947
Conferences, 1st (1921)-21st, 24th-29th, 40th-48th, 1992-
Correspondence, 1919-1960
Curricula
Employees
Examinations
Memos, 1971-
Mississippi Historical Review
Publications
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
Students
Study and teaching
Winfred Trexler Root Seminar Room, dedication
HOME ECONOMICS [return to categories]
Alumni
Anniversaries, etc.
Awards and honors
Conferences
Curricula
Guests, lectures, etc.
Iowa Home Economics Association
Miscellaneous
Relations with Iowa State Department of Home Economics
Research
State of the department (to 1942)
State of the department (after 1942)
Students
Study and teaching
Workshops
HOSPITALS & CLINICS [return to categories]
Ambulatory Surgery Center
Blood Bank
Burn Treatment Center
Children's Hospital (Occupational Therapy Dept. 1925-1926 Annual Report)
Children's Hospital of Iowa
Clippings-2 folders: (1) Clippings, etc., (2) Hospital, clippings, 1994-
Dietary Department
Director of Operational Improvement
Division of Developmental Disabilities
Early Termination of Pregnancy Clinic
Emergency
Facial plastic surgery
Gerontology Institute
Grievance procedures, 1946
"Growing Older", 1990-
Heartland Family Health Associates; Perry, Iowa
Homeopathic Hospital, 2002 article
Hospital School
Indigent Patient Program
Lipid Research Clinic
Maternity
Medical Museum
"Noonews" samples, 1987
Nursing Service
Nutrition Department (newsletter)
Opthamology
Pathology Department
Patient’s Library
Pediatric Cardiovascular Center
Radioactivity tests (articles), 1994
Radiology
Spine Center
State of the institution
State patient service (includes Perkins, Haskell-Klaus Laws, etc.)
Student Health Service
Transportation Service
U.S. Food and Drug Administration experiments
Virtual Hospital
Volunteer program
Westlawn (clippings)
Women's Health Center
HUMANITIES [return to categories]
May Brodbeck Faculty Award
Miscellaneous
INSTITUTE OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS [return to categories]
Institute of Urban & Regional Research
Miscellaneous
IOWA CHILD WELFARE RESEARCH STATION [return to categories]
Child development space needs, 1964-1965
Clippings, 2 folders: (1) 1930s, (2) 1940s-
Cooperative pre-school (child-welfare)
History
History, notes by Professor Hamilton Cravens (2 folders)
Miscellaneous
Preventive Psychiatry
Preventive Psychiatry Committee
Preventive Psychiatry Institute, 1957, 1964
Preventive Psychiatry Program
Report of the Committee Appointed to Review the Institute of Child Behavior and Development, 1972
Workshop on Education in Human Relations and Mental Health
JOURNALISM [return to categories]
Accreditation
Advertising
Alumni, 2 folders
American Association for the U.N.
Annual Report, 1945
Awards
Bureau of Audience Research
Bureau of Media Service
Bureau of Newspaper Service
Campus humor magazines
Clark, (Jeff) field trip, 1957
Clippings, 2 folders (1) Clippings on accreditation, (2) Clippings
Committees, 2 folders (1) Iowa Committee on Professional Journalism Education, (2) Iowa Journalism Careers Committee (new name for ICPJE)
Communication Center (Journalism Budget)
Communications Committee
Communications Council, 1950
Course of study
Course: Presidential Politics, 2003
Courses (correspondence), 1943
Curriculum (Paul White), 1946
Daily Iowan, alcohol investigation, 2003
Daily Iowan, censorship: 1951 Phi Gamma Nu Situation (and other criticisms)
Daily Iowan, clippings
Daily Iowan, controversy, Bryan Reddick articles (consolidated), 1961
Daily Iowan, controversy, (L. Durham), 1970-1971
Daily Iowan, controversy, (Klinzman, Mastio), 1993
Daily Iowan, controversy, Britt cartoon, 1993
Daily Iowan, correspondence, etc.
Daily Iowan, editors
Daily Iowan, investigation (Haefner Committee Report on the Daily Iowan), 1962
Daily Iowan, 100th anniversary, 1968 (3 folders)
Daily Iowan, 125th anniversary reunion, 1993
Daily Iowan, parodies
Daily Iowan, policy
Daily Iowan, purchase agreements, etc.
Daily Iowan, special issues
Degree requirements, 1947-1969, 1978-
Departmental report, 1962
Director
Duplication with Iowa State
Extension activities of College of Liberal Arts
Faculty (2 folders)
Faculty meetings
Fisz (publication)
Frivol (publication), (2 folders)
Gallup chair
Grade point requirements, 1948
Graduate instructions
Graduate lecture, 1955
Graduate study
Graduate Study Committee
Graduate Study Manual, 1960
Graduate work
Hawkeye
History (2 folders)
Iowa High School Journalism Workshop
Iowa High School Press Association
Iowa Newspaper Desk Book
Iowa Press Association contest rules
Iowa Short Course on Newspaper Circulation
IPI study at SUI
Journalism Reports
Journalism Student Teacher Education program, 2000-2001
Journalism Summer Session, 1965
Lectures: Murray: Jackson, Lady Barbara, 1961
Library
Linotype school
Linotype Training Program
Mass Communications in Modern Society, course
Matrix awards, 1951-53
Mellett Memorial Lecture: Kenneth L. Dixon, 1952 visit
Microfilming newspapers
Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Museum
Nancy Drew conferences, 1993
National Association of Educational Broadcasters
Needs, 1943
News Exchange Directory
News Sequence, proposed changes, 1951
News workshop, Newspaper Production Laboratory
Notebook, "The Pattern of Development of the SUI School of Journalism from 1940 Through 1957 and the Needs of the Future," 1957
NURU (a publication of National Association of Black Journalists)
Photography Dept., 1936-1955
Printing Press
Printing Survey: Freedman
Public Relations program
Publications
Quest (alumni newsletter)
Questionnaires
Quill and Scroll (George Gallup)
Readership surveys
Recommendations for the 1961-1963 biennium
Research
Research assistants
Scholarships
Seminar, Science News, 1964
Speaking for Victory
SPI elections
SPI, Study of (President's Committee to Study SPI)
Student newsletter
Student Publications, Inc., 1966
Student Publications, Inc. (Board of Trustees)
Summer Workshops, "Sessions", 1989
Time capsule, 1953-1957
Typographical Laboratory
University Reporter, The, 1868
Vocational guidance manual
Wayz-Goose banquet
LAKESIDE LAB [return to categories]
Iowa Lakeside Laboratory
Agricultural Law Center
Alumni
Anniversaries
Annual Community Service Day
Buildings
Clark political speech, 2003
Clippings
Conferences
Crime Detection Lab
Curricula
Deans
Employees
Examinations
Foundation
Guests and lectures
History
Hubbard Law School Preparation Program, 2004
Iowa Law Review
Journal of Corporation Law
Legal Clinic
Legal Institute
Library (College of Law)
Mock trials SEE ALSO: Law>Traditions
Peace officers' short course
Plagiarism, 2002 SEE ALSO: Miscellaneous > Cheating; Graduate College > Withdrawn Theses & Dissertations
Prisoner Assistance Clinic
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
Spring Tax Institute
State of the department
Students
Students, Hispanics and American Indians
Study and teaching
Traditions, including Law Jubilee
Transnational Law and Contemporary Problems
Women
LETTERS, SCHOOL OF [return to categories]
Center for Textual Studies, 1969-
Clippings
Iowa Review
Miscellaneous
LIBERAL ARTS [return to categories]
Academic Career Cluster Program
Adjustment Committee
Administrative procedures
Administrative structure (2 folders)
Advisory Committee
Advisory office
Alumni Fellows Program
Bachelor's degree in general studies
Biennium report, 1962
Brochures
Campus course, Shambaugh
Center of International Studies, 1966
Cinema and Comparative Literature Department, 2001
Committee on Administrative Structure
Committee on Area of Concentration
Committee on Duplication of Courses (economy in instruction, etc.), 1939-1940
Committee on Honors Courses, Committee on "Increasing the Opportunities of the Exceptional Student"
Committee, Military, 1940-1941
Committee on Undergraduate Training in Family Life and Parenthood
Committee on University Information, 1941-1942
Committee on Use of Classroom Space, 1945-1946
Committees, Adjustment, 1945
Constitutional Committee
Core course requirements
Credit by examination, 1967-
Department analysis reports, 1950
Departmental review letters
Educational Policy Committee, clippings
Entrance exams
Executive Committee
Faculty rating project
GERs
Global Health Studies, 2000
History
Honors program
Integration of general education, a proposal to study, 1951
International Programs, 2003
Miscellaneous
Newburn administration, committee actions
Occupational Therapy Committee papers, 1945-1946
Pass/Fail Plan, 1967
Pre-Mortuary Science
Saturday Scholars Series
Standing committees
State of the college
Student Liberal Arts Board
Three-year Master’s degree program
LIBRARIES [return to categories]
Administration, 2002
Archives / Records Management
Art Library
Automation
Building notes
Center for the Book
Clippings, 1951
Conservation Dept.
Dress code petition, 1970
Engineering Library
Exhibits
Faculty status for librarians
Fire of 1897
Food and drink policy
Government Documents
Handbooks for Students, 1939, 1974
Health Science Library
History
History, directors
Information Arcade, 2002
Item of the Month, September 2007-
Law Library
Lectures
Librarian's Club, 2003
Maps
Miscellaneous
Oral History Program
Physics Library
Psychology Library
Rita Benton Music Library
Reports
Sesquicentennial, 2005
Special Collections
Staff
Strategic Plan
Summer Library School
Team structure
Web site
Women’s Archives [Iowa], misc., 1992
Y2K [Year 2000] Contingency Plan
LIBRARY SCIENCE, SCHOOL OF [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
MATHEMATICS [return to categories]
Alumni
Computer Science
Conferences (2 folders)
Curricula
Institute of Statistics
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
Students
Study and teaching
Summer Institute for Teachers, 1957
MEDICINE [return to categories]
AirCare - emergency medical helicopter service, 2004
Agricultural Health and Safety
Ambulatory Care Unit Committee, 1966-1967
Anatomy Department
Announcements
Annual Meetings - miscellaneous
Artificial Heart Valve
Bacteriological Laboratory
Bacteriology Lab, 1917
Biocatalysis Center
Biomedical Engineering Institute, 1985
Biomedical research
Biotech Project
Brain Awareness Week
Cancer research, 1955
Cardiothoracic Surgery
Cardiovascular Center
Carol A. Bowman Creative Writing Contest for Medical Students
Carver Nonprofit Genetic Testing Laboratory
Centennial year, 1970
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, 2002
Center for Health Policy and Research
Center for International Rural and Environmental Health
Chicken Pox Vaccine, 2003
Child Development Clinic and the Pine School Project (annual report)
Child Psychiatry Division
Class schedules
Clinical Laboratory Science Program
Clinics
Clippings
Combined Degree Programs
Community Alcoholism Consultant Aide Program Training...project
Conferences
Conferences announcements, 1952-
Cytology Lab / Cytopathology
Deans
Eugenic sterilization in Iowa
Eye Bank
First Female Students, 1870-71
Flexner Report
General (2 folders)
Genetic Research Center, 1992-
Glaucoma Research Center
Health Occupations Education
Historical sketches
History, early medical, 1847 -- 1849
History of Medicine Society, speakers
Homeopathic (General)
Hospital School
Hospital and Health Administration
Hygiene
Immunology, 1985
Influenza epidemic, 1918-1919
Institute for Clinical and Translational Science
Institute of Agricultural Medicine
Internal Medicine
"Iowa Breakfast Studies," 1949-1951
Iowa Central Tumor Registry
Iowa Eye Association
Iowa Mental Health Authority
Iowa Regional Medical Impact Program (IRMI)
Keokuk/Drake connections to University of Iowa Medical School
Keokuk Medical School
Kidney transplants
Lectures
Manual of procedure
Medical Education Community Orientation program (MECO) (2 folders)
Medical organizations
Medical photography and illustrating
Mental Hygiene, child guidance
Microbiology
Microbiology, Iowa Biotechnology Training Program (booklets)
Miscellaneous
Mobile Clinic
Mobile Emergency Treatment Center
MURA/AUA (University of Minnesota)
Muscular Dystrophy Center
National Center for Voice and Speech
Neurology
Neurosensory Center
Nursing, clippings, 2002
Nursing, history
Nutrition Department
Oakdale Campus
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Ophthalmology
Ophthalmology lab
Ophthalmology staff
Orthopaedic Surgery - History
Orthopaedic Surgery - Junior Year Clinical Clerkship, 1975 [?]
Orthopaedic Surgery - Pheumatoid Hand Research Project, 1963 [?]
Osteopathic School (Des Moines)
Otolaryngology, American Board of
Pathology
Pediatrics, 2 folders: (1) Pediatrics, (2) Clinical Service Programs-Dept. Speech Pathology and Audiology
Perkins School
Pharmacology
Physical Therapy
Physiology
Physiology and Biophysics
Pine School
Postgraduate courses
Psychiatry, including Palmer resume incident, 2002-2003
Psychopathic Hospital, State – 50th anniversary, 1970
Psychotherapy
Public Health
Publication lists
Radiation Biology
Radiologic Technology Program - graduate programs
Radiology
Research-misc.
SARS (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome), 2003
Seminars
Smallpox vaccinations, 2002
Speech and Hearing Services
State Services for Crippled Children, n.d.
Stem cell research (University of Iowa)
Student Health survey, 1991
Student success
Students
Surgery - National Bariatric Surgery Registry, 1991-
Transportation Safety Research Center
UI Community Medical Services (UICMS), 2000
Virus Lab
Wheelchair Challenge
Women Physicians
Women's Auxiliary to Student American Medical Association (WASAMA)
Workshops
Writing Program
MILITARY SCIENCE [return to categories]
Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC), (7 folders)
MISCELLANEOUS (3 1/2 filing drawers) [return to categories]
ACT - See: Subject files : Miscellaneous : American College Testing
AIDS
Absences following athletic victories, policy
Abstracts
Academic Advising Center
Academic freedom
Action Studies Program
Activities Board
Activity fee allocation, 1947-1948 (Student Affairs)
Affirmative Action SEE: Subject files > Staff > Affirmative Action
Air quality study, 2004
Alcohol
Allen, Woody (hoax, 1992)
American College Testing
American Indians
American Prefaces
Ammunition Plant, 2003, 2006
Animals laboratory research
Anti-apartheid (see student protests, divestment)
Anti-retaliation policies, 1997
Arab students
Archaeological research projects
"Arena" magazine
Armistice Day ceremonies, 1935
Armstrong, Lance
Arts Outreach program
Asian-American Coalition, 2004
Asian-American Cultural Center, 2003
Asian and Pacific studies, 2003, 2004
Atomic Energy Control Committee, 1946
Audit - University of Iowa
Autonomous Language Learning Program (ALL Net)
Avian flu
Bachelor of General Studies
Beauty pageant
Bethlehem Chapel
Bicentennial, 1976
Bicycle regulations, new, 1966, 1995
Biosciences
Bird flu SEE: Subject > Misc. > Avian flu
Birthright
Black Action Theatre
Blacks - Afro-American Cultural Center
Black Alumni Association, 1985
Black Angel (Oakland Cemetery, Iowa City)
Black art - Elizabeth Catlett
Black dance, History of, 1967
Black education - first Ph.D. in Iowa earned by a black woman, 1941
Black fraternities and sororities (2 folders)
Blacks – Freedom suits
Black’s Gaslight Village, 1985 fire
Black Genesis Troupe
Black History Month, 1984,1990, 2003
Black History, Sources in the University Archives on
Blacks - Housing desegregation of Currier Hall, 1946
Black - Housing discrimination, "Brown Hall", 1919-1950
Blacks – Housing discrimination during 1930s and 1940s
Blacks - Housing for UI black women, 1919-1950 (Breaux, Richard. Article published in Journal of African American History, Spring 2002.)
Blacks – Journalism SEE: Journalism – NURU
Black Law Students Association
Black Medical Students Association
Blacks - Racial profiling
Black speakers, 2001
Black Student Congress, 1990
Black Student Union (BSU)
Black students
Black students exchange plan, 1960s
Black students – Noted alumni
Black Studies
Black women, 2001
Book exchange
Budget, clippings, etc., 1981, 2003
Budget re-allocation, 1988
Bufferin (see Faculty file: Paul, W.D. "Shorty")
Bus service, misc.
Buttons and badges, misc.
C-SPAN2
CADA (Computer Assisted Data Analysis) Research Group
CIA Recruitment SEE ALSO: Subject > Misc. > Student Protests and Demonstrations, 1980-
CICS (Center for International and Comparative Studies)
Cage-free eggs
California wildfires - Iowa connection
"Caltrop" publication, 1973 (Ottens murder case)
Cambus
Campus clowns
Campus Event
Campus Information Center
Campus life
Campus Review
Campus security (see Subject > Misc. > Dept. of Public Safety)
Campus stores
Cancelled classes, dates of (due to emergency, tragedy)
Career Counseling and Placement Office (Career Service and Placement Center)
Carter, Jimmy
Carver, George Washington
Carver, Roy
Carver Trust Grant, 1993-
Catalyst Awards
Censorship
Censorship, 1993-96
Center for Asian and Pacific Studies
Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing
Center for Computer-Aided Design
Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research
Center for Human Rights, 2003
Center on Aging
Chaperoning
Charity policy
Charles R. Keyes Memorial Fund
Charter of University of Iowa
Cheating SEE ALSO: Law > Plagiarism; Graduate College > Withdrawn Theses & Dissertations
Chicago Center (University of Iowa)
Chicanos
Civic Engagement Program Office
Civil Defense
Clark House
Class Gifts - SEE: Miscellaneous > Gifts, Class gifts
Clinton speeches, 1996, 2003
Code controversy, 1968-1969
Code for Coeds
Coffee shop, "Mr. Ed’s"
C.O.G.S.; COGS - SEE: Organizations > Campaign to Organize Graduate Students
Color, University (Old Gold)
Committee for Contraceptives on Campus
Committee on Human Rights
Committee on Student Conduct
Committees
"Common Lives/Lesbian Lives", journal
Computer Aided Design Software, Inc., (University of Iowa private firm selling software)
Computer Center (User's Guide), 1962
Computer hacking
Computer sales / computer security (University of Iowa selling computers to its employees)
Computing Center audit (WEEG)
Condom use
Conduct and discipline
Conferences, general
Confidential information, release of by The University of Iowa
"Confluence" magazine
Confucius Institute
Coop housing
Cooperative education
Coralville Reservoir Site Committee (see Buildings and Grounds vertical file > Macbride Field Campus)
Counseling Program for Students on Scholastic Probation, report
Counseling Service (3 folders)
Council on International Relation and United Nations Affairs
Creative Reading series
Credit card marketing
Credit Union (UI), 2003-
Crime - statistics, 1992-
Crisis Center
Cultural Affairs Committee
Curriculum reform
Daily Iowan (see Subject > Journalism > Daily Iowan)
Dance card, 1909
Day care
Day care lead levels
Dean of Men / Dean of Women, clippings (see also: Director of Student Affairs)
Deer management (University of Iowa)
Delinquencies (student affairs)
Diplomas
Directory ("Herd Book")
Discrimination
Discrimination - attack on a Jew, 1947
Distance Education
Distinguished Service Medal
Diversity, 2001 and 2003
Dongguk University (Seoul, Korea) and Iowa Exchange Program
Drabble, Margaret
Draft
Draft (possible), 1991
Draft registration, 1980
Drinking water, lead content
Drop-out rate
Drug policy, 1990- (see Subject > Staff > Drug Policy, 1990-)
Dual Career Network
Duck’s Breath Mystery Theatre (3 folders)
Dylan Thomas visit to Iowa City
Earth Week
"Earth Words" literary magazine
Educational Opportunity Program
Educational Policy Committee (Liberal Arts), 2002
El Nahuatzen (Hispanic and Native American poetry magazine)
Email system - See: Subject > Miscellaneous > Information Technology Services (ITS)
Employee Assistance
Employment, student (2 folders)
Energy Conservation Committee
Energy Expo (2006)
Energy use and conservation
Englert Theatre
Enrollment statistics (see Subject > Registrar > Enrollment Statistics)
Entertainment
Entrepreneurial Management, Institute of
Entrepreneurship
Environment, ecology
Environmental concerns – Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination
Environmental Studies, Center for
Examinations – Iowa tests
Examinations and tests, 1920
Extension (adult education)
External funding
“EYES, Inc.” magazine – early national magazine produced by African-Americans in 1946
"FYI" publication Dec.9, 1983 issue (Nagel)
Faculty Senate - Faculty Welfare Committee - Survey of Faculty Interests, Opinions, and Concerns, 1968
Faculty union
Fairfield, branch of SUI
Fallout plan, 1965
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)
Family Services Office
Farm crisis, 1980s - University response (University Rural Crisis Group)
Film Board
Filming of The University of Iowa, 1953
Films
Financial aid
Financial aid - Phoenix fund
Finkbine Awards (includes Hancher-Finkbine Medallion)
Flood, 1993
Food safety
Foreign language house
Foundation, University of Iowa
Foundation, University of Iowa, "Iowa Endowment 2000" (1992)
Foundation Day Annual Event
Fraternities and Sororities SEE ALSO: Clubs and Organizations vertical file > Fraternities and Sororities
Free Medical Clinic
Free University
Freshman orientation (student affairs)
Friday classes
"Frivol" publication
Frost, Robert
Gay Iowan (see Organization-Gay People’s Union)
Gay Liberation Front - founding, early history
Gay – lesbian – bisexual – transgender (GLBT) issues
GAYLA Celebration
GLBT: Matthew Shepard Scholarships, 2000-
GLBT: Safe Zone Project
GLBT Staff and Faculty Association - See: Subject > Miscellaneous > LGBT Staff and Faculty Association
Geese company
Gender Equity Task Force
General Stores - warehouse-operating statement, 1941
Geriatric Education Center
Ghost stories, including Currier Hall triple suicide legend
Gifts, Class gifts - See Also: Subject > Gifts
Golden Girl (Iowa)
Google Print
Governor - Inaugural Events - University of Iowa, 2007
Grades and grading
Grading instructions
Graduation rate
Green, Edwin B., Art Museum donor (see Alumni vertical file)
Grounds
Gubernatorial election (Iowa) - 2006
Habitat for Humanity Housing Challenge
Hall Mall (counterculture, alternative business hub)
Hancher Auditorium
Hancher, Finkbine medallion (see Finkbine Awards above)
Handicapped
Harassment - policies
"Harbinger" student magazine, 1953
Hate crimes
Havel, Vaclav
Hawk Shop
Hawkeye Express SEE: Subject > Athletics > Football, special trains
Hawkeye Leadership Award
Hawkeye memorabilia, products, etc.
"Hawkeye", the name
Hawkeye Review (see also "Campus Review")
Hawkeye (yearbook)
Health insurance
Health Iowa
Henry Fund
Herky (Hercules) the Hawk, and other mascots, 1948
Herkyland Loot night
Higher education, Iowa colleges (newspaper articles-series), 1988
Holocaust Rememberance Day Vigil, 2003
"Homegrown" publication
Homeland Security Scholars and Fellows Program, 2004
Homosexuals, attitudes, 1990 and 1995
Honors Center SEE: Subject > Honors Program
Honors Program (2 folders)
Honors Program, "Paideia" publication
Housing, off-campus
Housing, on-campus
Housing, regulations
Housing, residence services (includes sale of condoms)
Housing, student, general (includes - discrimination in)
Hubbard Human Rights Award
Human Rights Committee
Humanities Iowa
"Hurrah" publication
Hurricane Katrina, 2005-2006
Hybrid automobiles
Hygienic Laboratory
ICON, 1993
Iceland University
Impeach Nixon activities, 1974
Independent study
Indians-North American
Information Technology Services (ITS) - educational technology
Instructional Improvement Committee
Intellectual property
International House
International Student Weekend; Osage, Iowa
International Writing Program (SEE: Subject > Writers' Workshop)
Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories (SEE: Subject > Misc. > Laser Center)
Iowa Center for the Arts (see also: Buildings and Grounds file: fine arts campus)
Iowa City City Council - student liaison
Iowa City Women’s Press
Iowa Citizenship Clearing House
Iowa Collegiate Association, constitution, 1878
Iowa Compass brochure, 1991
Iowa Demosthenator, 1941
Iowa Distinguished Teachers Award
Iowa Electronic Markets
Iowa Engagement Corps
Iowa Inter-agency Case Information Service, 1967
Iowa-Japan Cultural Alliance Newsletter
Iowa Journal of Literary Studies
Iowa Nonprofit Resource Center
Iowa Patriotic League Bulletin
Iowa Program for Human Development
Iowa Radio Project (see Duck’s Breath Mystery-Dan Coffey, above)
"Iowa Rag" publication
"Iowa Review" publication
Iowa Social Science Institute
Iowa South African Scholarships, Inc. (ISASI)
"Iowa State Liquor Store" literary magazine, 1968
Iowa - state universities - comparisons
"Iowa Stethoscope" publication, (Oakdale, Iowa), 1937
Iowa Western Community College
Iowa Youth Diaries Project (Old Capitol Museum)
Iranian students
Islamic Studies, 2003
Japanese Language Teaching Method, 1985
Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award
Jewish community in Iowa City
Joetsu University (Japan)
Joffrey Ballet (includes performance "Billboards")
John P. Irish medal, 1871
Johnson County Coalition Against Registration and the Draft
Judicial system, students and faculty
Kennedy, John F.
Kerouac, Jack - manuscript tour
King Jr., Martin Luther, visitor
Korean conference, 1993
Korean-minorities (1985-1986 directory)
Labor Center
Laser Center (see also Buildings and Grounds file > Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories)
Latino Festival, 2003
Latino Lecture Series, 2003
Latino/Native American Cultural Center, 2001
Laundry Service, 2004
Leach, Rep. Jim
Lecture series (including Presidential Lecture Series)
Lectures, Alchon Memorial Forum
Legislative Higher Education Task Force
Leonard Racker Trophy
LGBT Staff and Faculty Association
Lettuce dispute, 1972, 1975-1977
Liberal Arts Dean search, 1997
Life Sciences Task Force, 2007-
"Light-eater" student publication
Lighten Up Iowa (fitness and weight loss program)
Link, 1982
LionHawk, 1995 University partnership
Loans (student)
Loyalty oath issue in Iowa, 1951
"MS" (Communication Skills magazine), 1944
Macbride Field Campus (see Buildings & Grounds file)
Macbride Raptor Project
"Maestro", 1974 publication
"Magazine X", 1953
Mailer, Norman
Mann, Horace
Manufacturing Productivity Center, 1985
Marion meteorite, 1847 and 1974
Married student housing / family housing
Martin Luther King, Jr. Week
Mascots (see Herky above)
Mass transit
Measurement Research Center, Inc.
Media Services
Mediation Service
Medical Ambassador Program
Medical Museum (see Hospitals-Dept.-Medical Museum, above)
Melrose Historic District
Men in the University, 1980
Michener, James A. (Iowa Writers’ Workshop donor), 1990
"Middle Earth" underground newspaper, 1968
Middle Eastern Studies
Military research
Mill Restaurant
Minorities
Minorities, African-American life at UI (Daily Iowan article), 1991
Minorities, Latino Native American Cultural Center
Minorities, "People of Color", booklet, 1984
Minority Student Aid Office
Mission Statement, University of Iowa
Mississippi Support Program (see Rust, Iowa and LeMoyne below)
Motor Pool, 2001, 2004
Mumps epidemic - Iowa - 2006
Murder trial (see Caltrop above, and Alumni file: Hall, James)
Murray, John F.
Murray Lecture (John F.)
Muslim students
Name, confusion between Iowa State University and the University of Iowa (see Subject > Misc. > Name - "State University of Iowa")
Name-"State University of Iowa"
Naming rights policy
National Advanced Driving Simulator (NADS)
National press comments and reputation (U of Iowa)
National Research System, Inc.
Native Americans
Native Americans - Scholarship
North American Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Studies Conference, 1994
Nudity controversy
Oates, Joyce Carol, poet
Obesity and eating disorders
Office Furniture Standards, 1967
Office of Public Information and University Relations
Office of War Information (OWI) at UI Film, 1944
Old Gold, the name (see Color, UI above)
Old Gold Days, 1958-1959
Open records controversy (Univ. of Iowa), 2007
Opera House, a 1909 program
Opera House, history
Operation Oatmeal, 1972
Opportunity at Iowa
Organization charts of UI, 1946-1947, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1964, 1970
Orientation, older students, 1971
"Output", interdisciplinary show at Old Armory
Oxford Project (Oxford, Iowa) (see: Faculty : Feldstein, Peter)
Pappajohn, John (donor), (see Alumni files)
Parietal Rule, 1978
Parking for faculty vs. staff, 2000
Parking regulations (student affairs), 1940-
Pass-Fail System, See also: Misc.-Grading
Patent licensing opportunities (see Subject > University of Iowa Research Foundation)
"Pavement", poetry and photography publication, 1981
Peace Corps (U. of Iowa volunteers)
Peace movements, 1930s
Peace programs-"Peace By Peace" (newsletter), 1986
Peacefest, 1971
"People’s Law Office" for the poor
Periodicals, 1996
"Perspective" student publication, 1944
Physical Plant (2 folders)
Police-community relations
Posters (one is dated 1905)
Prairie Lights (book store)
Preschool-University Parents Cooperative Preschool, 1967
Presidential candidates, 1976, McCarthy and Harris
Presidential caucuses, UI involvement in
Presidential portraits (UI)
Presidential search, 1981
Presidential search, 1987-1988
Presidential search, 1995
Presidential search, 2002
Presidential search, 2006
Presidents, UI, historical overview
Presidents, UI, list of
Pre-vocational Training Program (see Women in the University, below)
Project on Rhetoric of Inquiry (POROI)
Protests and demonstrations (see Student protest, below)
Public Interest Research Groups (PIRG)
Public relations
Public Safety
Quarry, North Liberty, visit by Samuel Calvin’s geology class
Radiation Protection Office, 1950 through 1970s, and 1995
Radioactive dogs (see Buildings and Grounds file, "Oakdale incinerator")
Rankings, nationwide by department, 1975
Ranney, Mark (Dr. Mark and Mrs. M. Ranney), (see MsC-190)
Rape, Daily Iowan articles, Series-"Acquaintance Rape," 1991
Rape - prevention and statistics
REACH (Realizing Educational and Career Hopes)
Reagan, Nancy, 1982
Recreation Services
Recycling
Region VII, Children Youth and Family Resource Center
Registration, 1976
Religion/YMCA/1914 student movement (covers 1909 through 1952)
Renaissance Connection
Reporters’ Bureau, 1886
Research funding, 1970s and 1980s
Resident advisors, (dormitory), 1967-1968 and 1970s
Restructuring UI study-duplication of academic programs controversy, 1989
Rhatigan Report, 1965
Riverfest
Riverside Casino and Golf Resort
Rolaids (see Faculty file: Paul, W.D. "Shorty")
Russian students (from Russia)
Rust, Iowa and LeMoyne Expanding Educational Horizons (RILEEH)
Salaries (see also Budget)
Scholarships
School of the Wild (Macbride Nature Recreation Area)
"Script", student literary yearbook, 1941
Seal of the University
Senior class president, 1947-48
Senior College (UI Alumni Association)
Services for persons with disabilities
Sex policy (see Censorship 1993, above)
Sexual assault policy
Sexual harassment, 1986-1991, 2004
Shawn, Wallace, playwright
"Silver Shadow", Iowa Memorial Union non-alcoholic bar, 1939-1940
Smokeless tobacco, 1990
Smoking policy of the University
Social Committee, 1944-1945
Socialist Party, Iowa, 1977-1979
Songs-7 folders: (1) contests to write songs, (2) correspondence of, (3) lyrics and scores to U of I songs (alphabetical order), (4) newspaper clippings, (5) pamphlets containing lyrics to several U of I songs (in chronological order), (6) State of Iowa, and (7) Misc.: U of I organizations, Big Ten, etc.
Songs, misc. duplicates from Songs (above)
South African students
Soviet students
Special Services, Division of
Special Support Services
Speed dating
Spring Music Festival, 1911 and 1912
Staff Achievement Award
Standardized tests
Start-up companies (University of Iowa)
State Archaeologist
State Fair exhibit
State Historical Society of Iowa
Status of women
Stepping Up Project (to combate alcoholism; binge drinking)
Stock, University ownership of
Strategic plan, (Rawlings), 1989-
Streakers, 1974
Student activism
Student activities bulletins, 1967-1970
Student child care (daycare)
Student costs
Student Disability Services
Student employment service (2 files)
Student Government
Student housing, 2004
Student legal services (See: Clubs and Organizations file)
Student organizations, 1967
"STUDent" magazine, 1968
Student protests, 1930s
Student protests, 1960s
Student protests, 1965-1967
Student protests, 1968-1970
Student protests, January-April, 1971
Student protests, May-December, 1971
Student protests, January-May, 1972
Student protests, June 1972-1990
Student protests, 1990s
Student protests, 2000-
Student protest, chemicals
Student protest, “On a Confrontation in Iowa City” 1970 film documentary by Robert Coover (3 folders)
Student protests, Symposium on student power
Student Renters' Guide
Student Service Fund
Students, alcohol
Students, game of pushball
Students, gifted, 1957
Students, Internet service, 2003, 2004
Students, job recruitment
Study Abroad
"Suction", 1969 poetry publication
Suicide / bridge-jumping
Summer Youth Programs
Support the Farm Workers
Survey, student spending habits, 1976
Szathmary, 2002
Tailgating
Task Force on Violence
Task forces
Technology Innovation Center
Telecommunications system
Thomas, Dylan, visit to Iowa City
TIAA-CREF office
"Time Capsules" and building cornerstones
Tornado, 2006 (3 folders)
Tragedy/shootings, November 1991 - Gang Lu shootings (9 folders)
Tragedy - Virginia Tech shootings, 2007 (Iowa connection and response)
Transportation and Security (Campus Security)
Travel Services
"Trend" publication, 1941
Trivia, Great Midwestern Trivia Contest
Tuition, University of Iowa, 1982 and 1988
Tuition Set Aside Program
Underground Press, 1976
Unified program, education
United Nations Educational Liaison Service
University Associates (firm)
University Film Producers Association
UI Foundation
University Hous
University of America, Inc., 1981
University of Iowa Community Credit Union
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. SEE: Subject files > Hospitals and Clinics
University of Iowa, name confusion with Iowa State University. SEE: Subject > Misc. > Name - "State University of Iowa")
University of Iowa, negative comments of
University of Iowa News Service
University of Iowa Press
University of Iowa, relationships to other institutions
University of Iowa Research Foundation (patent licensing opportunities), 2002 (includes Distinguished Inventor Award), 2 folders
University of Mid-America
University of Northern Iowa
University Sing, 1966
Upward Bound, 1968-1970 (education and creative writing)
"Vector", student publication, 1981
Veterans, Vietnam
V.F.W. (Veterans of Future Wars), 1936
Video games
Violence
Virtual Soldier Research Program
Vocational guidance
Weapons research (See: Military research, above)
WEEG Computing Center
Wellmark (College of Public Health naming rights controversy)
Wellness
Western Iowa College, proposed (3 folders)
Wireless Internet
Womanview, festival, exhibition, 1974
Women - Affirmative Action, 1972
Women, college women in the 1870s, remarks by Mrs. Currier
Women in Science and Engineering
Women in Science, residence floor
Women in the University (2 folders)
Women in the University, Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women, 2001
Women in the University, Status of Women Today, May 1973
Women’s Resource and Action Center (WRAC)
Women’s Studies
Women’s Transit Authority
Work study
Workers' rights
World Order Studies Program
World Series of Poker
Wright, Frank Lloyd
Writing University Web site
Year of Engagement (2006)
Youngest student at UI
Youth Advisory Commission (Iowa City)
Youth Empowerment Academy (YEA!)
MUSEUM OF ART [return to categories]
Director, search for, 1983
Lectures
Miscellaneous
MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY [return to categories]
Museum of Natural History - 3 folders: (1) Miscellaneous, (2) Iowa Hall, (3) Clippings
Publication, "Naturally", Dec. 2002-
All-state music festivals, 1960
American Musicological Society
Band, 1949
Band, 1950
Band clinics
Band, European Tour, 1966
Band and Student Trip Committee
Centennial (2006)
Center for New Music
Chamber Music Series
Choir
Choir, Yucatan Trip, 1968
Church music and organ
Clippings
Collegium Tubum
Committee on Public School Music
Composer’s Workshop
Cultural Affairs Committee
Curricula
Dvorak Centennial, 1993
Electronic Music Studio
Elizabethan Madrigal Dinner
Festival Seal
First music Ph.D.
Graduate work
Iowa City College of Music
Iowa Flute Festival
Iowa String Quartet
Iowa Woodwind Quartet
Janssen collection
Johnson County Landmark Jazz Band
Kains collection
Kantorei Singers
Maia Quartet
Marching Band
Midwestern Music Students' Symposium
Military Band
Miscellaneous, 1950
Music education
Normal Academy of Music, 1866-1871
Old Gold Singers
Opera: Cavalleria Rusticana, 1938
Opera: Cosi Fan Tutte, 1952
Opera: Marriage of Figaro, 1955
Opera Workshop
Operas
Organ Dept.
Organizations
Practical Music Only (PMO) students
Prior to 1918
Recitals, etc.
Scholarships
Scottish Highlanders (history), 2004
State of the department
Stradivari Quartet
Symphony Orchestra, articles from 1966 and 1972
Workshops
NURSING [return to categories]
(see: Medicine > Nursing above)
Calendar of Events
Center for New Performing Arts
PHARMACY [return to categories]
Centennial, 1985
Clippings, programs, booklets, etc.
Iowa Drug Information Service
PHOTOGRAPHIC SERVICE [return to categories]
Clippings
PHILOSOPHY [return to categories]
Curricula
Employees
History
Institute of Character Education
Lectures
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
PHYSICAL EDUCATION [return to categories]
Alumni
Basic skills, including physical education requirement
Boxing
Canoeing
Clippings, 1990-
Compulsory attendance
Conferences
Curricula
Dance (includes Dance Company)
Employees
Fitness club
Guest and lectures (includes demonstrations)
Inter-collegiate athletics
Intramural sports
Miscellaneous
Recreation activities
Research
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department, 1930s
Students
Study and teaching
Summer sessions
Theses list
Workshops
PHYSICS [return to categories]
Awards, contests, etc.
Clippings
Colloquium for College Physics
Conferences
Curricula
Employees
Examinations
Graduate Study
Grants
History
Memorial E.O. Dieterich
Miscellaneous (Correspondence), 1940s-1950s
Nuclear Physics - clippings, etc.
Press releases, 1953-1960
Press releases, 1961
Publication lists
Radar - early
Relations with Iowa State Physics Department
Research grants and contracts
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
Space and Satellites (articles), 1957-
Space Science summer study
State of the department
Study and teaching
POLITICAL SCIENCE [return to categories]
Alumni
Budgets
Comparison with other departments
Conferences
Correspondence
Curriculum
Examinations
History
Miscellaneous
Shambaugh conferences
State of the department (2 folders), 1898-
Students
Study and teaching
PRINTING DEPARTMENT [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
PSYCHOLOGY [return to categories]
Centennial celebration, 1988
Child Behavior Clinic / Children’s Research Lab
Clippings, 1993-
Conferences
Correspondence
Guests, lectures, etc.
Herrnstein Seminar (forum on freedom of speech), 1972
History
Iowa Child Welfare Research Station, 1973 reorganization
Iowa Institute of Applied Psychology
Psychological Laboratory
Relationship with Iowa State University Psychology Department
Research
Scholarships, fellowships, etc.
State of the department
Students
Study and teaching
Workshops
PUBLICATIONS [return to categories]
American Prefaces
Civil War History
Clippings
Committee on Learned Publications
History journals
Lists, etc.
Miscellany
Philological Quarterly
Printing Service - Campus stores
Report on Department Public Functions, 1955
University of Iowa Press
RADIO WSUI [return to categories]
1950s - 1960s
Iowa Public Radio - merger - WSUI/KSUI, WOI, KUNI , 2005-
KSUI-clippings, 1947-
KRUI statement of operation (ca. 1990?)
KRUI (2 folders)
KICR
WSUI, clippings, 1930s -
KSUI/WSUI clippings, announcements, etc., 1940-
Iowa Radio Project, 1991
Programs, undated
W0IO, WSUI, KSUI, KRUI
WSUI
WSUI clippings, newsprint, 1930s-1940s
WSUI, 1928-1929
WSUI, 1920s-1940s
REGENTS [return to categories]
(see Governing Boards, above)
REGISTRAR [return to categories]
Admission requirements
Admissions
Admissions Policy
Art and Art History Ph.D. degrees
Attendance chart, 1856-1930
Bulletins
Clippings
Cobb Report on Tuition
Computer registration, ISIS handbook
Course of study
Dorcas letters
Enrollment, caps
Enrollment, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Enrollment, since 1856
Enrollment statistics, 1855-1969
Enrollment statistics, 1970-
Graduate Record Examination
Graduation Honors
Graduation Rates
High school and University (standards) inspection
History of
Honorary degrees (4 folders)
Kirkwood/UI enrollment consortium agreement, 1994
Limitations on student registrations
Miscellaneous
President Hancher's Committee on Limited or Restricted Enrollments
Quarter plan
Registration, 2002
Registration, Field House, 1948-1953
Registration rules
Saturday classes
RELIGION [return to categories]
Board of Trustees
Clippings
Endowments
Guests, lecturers, etc.
History
Religion in Life Week
ROMANCE LANGUAGES [return to categories]
Experimental Language Lab
Laboratory
Miscellaneous
RUSSIAN AND SCANDINAVIAN LANGUAGES [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous and clippings
Scandinavian languages and literature
SCHOLARSHIPS & LOANS [return to categories]
Athletic scholarships - women
Awards
Bennett Scholarship
D.A.R. medal, to senior woman
Ernest R. Johnson Memorial Prize, 1923
F.O. Lowden Oratorical Prize
Gerlach Scholarship
Hancher/Finkbine Award
Lamme Award, 1932
LaVerne Noyes Scholarships
Loans
Martin Luther King Scholarship Fund
Nile Kinnick Scholarship
Norvel E. Baker Scholarship
Pearl Bennett Broxam Award
Pearl Bennett Broxam Memorial
Scholarships, Carr
Scholarships, miscellaneous
Scholarships, Murray
Scholarships, Prichett
Scholarships/Prizes
Scholarships, Proudfoot
Scholarships and loans
Woodrow Wilson Fellowship Program
SOCIAL WORK [return to categories]
1947-1948
1949-1950
Alumni
Anniversaries
Clippings
Conferences
Field Work Plan
Masters Degree Handbook, 1967
Memorandum, Regarding Establishment of School of Social Work at U of I, March 1946
Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Report to Council on Social Work Education Commission on Accreditation
Social Welfare Skills in Casework Process, Summer Session, 1953
Workshop in Group Organization, Summer Session, 1953
SOCIOLOGY [return to categories]
Anthropology
Biennial Planning Report
Conferences
Gay Movement course, 1982
Miscellaneous
Social Administration
Social Studies
SPANISH & PORTUGUESE [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
Newspaper clippings
SPEECH & DRAMATIC ART [return to categories]
All-state High School Players
Alumni
American College Dance Festival Association (ACDFA)
American College Theatre Festival (ACTF)
Annual report
Archives of Speech
Awards, 1940-1944
Awards, contests, etc., 1884-1945
Bibliographies
Boycott and Student Union, 1980-1981
Budgets, 1940s
Clippings
Committee on Speech in General Education
Communication Studies
Community Drama Workshop, Summer Session, 1956
Community theatre
Conference: The Role of Speech in Education, Summer Session, 1952
Conferences (3 folders)
Conferences and workshops
Contests: high school and junior college
Contests, University Oratorical, 1920
Cooperation with other theater groups
Curricula
Debate
Debate judges
Debates, playbills and programs
Debate: University of Missouri
Declamatory work
Discrimination suit, 1995
Discrimination suit, 1996
Dramatic Art as a Division of the School of Fine Arts
Film Studies
Financial reports
Fine Arts degree
Forensic League (1913-1915) and Oratorical League (1895-1965)
Forensics program
Fundamentals speech course
Graduate programs
Guests, lectures, etc.
High School Drama Workshop, 1954
History
History and philosophy of the department
Inter-state oratory associations including N.O.L.
Iowa High School Debating League, 1912-1913
Iowa High School Forensic League, 1942-1958
Iowa Scribblers contest stories
Iowa Theater Lab (CNP)
Lake Okoboji Summer Theatre
M.A. examination
Miscellaneous -2 folders: (1) Misc., (2) Miscellaneous-Papers Markets & Front-of-House, 1982-1987
Miscellany
National Theatre Conference (2 folders)
Oenslager’s exhibition, 1956
Oratory (speech) contests -3 folders: (1) Iowa Collegiate Association Contests, (2) Junior Oratorical Contests, (3) S.U.I. Oratorical Assoc. Contests
Original play (2 folders) - "Matters of Weight" by Saul Rosenthal
Papers on department, 1980-1987
Personnel
Phonetics Laboratory
Play Production Festival (Iowa), (See Also: Extension Bulletins)
Playwright’s Festival
Playwrights, general, clippings
Playwright’s Workshop
Positions open and recommendations made 1958-1959 (3 folders)
Programs
Proposed debates with other schools
Radio materials
Reading recitals
Reorganizations and policies (proposed), 1952
Reports by Mabie
Research in Speech and Dramatic Art
Rockefeller Foundation grant
Rural Community Drama Project
Speech Association of America
Speech: Orations (sophomore), 1922-1923
Staff meetings, 1936-1941
Staff minutes
State of the department (2 folders)
Student recruiting
Students
Studio Theatre
Study and teaching
Theatre Arts Dept. Outside Review and Responses, 1986
Theatre Arts - history
Theatre statements, 1930s & 1940s
University Theatre (12 folders)
Workshops (7 folders)
SPEECH PATHOLOGY & AUDIOLOGY [return to categories]
American Sign Language
Conference on Audiology, 1954
Conference on Clinical Problems in Speech Pathology and Audiology, 1956
Conference on Speech Pathology and Audiology, 1955
Conferences
Council on Speech Pathology and Audiology
Curricula
Examinations
Miscellaneous
Research in pathology (speech), correspondence, 1936-1937
Soundproof chamber, correspondence
Speech Clinic, 1950
Speech Clinic, correspondence
Speech Pathology, 1940s
Speech Pathology materials
State of the department
Student speech diagnosis
Study and teaching
Stuttering conference, 1952
Stuttering study controversy, 1939
Wendell Johnson Speech and Hearing Center (Iowa Speech Clinic)
Workshop in Hearing Testing and Rehabilitation in the Public School, 1956
Workshop in Public School Speech Correction, correspondence, 1953
Workshop in Public School Stuttering Therapy, 1954
Workshops
Affirmative Action
Benefits, same-sex, 2000, 2003
Clippings
Council on the Status of Women (2 folders)
Drug policy, 1990
IOWA Awards (Improve Our Workplace Award)
Medical plans
Merit system
Minorities
Miscellaneous, 1940s
Miscellaneous, 1950s-1970s
Non-Academic Council
Ombudsperson (3 folders)
Personnel office (2 folders)
Professional & Scientific, clippings, 1990
Retirement, phased (See: Faculty-Retirement, phased)
State insurance
Teaching assistants, clippings, 2001
Teaching assistants, unionization attempt, see Clubs and Organizations file: COGS
Union, forming SEIU local, 2005
STUDENT AFFAIRS [return to categories]
Campus entertainment, 1948-1960
Miscellaneous
SUMMER SESSION [return to categories]
Clippings
Miscellaneous
Social
TELEVISION [return to categories]
1930s & 1940s, including W9XK and W9XUI experimental television (2 folders)
1950s
1960s
Channel 28
Clippings, 1949
Committee on Television, 1952
Community Council - TV
Educational TV, Subcommittee on Television Broadcasting
First M.A. thesis on television (Abel, Raymond Harry; 1941)
Inquiries
Instructional television, Becker
Organizational: SUI
Radio and television
Television, radio, film 1955
Television, radio, film 1956
Television, radio, film 1957
TV network, 1952
TV station possibility at University of Iowa
University of Iowa TV (UITV), (cable station)
TRADITIONS [return to categories]
Activities dinner
All-Iowa dinner
All-University men’s dinner
All-University night
All-University parties
All-University women’s dinner
Anual Community Service Day (College of Law) SEE: Subject > Law
Annual pageant, 1917
Annual University dinner
Armistice
Baccalaureate
Campus Carnival
Circus
Class Day, 1893-1899
Class rings (University of Iowa)
Classes, by year, 1896-1948
Commencement
Commencement Alternative Graduation, 1993
Corn monuments SEE: Engineering > Corn monuments
Creative Arts Week
Dad’s Day (2 folders)
Dance cards
Dance Marathon
Festival
Founders Day, addresses
Founders Day, announcements and programs
Founders Day, committees
Founders Day, correspondence
Founders Day, miscellaneous
Founders Day, radio broadcasts
Freshman Week, hazing
Freshman Week, orientation
Freshman Week, 1889 Hippodrome program
Freshman Week, 1926
Freshman Week, 1927-1939
Freshman Week, 1940s
Frolic Day, 1909
General
General Assembly visit, 1904
Goodwill Dinner
Governor’s Day, 1960-
Greek Week
Holocaust Remembrance
Homecoming
Induction
Induction ceremonies
Iowa Day
Law, Supreme Court Day
Leadership banquets
Listing
Mascot
Matrix table banquet (Journalism Sorority), 1953
Mecca (Engineering), clippings
Mecca (Engineering), programs and miscellaneous
Mecca (Engineering), 1949
Military Ball
Mother-son-daughter banquet
Mother’s Day
Nachte Raho
National Iowa Night (2 folders)
Old Gold Days (2 folders)
Panacea Committee
Party from Sweden
Reunions
Reunions and dinners (2 folders)
Rose Bowl Coordinating Committee
Rose Bowl, 1956 (black notebook)
Rose Bowl, 1956
Rose Bowl, 1958 (personal)
Rose Bowl, 1958
Senior Day
Senior party
Social affairs, programs, etc. (includes Silver Shadow)
Songs and school colors
University Assembly
University Concert course
Vespers, clippings
UNIVERSITY HISTORY [return to categories]
After 1910
Alumni honored at centennial commencement, 1947
Before 1910
Bibliography, (General)
Boyd’s address to faculty, 1976
Buildings that served as state capitol
Calm and Secure on Thy Hill
Centennial, 1947
Centennial, clippings
Centennial, Congressional Record
Centennial, correspondence
Centennial, dinner and play
Centennial, dinner (Regents)
Centennial, expense
Centennial, general planning
Centennial, guest list
Centennial, History Committee
Centennial, invitations, etc.
Centennial, Lectures Committee
Centennial, miscellaneous booklets
Centennial, suggestions for plans
Commencements, history
"Firsts" and other milestones at SUI
Founding of the University ("College and University Beginnings" chapter from: Aurner, Clarence. Leading Events in Johnson County, Iowa.)
General Assembly act to establish the University, 1847
Gerber, John C., Pictorial History
Highlights of-
Investigation, 1931
Investigations, clippings
Iowa City, history of
Land-Grant Idea at Iowa State College, The, (excerpts)
Lists and outlines
Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous news, clippings
Name of UI
North Central Association of Colleges, 1944
On Iowa: A University and its People
Other colleges and schools in Iowa City:
Iowa City Commercial College Academy and School of Short-Hand (1891)
Prominent men of Iowa
Public opinion, early
Publications (includes Persons, Keyes)
Publicity, Time magazine and other published articles about UI history
Radio series, general
Semi-Centennial
SUI investigation, SUI salaries
60th anniversary
75th anniversary
80th anniversary
82nd anniversary
90th anniversary
120th anniversary
125th anniversary
VESPERS [return to categories]
Miscellaneous
University Vespers, 1946-1947
VETERANS SERVICE [return to categories]
Coder, William D.
Miscellaneous
Veterans Affairs Medical Center, 2004
WAR TIMES [return to categories]
Civil War and World War I
Correspondence
Iraq War - veterans
Korean War - war program, 1950-1951
Persian Gulf, 1991
V-E Day
V-J Day
World War II, Army and Navy plans, facilities use
World War II, art posters, statements and estimates
World War II, Committee on National Defense and Military Service, 1940-1942
World War II, Committee on Problems of War Service Students
World War II, D-Day convocation, 1944
World War II, Japanese Americans
World War II, Ladies Home Journal article: 1946 vets
World War II, military education worksheets
World War II, National Defense Training Program
World War II, Navy Pre-Flight School (2 folders)
World War II, Navy V-12
World War II and the University
World War II, War Art Workshop, 1942-1943
World War II, women’s effort
World War II, 1935-1942
World War II, 1943
World War II, 1944
World War II, 1945-1947
WRITERS WORKSHOP [return to categories]
Anthologies (Midland)
Awards, contests, etc.
Books published by students and alumni (list 1932-1952); articles
Correspondence, articles, etc.
Correspondence, 1930s-1960s
Film - "Poetry - the World's Voice"
Guests, lectures, etc.
International Writing Program (See also: Subject > English)
Iowa Young Writers' Studio
Library
Poetry Workshop
Study and teaching
Writers - Epstein series of articles (1981)
50th anniversary