
|
Manuscript File Collection on Early University History Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: The Manuscript File Collection was initiated by University Archivist Ruth Gallaher, Ph.D., in 1931. Records and individual documents were collected from numerous administrative offices and academic departments during her tenure, from 1931 to about 1946, and by her successors until about 1963. As the collection was the first institutional attempt to document University of Iowa history, it is considered the "foundation" historical collection of the University Archives. Finding aid prepared by Matthew Schaefer and Denise Anderson; posted to the Internet 12/2006. Photographs: |
|
Scope and Contents
The Manuscript File Collection on Early University History is a rich source on 19th-century and early 20th-century developments at the University of Iowa. It consists of the University's earliest known records documenting its business transactions, academic activity, and external communications. For the most part the material was prepared or received by William J. Haddock (1832-1906), secretary to the Board of Trustees, later Regents, from 1864 to 1901. It is also considered the "foundation" collection of the University Archives, as it resulted from the first institutional attempts to document University of Iowa history.
Many types of records comprise the collection: correspondence, receipts from Iowa City businesses and those located in Des Moines, Chicago, New York and elsewhere, official memos, expense records, contractor’s bids, applications for employment, letters of reference, resignations, status reports of buildings and departments, supply requests, signed protests and petitions, statistics about students, salary negotiations, comparisons of UI course requirements to other U.S. universities, information regarding societies and organizations, lab teaching assistants (called demonstrators), hospital rules, numerous investigations, Army regulations, ROTC memos, alcohol issues, student workers, student aid, University publications, scholarships, honorary degrees, University expeditions, University branches, local and state governing boards, lawsuits, fees and tuition, and land deeds.
Items of interest include the original document of an act in 1898 to create a state board of control to govern public institutions of higher learning in Iowa, and a letter conferring an honorary law degree upon Booker T. Washington in 1902 (SEE: Registrar's Office: Honorary Degrees).
There is an index to the collection following the box contents list below. Note that some location information in the index is now obsolete.
Related Materials
General catalogs of the University (RG 01.08)
Records of the Board of Trustees and Board of Regents, 1847-1909 (RG 04.01)
Box Contents List
The collection is arranged in two series. Series I, occupying boxes 1-11, consists primarily of academic and service-related records. Series II, boxes 12-24, consists primarily of records pertaining to governance and business activity of the University. Both series are arranged in rough alphabetical order by folder title. In Series II, Executive Committee minutes and reports occur under entries beginning "Board of Regents - ."
BOX 1
Alumni – Alumni Association, etc.
Alumni – Helmick, John M., 1883
Alumni – List, 1858-1872
Alumni – Reminiscences, A-M
Alumni – Reminiscences, N-Z
Art (graphic art), 1893-1906
Buildings and Grounds – Heating Plant & Boilers, 1879-1900
Buildings and Grounds – Gas & Electricity, 1871-1902
Buildings and Grounds – Janitors, 1879-1902
Buildings and Grounds – Miscellaneous, 1866-1907
Buildings and Grounds – needs, 1856-1913
Supplies, 1882-1901
BOX 2
Buildings and Grounds – Park grounds, 1890-1896
(City Park donated by the city)
Buildings and Grounds – Schaeffer Hall, 1900
Buildings and Grounds – Physics Bldg, 1893-1902
Supplies (Coal), 1881-1889
Supplies (Coal), 1890-1902
Supplies (Coal)
1933- Correspondence about bids for coal
Chemistry – General
1901- Needs
Chemistry – Laboratory
1893
1902
1890
1899
Chemistry – Miscellaneous [n.d.]
Chemistry – Reports
1884-1898
Child Welfare, 1913
Class Elections – 1909
Classical – Entrance, 1893-1898
Commencements, 1885-1898, 1912
Unlabeled folder
1947 - poster announcing the 100th anniversary of the University of Iowa
May 10, 1942 - the printed statement that was read as Law degrees were conferred upon William R. Boyd, and to Lee Paul Sieg (Physics background)
1936 - program of the Gilmore Inaugural Luncheon
1936 - inaugural convocation program for Iowa State College in Ames, Iowa
1936 - program celebrating the 60th anniversary of Iowa State College in Ames, Iowa
Milton Lord’s 25th anniversary as director and librarian of the Boston Public Library (He was director of S.U.I. library, and Library School until 1931.)
Commerce, 1909 and not dated
Dental (Entrance), 1893-1897
Dentistry – Appropriations, 1884-1893
Dentistry – Demonstrators, 1886-1900
Dental Licensure – State Board Exam Results
1948-1957
Dentistry – Equipment, 1886-1896
Dentistry – Establishment, 1873-1944
Dentistry – Exhibits, 1942-1947, and 1927 program
Dentistry – Dental Society, 1883-1884
BOX 3
Dentistry – Investigation, 1888-1896
Dentistry – Needs, 1898-1902
Dentistry – Reorganization (1888 complaint)
Dentistry – Reports by Regents & Exam Board, 1884-1897
Dentistry – Miscellaneous, 1888-1904
Unlabeled folder
June 1896- Burlington attorney J.J. Seerley to President Schaeffer
Aug. 1896- North Dakota dentist to President Schaeffer
Aug. 1896- Edward Bumgardner to President Schaeffer (recording secretary to the Homeopathic Medical Society, State of Kansas, University of KS
Dentistry – Reports, 1882-1897
Dramatic Art, 1912-1913
Economics
Education – Reports, 1875-1916
Education (General), 1904-1912
Education – State Certificates, 1891, 1893, 1913
Engineering – Electrical
Engineering – Entrance, 1893-1898
Engineering (Civil) – Equipment, Machine Shop, 1878-1893
Engineering – Miscellaneous, 1890-1907
Engineering – Needs, 1875-1902
Engineering – Professorships, 1904
Engineering – Reports, 1875-1898
Engineering – Status, 1876-1913
English – Reports, 1875-1898
English – History
1875
1939- development of the English Dept. up to about 1900 (10 pages)
English – Miscellaneous, 1894-1902
English – Needs, 1875-1876
Extension Division, 1896-1897
Extension, 1901-1940
Faculty, 1897-1898
Fine Arts, 1905 and 1934
French – Report, 1898
General Entrance Inquiries, 1896-1898
BOX 4
General Entrance Inquiries, 1893-1898Geology – Needs, Equipment, 1888 and 1894
Geology – Cabinet, 1869 and 1873
Geology – Reports to Board of Regents, 1870
German – Reports, 1896-1898
Graduate Work & College – Scholars, Fellows, etc., 1903-1922
Greek – Reports, 1877-1898
Greek – Miscellaneous, 1875-1900
Histology, 1889-1899
History – General (Equipment, etc.), 1873-1917
History – Reports, 1881-1898
History – Research & Publication, 1891-1892
Home EconomicsHomeopathic Med. Dept. – Miscellaneous, 1878-1902
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Establishment, 1872-1912
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Courses and Chairs, 1887-1913
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Faculty rooms, 1890-1893
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Needs, 1880-1901
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Reports by Faculty, 1878-1892
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Hospital, 1878-1901
Homeopathic Med. Dept. – Reports by Regents, 1885
Hygiene, not dated
BOX 5
Languages – Ancient, 1856 and 1858Languages – Modern, 1856-1944
Latin, 1873-1886
Latin – Reports, 1881-1898
Law – Entrance, 1893-1898
Law – Courses, 1887-1901
Law – Organization, 1865
Law – Faculty, 1907
Law – Reports (Chancellor’s), 1870-1894
Law – Miscellaneous, 1888-1907
Law – Examining Committee, Reports, 1870-1892
Law – Reports of Committee on Regents, 1886-1902
Law – Needs, 1882-1901
Law – Standards, 1903-1905
Lectures – University, 1912-1913
Letters, School of – 1877-1899
Liberal Arts – Collegiate Dept., 1873-1916
Library, 1896-1898
Library – Gifts, 1894Correspondence with architectsLibrary – Buildings, 1887-1899 Library – Books, 1853-1900 and one from 1948
1855- letter to the Smithsonian requesting books for our fledgling library; signed “Your Obedient Servant…”
Library – Historical Society Library, 1859-1933
Library – Law, 1882-1900
Library – Librarian and Assistants, 1891-1900
Library – Medical, 1889-1891
Library – Miscellaneous, 1874-1905
Library – Needs, 1886-1909
BOX 6
Library – Reports, 1859-1899Library – Reports by Librarian, 1879-1948
Library – Report (Regents), 1892-1901
Library – Rooms and Furnishings, 1878-1900
Libraries – Library School, 1900-1905
Library – Talbot Collection, 1890-1899
Literary Societies – Aldine, 1889-1891
Literary Societies – Erodelphian, 1866-1878 and one from 1910
Literary Societies – Hesperian, 1865-1866
Literary Societies – Irving Institute, 1864-1908
Literary Societies – Miscellaneous, 1866-1901
Literary Societies – Philomathian, 1901
Literary Societies – Zetagathian, 1865-1920
Mathematics – General (Needs, Equipment), 1869-1912
Mathematics – Reports, 1856-1898
Medicine – Courses, 1873-1898
Medicine – Entrance Requirements, 1892-1900
Medicine – Demonstrators, assistants, 1887-1913
Medicine – History, 1869-1907
Medicine – Entrance (Duplicates), 1892-1900
Medicine – Hospital, 1874-1902
Medicine – Hospital rules, 1887-1907
Medicine – Hospital (Superintendent), 1900-1904
Medicine – Keokuk Medical School, 1852-1854
Medicine – Laboratories, Equipment, 1885-1899
Medicine – Investigation, 1887-1888
Medicine – Museum, 1887-1894
Medicine – Needs, 1875-1901
BOX 7
Medicine – Miscellaneous, 1870-1914
Medicine – Reports, 1885-1897
Medicine – Reports by faculty, 1870-1887
Medicine – Reports by Regents, 1889-1895
Medicine – Surgical Clinic, 1887-1890Military Dept. – Battalion Review, 1891 Military Dept. – Equipment
Military Dept. – Miscellaneous, 1874-1898
Military Dept. – Army orders and regulations, 1946
Military Dept. – Company fund vouchers, 1943-44; 7 folders
BOX 8
Military Dept. – ROTC memos, 1943-1945Military Dept. – Needs, 1875-1902
Military Dept. – Regulations, 1874
Military Dept. – Reports & Inspections, 1876-1903
Military Dept. – Special Orders, ROTC, 1944-45
Miscellaneous – 1871-1948Miscellaneous – Employment, 1890-1902Includes World’s Fair Exhibit, 1904
1877- Fourth of July Celebration, agreement written between Rush Clark and the University (to borrow cannons).
June 10, 1896- Board of Regents unanimously adopts the resolution which forbids professors to make “intoxicating liquors” available to undergraduates.
1890- class memorial desired that is “not a bowlder”
1900- about a meteorite
Miscellaneous – Liquor Legislation, 1900-1914
Museum – Reports, 1887Feb. 16, 1900- letter to MacLean about “five-mile bill”
Jan. 19, 1914- “five-mile bill” will take effect in 1915, eliminating all saloons in Iowa City
Museum – Hornaday Collection, 1886-1887
Museum – Buettner Collection, 1889
Museum – Cases and rooms, 1887-1904
Museum – Miscellaneous, 1889-1900
Museum – Needs, 1886-1895
Museum – Report by Regents, 1891-1893
Museum – Specimens (Miscellaneous), 1888-1889
Museum – Taxidermist, 1900
Music – Band, 1865-1901
Music – Entrance, 1893-1897
Music – Normal Academy of Music, 1867
Music – Fairfield Band, 1873
Music – History of Dept., 1941
Music – Miscellaneous, 1883-1908
Music – Needs, 1868
Music – Singing organizations, 1898-1902
Normal Dept., 1869-1878
Normal Dept. – Model School, 1861-1866
Normal Dept. – Reports, 1856-1870
School of Nursing – Curriculum, 1918-1928
School of Nursing – Principal, 1901
School of Nursing – Miscellaneous, 1896-1928Nursing, School of – MiscellaneousTwo cards provide History of Nursing and the Florence Nightingale Story
1921- two official notices from the Registrar about convocation and grade requests
1925- Historical sketch of American Nurses’ Association
School of Nursing – Influenza Epidemic, 1918
BOX 9
Organizations, 1886-1920Organizations – Association of Collegiate Alumnae, 1911-1914Baconian Club
Graduate Club
Sketch Club
Symponian Society
Hammond Law Senate
Women’s Association, 1920
Forensic League, 1908
Sigma Chi
YMCA / YWCA, 1887
Panhellenic Council, 1909-1910
Pharmacy – Equipment, Needs, Bills, etc., 1893-1901
Pharmacy – Establishment, Organization, status, 1885-1891
Pharmacy – Reports, 1885-1899
Pharmacy – Reports by Regents, 1885-1900
Physical Education, 1886-1901Philosophy – Reports, 1898April 21, 1886- announcement of first annual Gymnastic Exhibition and Band Concert
Philosophy – Entrance, 1896-1898
Physics – Reports, 1898
Physics – Miscellaneous, 1889-1904
Physical Science – Miscellaneous,1885
Physical Science – Natural Philosophy, 1856-1858
Physical Science – Reports, 1875-1884
Physical Science – Laboratory: accounts and inventory, 1865-1881Political Science – Reports, 1882-19121880 - Physical science lab bill in German
1880s - Receipts for goods at Iowa City businesses
Preparatory Dept. , 1857-1877
Psychology – General, 1897-1905Publications – Catalogues, 18781894 - letter from Leipzig, Germany about supplies (60 DM=$14.40)
Publications – Daily Iowan
Publications – Hawkeye and 1890-1902 Junior Annual
Publications – Historical Monographs
Publications – Natural History Bulletin, 1888-18981891- Library of Congress donation by S.U.I.
1894- Letter to Board of Regents from Wm. R. Perkins about “the Amish Paper”
Publications – Studies, 1899-1900
Publications – University MirrorPublications – SUI Quill, 1892-1899Sept. 21, 1888, vol.1, no.1
Publications – The Transit, 1890-1901
Publications – University Notes, 1892-18971897- notice mentions a fire that destroyed the library
Publications – Vidette-Reporter, 1868-1890
Publications – Miscellaneous, 1887-1922
Unlabeled folder contains publications, 1888-1954
1888- The Tell Tale
1911-1912- The Scandal Rag
1914- The Houn’ Dawg
1914- The Wag
1925- The Iowa Liberal
1954- Magazine X
BOX 10
RadioReligion, 1901-19021948 report of the NUEA Committee on Radio
Requests for Recommendations, 1896-1897
Scholarships & Prizes, 1875
Scholarships – County, 1855 and 1901
Scholarships – Nile Kinnick, 1946
Scholarships and Prizes – Miscellaneous, 1854,1876, 1912
Scholarships – Rhodes Applications, 1900-1911
Scholarships – Henry Strong, applicationsScholarships – Henry Strong, beneficiaries, 1912-1913 Scholarships – Rhodes, Miscellaneous, 1902-1913
Scholarships – Rhodes, Printed forms
Scholarships – Henry Strong, 1912-1914 Science, School of1909- exams that cover language translations and grammar, and also math
Science, Needs, 1875-1881 Scientific – Entrance1863-1904 Maps of expeditions
Science – General Reports, 1872-1898
BOX 11
Social Affairs – Committee Meetings, 1907-1932Social Affairs and Social Committee, 1905-19091932-1933, University parties
Speech – Oratory, 1893-1903
Speech – Reports, 1878-1900
Concerning Individual Students, 1897-1898
Stationery with engraving of the “Hawkeye Hospital”, Ottumwa, Iowa
Student Aid, 1889Student Employment, 1936-1937
Student Health, 1912
Students – Self-Support, 1903-1907
Student – Self-Government, 1906-1913
Summer Session, 1897-1914
Summer Session, 1894-1905
University – Branches, 1849-1905University (General) – Correspondence, 1853-1914(Dubuque, Fairfield, Andrew, Oskaloosa, Mount Pleasant) 1849- “Each (Normal) school shall educate 8 teachers, free of charge of tuition, who shall teach, for the term of 3 years, common schools within the state. Said schools shall be established at Andrew, Oskaloosa, and Mount Pleasant…provided always, that religious sectarianism shall, Under no circumstances, be incorporated into the system of instruction…”
University (General) – Greater University Movement1873- State appropriations were designed for every two years
University (General) – Support, 1891-19011907- letter from President MacLean about the newly-formed Greater University Committee
University (General) – University and Press, 1900-1903
University (General), 1855 University History (General) – Organization, 18541903- letter states that MacLean refused to make the minutes of the most recent Board meeting open to the public, keeping the budget private
University History – Archives, 1876A posted notice to “organize and put in operation the trustees of SUI”
War – Spanish-American, 1898
USA Navy Dept – ROTC, 1944-1945
Zoology – Lab needs, 1890-1901
Zoology – Research Needs, 1898Zoology – Reports, 1898
1954-1956 Board of Education Quarterly Financial Reports
1927-1929 Budget
BOX 12
Advertising, 1896-1898Administration – Report on, 1900
Administration – Semester Plan, 1892-1901
Dec. 19, 1901- “The faculties of the colleges of Liberal Arts and Law ask you to authorize the division of the year into equal semesters instead of the present three unequal terms. This plan has already been adopted in the other colleges of the university” (for spring 1902 catalog)
Board of Education, 1940
Board of Control, 1898-1906
Board of Education1906- letter from C.E. Pickett in Waterloo to MacLean. Discussion about how many should be on the Board of Control, and whether they should be centralized or whether “each institution should have a separate and independent Board, that the position should be honorary rather than compensatory.”
Board of Regents – Compensation, 1875-1897Significant dates and details for: School for the Deaf, State Teachers College, School for the Blind, Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts
Board of Regents – Compensation, 1893-1895
Board of Regents – Compensation, 1896-1901
Board of Regents – Correspondence, 1861-1889Board of Regents – Correspondence, 1890-1899
Board of Regents – Correspondence, 1900-1902
Board of Regents – Executive Committee, Records, 1897-1899
BOX 13
Board of Regents – Records of Meetings, 1899 and 1900Board of Regents – Records, 1897 and 1898
Board of Regents – Executive Committee Records, 1893-1902
Board of Regents – Legislative Askings, 1873 and 1923
Board of Regents – Meetings, 1870-1889
Board of Regents – Meetings, 1890-1902
Board of Regents – Members, 1876-1942
Board of Regents – Miscellaneous, 1864-1905
Board of Regents – Executive Committee, Misc. & Reports, 1869-1901
Board of Regents – Records, Minutes and Business dockets, 1878-1902
BOX 14
Board of Regents – Records (original notes)
Board of Regents – ReportsOriginal Resolutions adopted and copied into Board of Regents - mostly undated; some 1889-1890
Board of Regents – Secretary, 1879-1902 Business & Finance – Accounts, 1863-1875
BOX 15
(All folders are Business & Finance, abbreviated as B & F)
B & F – Bills and Receipts, 1855-1879
B & F – Accounts, 1876-1889B & F – Accounts, 1890-1902Mostly ledgers
1897-98 legal pad at end of folder has department income and faculty salaries
B & F – Accounts, 1902-1915
B & F – State Appropriations, 1856-1935
B & F – Accounts, Treasurer’s Reports, 1852-1903
(includes salaries)
B & F – Accounts, Treasurer reports by Committee, 1863-1899
B & F – Advertising, 1859-1904
BOX 16
(All folders are Business and Finance, or B & F)
B & F – Advertising , 1878-1897B & F – Bills and Receipts, 1880-1883
B & F – Bills and Receipts, 1884
B & F – Bills and Receipts, 1885-1894
B & F – Claims and Lawsuits, 1884-1892
BOX 17
(All folders are Business & Finance, or B & F)
B & F – Supplies (Miscellaneous)
B & F – Dental Fees and TuitionSept. 16, 1875- Matriculation ticket
B & F – Homeopathic Fees and Tuition, 1882-1897
B & F – Medical Dept. Fees and Tuition, 1880-1902
B & F – Law Fees and Tuition, 1879-1902
B & F – Pharmacy Fees and Tuition, 1890-1902
B & F – Laboratory Fees and Tuition
B & F – Scholarships Fees and Tuition
BOX 18
(All folders are Business and Finance, or B & F)
B & F – Fees and Tuition, County Representative Students, 1880-1884B & F – Fees and Tuition, Co. Representative Students, 1885-1888
B & F – Fees and Tuition, Co. Representative Students, 1897-1898 (two folders)
B & F – Fees and Tuition, payment extensions and refunds, 1902
B & F – Fees and Tuition, fee reduction/exemption for soldiers
B & F – Fees and Tuition, rules and policiesIncludes 1900 refund request by students who served in the Spanish-American War
(This folder contains material related to land, not tuition as labeled.)
1879 Abstract of Title, Winnebago County
1874 Treasurer’s records, Appanoose County
1856 mortgage, Scott County
1857 record concerning land, Recorder’s office, Davenport (has burned edges)
B & F – Regents Finance Committee, reports
BOX 19
(All folders are Business and Finance, or B & F)
B & F – Land, 1856-1879B & F – Land, 1880-1891Contains three documents: 1880, undated, and 1891.
B & F – Land, 1892-19021891 envelope ($0.02 stamps affixed) contains an Abstract of Title to land in Winnebago County
1880 letter from register at Iowa Land Office to the Governor of Iowa
1880-1890 two Abstract of Titles to land in Warren County
1854-1872 Abstract of Title to land in Poweshiek County
B & F – Land, undatedIncludes 1855-1857 entries in a small book
1897 Trust Deed: $6,000.00 purchase of land in Clay County
B & F – MiscellaneousAbstract of Title for land in Wapello County
Three ledgers
B & F – Printing B & F – Salaries
B & F – Treasurer, Bonds and SalaryIncludes 1886 letter from Secretary Haddock to the President and faculty advising them that no money has been set aside by the legislature for their salaries beyond March 1, 1886 (one week notice).
1950- Navy questionnaire on facilities
BOX 20
Miscellaneous (Board of Regents Meetings)
Faculty – LawJuly 6, 1858 Faculty report to the Board of Trustees, S.U.I.
July 6, 1857 Faculty report to the Board of Trustees (5x7 photograph of it)
Dec. 27, 1856 twelve-page report to Board of Directors
June 29, 1860 (in bundle tied with ribbon)- letter refers to Board of Trustees, and one dated May 25,
1855 also refers to Board of Trustees chart: “Showing Trend of Living Expenses, Wages of
"Workingmen, and salaries of University Instructors” 1897-1907.
Faculty – Medical
Faculty – Dental
Faculty – Homeopathic
Faculty – Miscellaneous
Faculty – Salaries, appointments, A-G
Samuel Calvin
“Samuel Calvin, by Harrison John Thornton”, original notes
Sept. 12, 1884 letter from Samuel Calvin requesting photos, rocks and fossils of Iowa for the upcoming May World’s Fair in New Orleans
Amos N. Currier
Faculty – Salaries, appointments, H-M
BOX 21
Faculty – Gustavus Hinrichs, 1884-1885
Ingersoll, L.C., 1893-1897
Faculty – Littig, L.W.
Loos, Isaac A. Also in Archives Reference, LD2565 .I5 v.1 cop.2
Shambaugh, Benjamin Franklin
Original notes for the Archives Reference bound version, located at LD2565 .I5 v.1 cop.2
Shimek, Bohumil
Love, 1891
Faculty, M-P
Macbride, Thomas
McClain, Emlin
McConnell, J.J.
McCord, Robert L.
McGrath, Dean Earl J.
Middleton, W.D.
Miller, Samuel F.
Mott, Frederick
Neff, Theodore L.
Nichols, E.R.
North, John
Nutting, C.C.
Parker, J.M.
Parvin, T.S.
Patrick, George
Patterson, S.
Patterson, W.R.
Peck, W.F.
Perkins, W.R.
Peters, A.C.
Philbrick, P.H.
Pickard, G.L.
Pollard, A.L.
Preston, W.C.
Faculty, R-ZRockwood, Elbert W.
Troth, Myra
Ranney, Mark
Raymond, William G.
Read, George W.
Reynolds, Albert
Rich, Ellen
Richards, H.S.
Robertson
Robinson
Rohbach, James A.
Ross, L.A.
Ross, Lewis W.
Royal, George
Sampson, Martin Wright
Samson, George W.
Schaeffer, G.S.
Schaffer, C.A.
Seashore, Carl E.
Seeds, Edward P.
Shrader, J.C.
Shambaugh, Benjamin F.
Simms
Sloan
Smith, Susan F.
Stephenson, N.W.
Sudduth, W.
Thurston, George A.
Triem
Troth, Mira
Van Steenderen
Veblen, O.
Vodges
Van Ende, Carl
Wade, M.J.
Wambaugh, Eugene
Wauchope, George A.
Weeks, G.D.
Weld, L.G.
Wheeler, Orville, D.
Whiteis, W.R.
White, C.A. (July 29, 1893: to Haddock from White of the Smithsonian)
Wick
Wickham, Henry F.
Williams, E.H.
Wilson, I.P.
Wilcox
Faculty – Minutes of Meetings, 1860-1890
BOX 22
Faculty – Applications and Recommendations, 1867-1886Faculty – Applications and Recommendations, 1887 (three folders)
Faculty – Applications and Recommendations, 1888
Campus mail envelope
Faculty – Applications and Recommendations, 1913Contains “material concerning faculty troubles, 1867-1870” (resignation) G. Hinrichs, C.A. Eggert, Jas. T. Robert, and T.S. Parvin
Includes three applications for instructor of the new Home Economics Dept. The applicants enclosedphotographs of themselves: Marie Stephens – April 23, 1913, Mrs. Mary Greff – May 3, 1913, Miss Helen A. Harrington – Feb. 26, 1913
BOX 23
Faculty – Petitions, 1901-1904General Assembly – Legislation
Unlabeled Folder
General Assembly – millage tax, 1887-19021888- “A Bill” for university appropriations for “the income fund”, house file #180, General Assembly, for two years of funding.
1898- Original document: “An act to create a state board of control, and to provide for the management of the Soldiers’ Home [in Marshalltown?], the Charitable, Reformatory, and Penal Institutions of the State, and to provide supervisory powers over the State Educational Institutions, and for the defining of certain offences and providing penalties therefor.” 27th General Assembly; passed March 29, 1898; seal affixed May 3, 1898.
March 26, 1898 (COPY): Without opposition, senate passed tax bill for library.
April 4, 1913 – Senate Journal
General Assembly – Miscellaneous, 1890-1913
General Assembly – Petition to, 1894 and 1963
Presidents – Reports, 1861-1912
BOX 24
Registrar’s Office – Organization, Student Advisers, 1905Registrar’s Office – Course Schedules and Requirements, 1869-1903
Registrar’s Office – Honorary Degrees
Oct. 26, 1891 letterhead: “Judges Chambers, Supreme Court, Colorado” (Chief Justice Joseph C. Helm is responding to an honor bestowed upon him by Haddock
Sept. 19, 1893- Resolved: the Board shall not confer honorary degrees until the Executive Committee has first reviewed the proposal.
Nov. 14, 1896- typed letter to P.K. Holbrook outlines the procedure by which S.U.I. confers honorary degrees.
June 9, 1902- (Original Document) typed letter conferring the degree of Doctor of Laws upon three men, one of whom is Booker T. Washington, LL.D., President of Tuskegee Institute.
Registrar’s Office: Degrees and Certificates (Miscellaneous)
Registrar’s Office: Degrees, 1872-1913Registrar – Diplomas, 1858-1892Includes 1885 petition from seven students to the Board of Regents of S.U.I.: “We the undersigned members of the present Senior class of the school of science do, in consideration of the fact that we have done more work in said course than is usually required in other colleges and universities, and in view of the fact that the degree of B.SC. has become degraded in popular opinion, we do respectfully petition that the degree of A.B. be granted us instead of the customary one of B.SC.: (At least four of the seven signatures are from women.)
Registrar’s Office – Enrollment
Registrar’s Office – High School Inspection
Registrar’s Office – Miscellaneous
Registrar’s Reports, 1899-1901
Registrar’s Office – Grade Records, 1867 and othersRegistrar’s Office – Grade Records
Departments (General) – Organization, naming, equipment
Departments (General) – Reports
MANUSCRIPT FILE INDEX
A
Academical Department, see Liberal Arts : Collegiate Department
Acquisitions Department
Bookkeeper's Records - expenditures and encumbrances; June 1953 -- February 1955
Adams, Austin , bust of, as gift to University, see Miscellaneous : Gifts
Administration : Conference of Colleges
Letter of President Angell , Michigan , to President MacLean, on resolutions in re athletics for conference colleges, 1906
Administration : Criticism
Criticism against the administration and against certain members of the faculty by Gustavus Hinrichs
Administration: Criticism
Criticism against certain phases of University administration, by Mrs. I. K. Terry, mother of two students
Administration: Criticism
Reference to criticism of University by Board of Control, see Buildings and Grounds: Schaeffer Hall, 1900 -- Letter of M. A. Higley
Administration: Criticism
Letters by C. E. Pickett, 1899
Administration: Investigation
Correspondence relating to the investigation of the University, 1888
Administration: Report on
Report of the special Regents’ committee on Administration, 1900
Administration: Semester plan
Correspondence relating to the change of plan of semesters
Admission requirements, see Registrar’s Office: High School Inspection
Advertising, see Business and Finance: Advertising. See also Publications: University Notes
Advisers for students, see Registrar: Student Advisers
Agricultural Chemistry, see Science (General): Report, 1867
Agricultural colleges. Letter concerning federal aid to, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 18, 1904
Aldine Society, see Literary Societies: Aldine
Aldrich, Charles
Letter from Charles Aldrich to Regent Richardson in re autograph collection, 1890, see Miscellaneous
Agricultural Laboratory Exercises
SUI Summer Session, 1916
Agricultural Law Center
Legal Institute – Fundamentals of Farm Leases. Water Rights in Iowa. Farmers’ Social Security
S.U.I., 1955
Allison, W. B.: Address, see Publications: Allison, W. B. Address
Alumni: Alumni Association
Papers relating to the meetings of the Association, banquets, representation on the Board of Regents, reports, and other papers pertaining to the relation of the Association to the University
For resolutions of Alumni Association regarding resignation of professors Leonard, Parker, and Fellows, see Faculty: Leonard, Fellows, and Parker, 1887
Alumni: Alumni Association. Letter regarding organization of, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, July 18, 1907
Alumni: List
List of alumni: 1858 – 1872
There is also an Alumni Register 1847 – 1911, see Book file
Number of students enrolled and graduates for each year, 1856 to 1929, see Business and Finance: State appropriations, 1856 – 1929
Alumni: Miscellaneous
Letter from J. J. Louis on behalf of alumni regarding need for work in public speaking and journalism, see University (General): Criticism, 1900
Appointment of lecturer in, see Faculty: Brewer, L. A., 1900
Alumni: Organization
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 17, 1904
Amana history, see Publications: Historical Monographs
Ancient Languages, see Languages: Ancient and Greek and Latin
Angell, James B., letter from Angell to President MacLean, see Administration: Conference of Colleges
Animal Morphology and Physiology, see Zoology: Reports
Ansley, C. F. Letter from regarding literary magazine, see Letters: Literary Magazine, 1899
Apparatus
An inventory of the apparatus for all departments, 1857. Is filed under Departments (General)
Applied Science: see Engineering
Appropriations, see Business and Finance: (State) Appropriations
Appropriations (made to various departments) see Business and Finance: Accounts
Archives, see University (General)
Arner, A. L. Communications of, to Executive Committee, see Physical Laboratory: Needs, 1895, and Physics: Weather Bureau Flags, 1895
See also Faculty
Art
Applications for positions to teach drawing and allied arts
Papers relating to graphic art instruction in the University
Proposition to introduce drawing classes to assist in teaching Physical Science, see Physical Science: Drawing Course, 1885
Sketch Club. Paper indicating the existence of a Sketch Club, see Organizations
Assemblies: Letter regarding, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 18, 1903 and January 18, 1904
Assistants, see Faculty: Miscellaneous
Astronomy, see Mathematics
Athletics
Letter regarding rules on athletics in Conference of Colleges, see Administration: Conference of Colleges
Letter of President James B. Angell to President MacLean, February 2, 1906
Papers relating to athletics: athletic associations, coaches, tennis associations, and football
Regarding conduct in Iowa City in connection with athletic contests, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, November 21, 1905
For letters concerning athletics, see also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
January 14, 1903
February 26, 1903
April 21, 1903
April 22, 1903
June 27, 1904
July 7, 1904
August 2, 1904
October 2, 1905
November 27, 1905
November 29, 1905
November 24, 1906
Board in Control of, 1908. Articles of Incorporation of the Board in Control of Athletics
Iowa Athletic Association. For letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 4, 1906
B
Babb, W. I., see Board of Regents: Members under file
Baconian Club, see Organizations: Baconian Club
Bacteriological Laboratory, State
Letter relating to director of, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 17, 1904
Band, see Music: Band
Bell, see Miscellaneous
Big Nine, see Administration: Conference of Colleges
Bills and receipts, see Business and Finance: Bills and Receipts
Biology, see also Science
Black, James, see Presidents: Black -- University of Iowa president 1868 -- 1870
Call for Regents meeting on resignation of President Black, see Board of Regents: Meeting, 1870
Blackboards, see Buildings and Grounds: Supplies
Board and room
One item on student canvassers for, see Miscellaneous
Board of Control
Papers relating to the Board of Control of State Institutions
See, General Assembly, Legislation – Senate Journal, page 1638, April 4, 1913
Board of Control bill
See Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
March 25, 1904
April 12, 1904
February 24, 1905
April 10, 1905
March 10, 1906
March 17, 1906
March 29, 1906
March 31, 1906
April 11, 1907
Board of Education
Bibliography, 1940
Board of Educational examiners
Letters regarding Board of Educational examiners and teaching certificates, see Presidents – MacLean, January 23, 1904
Board of Regents
Proposal for convention of, with deans and faculty, see Board of Regents: Correspondence (D), January 19, 1887
Board of Regents: Alumni representation
Paper relating to alumni representation on the Board of Regents, see Alumni: Alumni Association
Board of Regents: Compensation
Papers relating to the payment of mileage, per diem compensation, 1886 – 1901
Board of Regents: Correspondence
Correspondence between members of the Board of Regents, the subject matter of which cannot be closely identified, or which deals with a number of miscellaneous subjects is filed here rather than with any department, which is done when the subject is a single unit and definite.
Letters from regents to President Schaeffer filed in President’s office. For material included, see in this index under Presidents: Schaeffer, C.A.
Board of Regents: Directory
List of the members of the Board of Trustees and Regents from 1847 to 1885, see Alumni: Directory, 1847 – 1885
Board of Regents: Executive Committee
Records, 1897 -- 1902
Reports, 1869 – 1880
Board of Regents: Meetings
Announcements and acknowledgments of notices of meetings of Board of Regents, 1870 – 1902
Board of Regents: Members
Papers and correspondence relating to the individual members of the Board of Regents – appointments, certificates, resignations, and personal
Board of Regents: Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous papers relating to rooms of the Board, and faculty representative at meetings
Board of Regents: Records
Abstracts of the records of the Board of Regents, 1897 – 1898, and miscellaneous papers pertaining to the records
Board of Regents: Reports
Ms copies of reports of the Board of Regents to the governor of Iowa, 1893, 1901
Typewritten copies of reports, 1861 – 1892, 1863 – 1864
Board of Regents: Secretary
Papers relating personally to the Board of Regents secretary Haddock. For reports of the secretary, see Business and Finance: Secretary’s Reports
Board of Trustees
The Board of Trustees was the original governing body of the University. It was reorganized in 1870 and the name Board of Regents was adopted. Any material relating to the Board of Trustees will be found with that of the Board of Regents.
Boiler house, see Buildings and Grounds: Heating Plant
Book store, see Miscellaneous in file
Booth, E. M., see Speech papers
Buildings and Grounds:
Some papers relating to Buildings and Grounds not identified
Some references to Buildings and Grounds, see Board of Regents: Correspondence, especially 1898, 1901
Data on buildings and grounds, especially to costs, can be found under Business and Finance: Accounts, especially secretary’s reports on appropriations and building fund
Buildings and Grounds: Architects
Letters from architects
Buildings and Grounds: Armory
Letters concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
April 20, 1903
April 22, 1903
August 1, 1904
Buildings and Grounds: Chemical Laboratory
Papers relating to the building of the Chemical Laboratory
For papers relating to academic work of the laboratory, see Chemistry: Laboratory
Buildings and Grounds: Church property
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 12, 1906
Buildings and Grounds: Class rooms and faculty rooms
Papers relating to the individual class and department rooms; assignments of rooms in buildings
Buildings and Grounds: Close Hall
Papers relating to the buildings and rooms and subscription fund of the YMCA building
Buildings and Grounds: Dental Building
Papers relating to the construction of
Buildings and Grounds: East Hall, see Buildings and Grounds: Hospital, 1897
Buildings and Grounds: Elevators
Correspondence regarding elevators for the University
Buildings and Grounds: Fire Insurance
Papers relating to the insuring of buildings and to fire losses
Buildings and Grounds: Gas and Electricity
Papers relating to gas and electricity utilities in the University
Buildings and Grounds: Heating Plant
Papers regarding boilers, steam heating, and smoke stacks
Correspondence regarding coal is filed under Buildings and Grounds: Supplies (Coal)
Buildings and Grounds: Homeopathic Building
Buildings and Grounds: Hospital
Papers relating to the Old Medical Hospital ( Mechanics Academy), see Buildings and Grounds: Mechanics Academy
Papers relating to the 1897 construction of the Hospital, later called East Hall.
For work classes in Hospitals, see Medicine: Hospitals
Buildings and Grounds: Hospital (Mercy)
Correspondence regarding Mercy Hospital building. For administration, see Medicine: Hospitals
Buildings and Grounds: Homeopathic Building and Hospital
Papers relating to the construction of
Buildings and Grounds: Janitors
Bill submitted for work on the campus by H. R. (Herman Ruppin?), see Buildings and Grounds: Repairs, 1866 – 1873
For reference to J. Barry, janitor, see also Board of Regents: Correspondence (Hol), July 19, 1899
Paper relating to the applications and recommendations of janitors in the University
Buildings and Grounds: Law
Resolutions for purchase of Universalist Church property for a law building
Buildings and Grounds: Library and Museum
An act of the General Assembly regarding the library and museum
Buildings and Grounds: Linn Street
Papers relating to the closing and macadamizing of Linn Street between Jefferson and Iowa Avenue
Buildings and Grounds: Mechanics Academy
Case in Supreme Court on matter of, see Business and Finance: Treasurer Report, 1867
Papers relating to rental, removal, and souvenirs of mechanics Academy
Use of Mechanics Academy for Model School, see Normal Department: Model School, 1865
Deed of land to Mechanics Academy property, see business and Finance: Land – Mechanics Academy, 1866
Buildings and Grounds: Medical Amphitheatre Chairs, see Buildings and Grounds: Medical Building
Buildings and Grounds: Medical Building
Reference to, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, 1900
Papers relating to the construction of the old Medical Building, 1892 (built south of South Hall in 1882)
Buildings and Grounds: Millage Tax for
Papers relating to the millage tax for the University (especially for buildings), see General Assembly: Millage Tax
Buildings and Grounds: Miscellaneous
Papers on miscellaneous subjects relating to buildings and grounds: contractor’s bonds, water main, safe, vault, campus cleaning, drill ground, and public use of buildings
Letter regarding extension of campus, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 15, 1903
Buildings and Grounds: Museum
Letter relating to plans for a museum building
Buildings and Grounds: Needs
Papers stating the needs for buildings, repairs
Buildings and Grounds: North Hall
Papers relating to the construction of North Hall, on the Pentacrest north of Old Capitol (called Chapel building when first opened in 1866, called Library building in 1883, afterward it housed the first Chemical Laboratory, then used as the Home Economics building in 1912, then called the Theatre Studio Annex before finally called North Hall. Demolished in 1949.)
Report of the Executive Committee on roofing repairs on North Hall, see Board of Regents: Executive Committee, Report, 1869
Buildings and Grounds: Nurses Home
Relating to the provision for a nurses home
Buildings and Grounds: Observatory
Papers relating to the observatory
Buildings and Grounds: Old Capitol
Papers relating to the repair of Old Capitol
Letter about Dean’s Office, see Graduate College, Weld letter, 1900
Buildings and Grounds: Park Grounds and Park Fountain
Papers relating to the gift by the city of the park grounds, and to the park fountain
Buildings and Grounds: Physics Building
Papers relating to the construction of the Physics building and equipment for
Buildings and Grounds: Public Use of Buildings, see Buildings and Grounds: Miscellaneous
Buildings and Grounds: Rented Property
Papers pertaining to the rental of rooms for the University, and for rent by the University
See also Buildings and Grounds: Miscellaneous for policies on public use of buildings
Buildings and Grounds: Repairs
Papers relating to repairs of various buildings
Some data on repairs may also be found under Business and Finance: Bills and receipts
Buildings and Grounds: Schaeffer Hall
Papers relating to the construction of the Collegiate Building, later called Liberal Arts Hall, and then called Schaeffer Hall
Buildings and Grounds: Science Hall
Papers relating to the 1884 construction of Science Hall, later called the Geology Building
Buildings and Grounds: Sewerage [sewage] system
Buildings and Grounds: South Hall
Papers relating to Literary Society rooms, repairs, and burning of
Changes in South Hall to meet needs of Medical Department, see Medicine: Reports -- Organization, 1870
Buildings and Grounds: Superintendent
Suggestion for need of a superintendent of the campus, see Presidents: Reports -- Totten, 1861
Superintendent’s correspondence in three letter books (in book file):
March 12, 1902 – May 13, 1904
May 13, 1904 – April 13, 1906
April 13, 1906 – October 1, 1906
Buildings and Grounds: Supplies
This file includes papers relating to the purchase of coal, blackboards, lumber, and ice, pertaining to the grounds and buildings.
For office supplies and supplies in connection with academic work, see Business and Finance: Supplies. Many items are also filed under Business and Finance: Bills and Receipts
Papers relating to the purchase of supplies for buildings, such as blackboards, coal, lumber, and miscellaneous. See also Business and Finance: Supplies
Buildings and Grounds: Trees
Papers relating to the trees of the campus
Buildings and Grounds: Walks
Papers relating to the construction of walks on the campus
Buildings and Grounds: West Campus
Improvement of west campus, see Board of Regents: Executive Committee Report, 1880. See also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, January 19, 1903
Buildings and Grounds: YMCA Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Close Hall
Buildings and Grounds: Zoology Building
Papers relating to the Zoology buildings, first called the Anatomy buildings (sometimes called the Laboratory building)
Business and Finance: Accounts
The accounts of the University, such as appropriations, University fund, income and expenditures (primarily the secretary’s and treasurer’s reports)
See also Business and Finance: State appropriations, claims, Finance Committee reports
See also Board of Regents: Executive Committee reports
Secretary Haddock’s book of miscellaneous appropriations for advertising and printing, 1888 (in book file)
Treasurer’s book: List of warrants paid July 2, 1896 – June 30, 1908 (in book file)
Business and Finance: Advertising
All papers relating to the advertising of University in magazines
Letters about advertising University, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
October 11, 1900
July 7, 1904
August 1, 1904
August 30, 1905
Business and Finance: Appropriations
See also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
May 9, 1907
March 29, 1906
December 14, 1905
Business and Finance: Bills and receipts, 1855 – 1901
Cover nearly every department and division, arranged by date
Business and Finance: Claims
Papers relating to claims against the University, which may involve law suits
Business and Finance: County Scholarships
Papers pertaining to exemption from or reduction of tuition as representatives from counties
Business and Finance: County Representative Students
Papers dealing with students who (as county representatives) receive reduced or free tuition, see Business and Finance: County Scholarships
Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Includes papers and receipts from the following departments: Dental, Homeopathic, Law, Medical, and Pharmacy
Laboratory fees
Free and reduced fees: special students, graduation fees, duplicate diploma fees, summer session fees, soldiers’ fees, cases of refunds or extension of time
Rules and policies on fees
Letter concerning fees in Graduate College, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 24, 1903
Letter concerning tuition, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 24, 1902
Business and Finance: Finance Committee
Reports of the Regents’ Committee on Finance
Business and Finance: Land
Papers relating to the lands donated by the Congress to Iowa for a University and its disposition, 1856 – 1902
For reference to some University land in Clay County, see Board of Regents: Correspondence (Hol), October 12, 1898
Letter relating to purchase of Englert property, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 2, 1903
Business and Finance: Millage Tax, see General Assembly: Millage Tax
Business and Finance: Miscellaneous
Items pertaining to miscellaneous subjects such as: purchasing form, woodcuts and cuts of the University, postage rates for the University, and inventory
Business and Finance: Printing
Papers and correspondence relating to the printing of catalogues, announcements, and publications
Business and Finance: Salaries
Papers relating to the salaries of the professors
See also Business and Finance: Accounts -- secretary’s reports
A petition by the faculty to the Board of Regents for higher salaries is included
Letter concerning salaries, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 15, 1902
Business and Finance: Secretary, 1902
Letter of Regent Babb relating to the duties of the University secretary, August 5, 1902
Business and Finance: Secretary’s Correspondence
Letter books of secretary Haddock (in book file):
August 16, 1886 – July 11, 1898
November 14, 1902 – June 17, 1904
June 17, 1904 – February 4, 1905
February 6, 1905 – October 2, 1905
October 3, 1905 – January 26, 1906
Business and Finance: State Appropriations
Papers relating to State appropriations, as method of withdrawing from State treasury, a summary of State appropriations, 1856 – 1929
For appropriations to the various departments, see Business and Finance: Accounts, secretary’s reports
Business and Finance: Supplies
Papers relating to the purchase of and need for supplies for various departments
Supplies for Buildings and Grounds are filed under that heading
Letter relating to method of purchasing supplies, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 13, 1902
Business and Finance: Treasurer
Papers relating to the Treasurer and his bond
For Treasurer’s reports, see Business and Finance: Accounts -- Treasurer’s Reports
Business and Finance: Treasurer’s Bonds
Reference to, see board of Regents: Correspondence (Ab) October 23, 1897
Business and Finance: Treasurer’s Correspondence
Two letter books:
January 16, 1904 – July 1, 1911
July 30, 1895 – October 3, 1899
Byers, S. H. M.
Letter regarding “The Song of Iowa,” see Miscellaneous: Songs, 1897
Buildings and Grounds, see also Business and Finance: Land
Botany: General
Miscellaneous papers relating to the department of Botany needs and assistants
For patent gas burner in Botanical lecture room, see Buildings and Grounds: Supplies, 1887
Botany: Herbarium and Laboratory
Papers relating to the herbarium and botanical laboratory
For herbarium, see also Science: Report -- Botany and Zoology, 1886
Botany: Laboratory, see Botany: Herbarium and Laboratory
Botany: Publications -- Natural History Bulletin, see publications: Natural History Bulletin
Botany: Reports
Reports on chair of Botany, see also Science (General): Reports
For 1870 report, see also Geology: Report, 1870
Botany, see also Science
Bowman, John G., see Presidents: Bowman, J. G.
Branches of the University, see University (General): Normal Schools and University (General): Branches
Brewer, Luther A., see Faculty
Brown, Norris, see Alumni: Reminiscences
Bryan, William Jennings
Letter concerning W. J. Bryan prize. See Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 27, 1903
Buck, Anne Ward, see Alumni: Reminiscences
Buettner Collection, see Museum: Buettner Collection
Byers, S. H. M.
Letter regarding song by, see Miscellaneous Songs, 1897
C
Call, Leona, see Greek: Status, 1900
Calvin, Samuel
Reports, see Geology, Zoology, or Science: Reports
Campus, see Buildings and Grounds
Carnegie pension fund, see Faculty: Pension Fund
Carr, A. Whitney, gift, see Miscellaneous: Gifts
Catalogues, see Publications: Catalogues
Central Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Old Capitol
Certificates, State, for teaching, see Education: State Certificates
Chapel
For regulations concerning, see President: Report -- Totten, 1862
Chapel building, see Buildings and Grounds: north Hall
Chapel Exercises
Letter regarding, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, January 18, 1904
Chemical Laboratory, see Chemistry: Laboratory, also see Physical Laboratory
Chemical Laboratory
For building, see Buildings and Grounds
For academic work in laboratory, see Chemistry
Chemical Laboratory fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Chemistry: Consolidation
Letter relating to consolidation of Departments of Chemistry, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 22, 1904
Chemistry: General
Needs and management of Chemistry department
Chemistry, Inorganic
Class organized in, see Physics: Report, 1858
Chemistry: Laboratory
According to the general catalogs, the Laboratory was called the Chemical Laboratory from the 1863 – 1864 school year through the 1869 – 1870 year. The laboratory was called the Physical Science Laboratory from 1870 – 1871 through 1887 – 1888. The 1888 – 1889 Catalog lists the laboratory as both the Physical Science Laboratory and the Chemistry Laboratory. Both of these departments were located in North Hall at that time, and perhaps the terms were used interchangeably. After 1890 however, the Chemical Laboratory was housed in the new Chemical Laboratory Building, while the Physical Science Laboratory remained in North Hall. Therefore, all papers relating to either of these laboratories prior to 1890 (when the Chemical Laboratory was constructed), are filed under Physical Science: Laboratory. Papers dated after 1890 are filed under Chemical Laboratory, unless they clearly relate to Physics.
Chemistry: Laboratory
For progress in, see Faculty: Hitchcock, 1887
For insurance on apparatus, see Buildings and Grounds: Fire and Insurance, 1862
Chemistry: Lectures
For controversy on rooms used for Chemistry lectures in Medical building, see Medicine: Chemistry Lectures, 1884
Chemistry: Status
Faculty resolutions regarding relation of chairs of Physics and Chemistry, see Physics: Status
Circular of organization, 1854, see University (General): Organization, 1854
Claims, see Business and Finance: Claims
Class Elections
Class Memorial
Paper relating to class memorial of 1890, see Miscellaneous
Classical Languages, see Languages: Ancient, and Greek and Latin
Close, M. T., prize, see Scholarships and Prizes
Close Hall, see Buildings and Grounds: Close Hall
Coat of Arms
Mention of University coat of arms, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 10, 1904
Co-education
Material relating to co-education, see Education (General)
College alumnae
Letter regarding Iowa chapter of, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 20, 1904
Colleges and University
Letter regarding relation between colleges and University of Iowa, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
March 13, 1905
December 24, 1907
March 6, 1908
Collegiate Alumnae, Association of
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
October 4, 1902
December20, 1904
Collegiate Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Schaeffer Hall
Collegiate Department, see Liberal Arts: Collegiate Department
Commencement
Papers relating to commencement speakers, also miscellaneous (includes petition of Liberal Arts class of 1907 for free days during commencement week)
Commencement: 1877 Oration
Graduating thesis of John J. Hamilton on June 21, 1877, see Alumni: Hamilton, J.J., 1877 (Ms File)
Commencement, 1904
Letter concerning speaker for 1904 commencement, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 1904
Commencements: Law
Paper regarding commencement speakers at 1887 Law graduation
Commencements: Presence at graduation, 1887
Letter concerning presence of graduates at commencement, see Presidents: Pickard – Correspondence, 1887 (Ms File)
Commerce
Material relative to College of Commerce
Commercial museum
Material on collection of pieces for, see Miscellaneous: World’s Fair Exhibit, 1904
Committees, faculty, see Faculty Committees
Comparative Philology, report on, see History: Report, 1884
Conduct, see Miscellaneous: Student Conduct
Conference of Colleges, see Administration: Conference of Colleges
Cook, George C., see Faculty: Cook, George C.
Correspondence courses
Letter relating to, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, October16, 1903
County club movement
Letter regarding, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 8, 1905
County representative students, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition -- County scholarships
County scholarships, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition -- County scholarships
See also Scholarships: County, 1901
Course schedule, see Registrar’s Office: Course schedule
Cowgill, Frank H., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Cuban education, see letter by G. K. Harroun to President Schaeffer under Miscellaneous
Cummins, Albert B.
Letter to, concerning address at weekly assembly, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 18, 1903
Curriculum, see Registrar’s Office: Course schedules
D
Daily Iowan, see Publications: Daily Iowan
Dam, Terrill’s
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, August 15, 1903
Dean, Amos, see Presidents: Dean
Statement of books purchased by Amos Dean, first chancellor of the University, for the University, 1859.
Receipt of money for same, 1859, see Libraries: Books
Dean of Women: Duties
Relating to work of Dean of Women’s Office
Dean of Women: Young, Alice
Recommendation of Miss Alice Young, Dean of Women, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 4, 1905.
Letter to obtain admittance of S.U.I. to A.C.A., 1901
Dean of Women
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, July 18, 1907
Deans and Faculty
Proposal for convention of, with Board of Regents, see Board of Regents: Correspondence ( D), January 19, 1887
Deemer, H.E.
Letter of, see Libraries: Library School -- Deemer, 1900
Degrees, see Registrar’s Office: Degrees
Denominational colleges, see Colleges and University
Dental Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Dental Building
Dental Department, see Dentistry
Dentistry
Letter relating to College of Dentistry, see also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
October 16, 1906
November 5, 1904
July 15, 1907
Dentistry: Advertising
All advertising is filed under Business and Finance: Advertising
Dentistry: Appropriations and Finance
Papers relating to the funds used for the Dental Department, see Business and Finance: Accounts
Dentistry: Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Dental Building
Dentistry: Degrees, see Registrar’s Office: Degrees – Dental. Also see Dentistry: Reports from Examining Committee
Dentistry: Demonstrators
Papers relating to the demonstrators in charge of the clinical work of the department
Dentistry: Demonstrators tickets, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition – Dental
Dentistry: Equipment
Papers relating to the supplies and equipment used by the Dental Department
Dentistry: Establishment
Papers relating to the establishment of the Dental Department
See also letter from L.C. Ingersoll to Governor Carpenter, December 18, 1873, filed under University: General
Dentistry: Faculty, see Faculty: Dental and individual members
For complaints against faculty by students, see Dentistry: Reorganization
See also Dentistry: Demonstrators
Dentistry: Faculty 1888 Reorganization, see Faculty – Ingersoll, Hobby, Wilson, Kulp (Ms file)
Dentistry: Fees and Tuition
Papers relating to students in the department regarding fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition – Dental
Dentistry: Investigation
Papers dealing with the investigation of the Dental Department
Reference to, see Board of Regents: Correspondence ( B), May 24, 1888
Reference to committee on investigation of Dental Department, see Board of Regents – Correspondence ( B), 1888 (Ms file)
Dentistry: Miscellaneous
Circular of information, representation at National Association
Dentistry: Needs
Papers dealing with the needs of the Dental Department in many phases
Dentistry: Organization
Demand for establishment of a Dental Department, see Medicine: Report, 1873
Dentistry: Reports by Faculty
Reports made by the faculty on the work in the department, 1882 – 1899
Dentistry: Reports by Regents’ Committee and Examining Board
Reports made on dental department other than by the faculty
Departments (General)
Includes papers relating to the organization of the departments as a whole, their nomenclature (“Colleges” and “Departments”), equipment for all departments, and the reports of the Examining Committee, sent to report on the instruction in the University.
For reports on the departments, see individual departments, and also Liberal Arts: Collegiate Department, and Presidents: Reports
Departments (General): Examining Committee
Reports of the committee to examine instruction in the University
Didactics, see Education
Diploma duplication fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Diplomas, see Registrar’s Office: Diplomas
Discipline, see Miscellaneous: Student Conduct
Disinterment
Paper relative to disinterment of body of Mrs. Herrick, 1871, see Miscellaneous
Dorcas, H.C., see Faculty. See also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, February 18, 1907
Dormitories:
Letter regarding dormitories, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 28, 1907
Drake, F. C., see Presidents: Secretary
Dramatic Art
Drill Ground, see Buildings and Grounds: Miscellaneous
E
East Hall, for construction of, see Buildings and Grounds: Hospital, 1897
East hall grounds, see Buildings and Grounds: Park Grounds
Edmonds, J. B., gift to University, see Miscellaneous: Gifts. See also Libraries: Law
Education
Including all papers relating to Didactics, Pedagogy, and Education. There is a separate file for the Normal Department, which was the first UI department for the training of teachers.
Education (General)
Letters referring to educational matters in general, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
November 20, 1902
April 17, 1903
March 9, 1904
May 23, 1904
April 16, 1906
May 28, 1906
February 23, 1907
November 27, 1907
Education: State Certificates
Educational institutions, see General Assembly: Legislation, 1892
Electricity, see Buildings and Grounds: Gas and Electricity
Elevators, see Buildings and Grounds: Elevators
Elocution, see Speech
Ely, Hanson E., see also War: Spanish-American
Employment, see Miscellaneous: Employment
Engineering, see Civil Engineering
Engineering: Cement Tests
Letter of C.D. Jameson relative to appropriation needed for cement tests in 1890, see Engineering: Miscellaneous
Engineering: Degrees
Recommendations for College of Engineering degrees for three candidates, see Registrar: Degrees (CE), 1878
Report of Committee of Academical Faculty in 1876. Their charge was to sign diplomas of Civil Engineering graduates, see Engineering: Status
Engineering: Drawing and Railway Engineering
Resolution for establishment of a chair of drawing and railway engineering (voted down), see Engineering: Professorships
Engineering: Equipment
Papers relating to apparatus and equipment in the chair of Engineering (machine shop).
See also Engineering: Needs
Engineering: Equipment (drawing tables), see Business and Finance: Supplies, November 1887
Engineering, see Presidents: Bowman
Engineering: General
Letter relating to College of Applied Science or Engineering, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
March 14, 1903
March 28, 1903
February 21, 1903
May 2, 1903
August 15, 1903
April 12, 1904
Also see letter of W.G. Raymond to President MacLean, July 28, 1904, filed under Faculty: Raymond
Engineering: Machine Shop
Paper relating to the operation of the machine shop, 1893, see Engineering: Equipment – Machine Shop
Engineering: Establishment and History
Establishment of first chair, see Liberal Arts: Collegiate – Report, 1873
Need for establishment of Department of Civil Engineering, see Mathematics: Report, 1856
Engineering: Forestry
Material relating to courses in forestry
See also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 21, 1907
Engineering: Needs
Papers presenting the various needs of the chair, see Engineering: Apparatus – Appropriations
Engineering: Reports of the chair
1875 (by Philbrick)
1877 (by Philbrick)
1879 (by Philbrick)
1881 (by Philbrick)
1883 (by Crane on number of students enrolled in his classes)
1885 (by Philbrick)
1886 (by Philbrick on number of students enrolled in his classes)
1886 (by Philbrick)
1898 (by Sims)
Engineering: Status
Report of Committee of Academical Faculty to sign diplomas of College of Engineering graduates shows the need for definition of status of the department, 1876
Communication of P.H. Philbrick, urging the development of the Chair of Engineering to a department, 1878
Resolutions for the development of Applied Science and the Engineering Department, 1902
Engineering: Surveying
Need for establishment of department of surveying, see Mathematics: Report, 1856
Engineering: Transit, The Iowa. See Publications: Transit
English: Miscellaneous
Papers relating to courses, and reader for papers
Letter concerning English Department, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 17, 1903
English: Needs
Papers relating to the needs of the chair of English Literature and Language
English: Reports of the Chair of English
1875 (by G.L. Pinkham)
1877 (by G.L. Pinkham)
1881 (by Phoebe Sudlow)
1884 (by Susan F. Smith)
1885 (by Susan F. Smith)
1886 (by Susan F. Smith)
1898 (by W.P. Reeves)
Not dated (by G.L. Pinkham)
See also Faculty: Pinkham – Report, 1875
English, see also Letters
Enrollment, see Registrar’s Office: Enrollment
Equipment inventory for all departments, 1857, filed under Departments (General)
Erodelphian Society, see Literary Societies: Erodelphian
Examining Committee: Reports
Reports of the Examining Committee on the instruction in the departments, see Departments (General): Examining Committee
Executive Committee, see Board of Regents: Executive Committee
Exhibit, see World’s Fair exhibit
Expeditions, see Science: Expeditions
Expenditures and income, see Business and Finance: Accounts
Extension Division
All papers relating to Extension lectures conducted by the University. For a report of the year’s work in University Extension and of the work done in high school inspection, see the report by the chair of Pedagogy, 1898, under Education.
F
Faculty: Members
Papers relating to faculty members personally and individually (appointments and resignations), are filed alphabetically. For reports by faculty members from one department, see the file for that department.
See also Dentistry: Demonstrators
Faculty: Absences, see Presidents: Reports, 1896, 1897
For leaves of absences, see also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
January 19, 1907
November 10, 1902
Faculty: Academic Background
Letter relating to academic background of, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 30, 1903
Faculty: Adams, Austin, see also Miscellaneous: Gifts
Faculty: Albert, Henry
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 17, 1904
Faculty: Anderson, R.M.
Letter concerning zoological expedition by, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 26, 1903
Faculty: Andrews, L.
Letter concerning resignation of Professor Andrews, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 22, 1904
Faculty: Andrews, Launcelot W.
Criticism of L. W. Andrews by G. Hinrichs, see Administration: Criticism (Hindrichs), 1887
Faculty: Applications and Recommendations
The papers of applications and recommendations for positions on the faculty are filed, except that when application was accepted the papers were filed with the faculty (arranged in alphabetical order). Applications and recommendations are filed chronologically.
Faculty: Batchelder, John D.
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 18, 1904
Faculty: Bolton, F.C.
Recommendation of F.C. Bolton, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 14, 1907
Report on summer session, see Summer Session in file
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 28, 1903
Faculty: Brewer, Luther A.
Appointment of L.A. Brewer as lecturer in Journalism and superintendent of publications
Faculty: Brown, John
Recommendation of Professor John Brown, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 7, 1905
Faculty: Brown, J. F.
Recommendation of J. F., see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 17, 1905
Faculty: Buffum, H. S.
Data on, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 19, 1906
Faculty: Butts, W. H.
Reference to resignation of, see Board of Regents: Correspondence (B), August 23, 1887
Faculty: Call, Leona
Reference to, see Greek: Status, 1900
Faculty: Clapp, Dr.
Mention of resignation of Dr. Clapp, see Faculty – Hill, R.W., 1888 (Ms File)
Faculty: Committees
For re-organization of some faculty committees, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, August 5, 1905
Faculty: Cook, George C.
Letter from George C. Cook regarding Robert Tillinghast French medal, 1898
Faculty: Criticism against
Criticism against certain members of the faculty by Gustavus Hinrichs, see Administration: Criticism
Faculty: Currier, Amos N.
Letters concerning resignation, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
April 12, 1906
May 9, 1907
Letters concerning pension:
April 12, 1906
April 1, 1907
Faculty: Currier, Celia (Mrs. Amos N. Currier)
Copy of some portions of the diary of Mrs. Amos N. Currier, 1879 – 1898, 1912
Faculty: Dental
Papers relating to more than one faculty member in the Dental Department
Faculty: Dental Demonstrators, see Dentistry Demonstrators
Faculty: Dodd, E. L.
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 7, 1906
Faculty: Duties
Development of duties of, see President: Report -- Totten, 1861
Faculty: Farnsworth, P. J.
Letter from, regarding Medical Department, see also Medicine: History, 1901
Letters from, to President MacLean, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
June 20, 1904
September 24, 1904
Faculty: Farnsworth, P. J.
Letter from, to President MacLean concerning Medical Department, see Medicine: History, 1901
Faculty: Ford, A. H.
Letter relating to Professor A. H. Ford, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, August 20, 1905
Faculty: General
Miscellaneous papers relating to faculty assistants and promotions
Faculty: Gregory, Charles Noble
Letters from, to President MacLean, see Law: Faculty, 1907
Faculty: Guthe, Karl E.
Recommendation of, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 7, 1907
Faculty: Hinrichs, G.
Correspondence between Pickard and Hinrichs on apparatus, see Presidents: Pickard, 1885
For reference to Hinrichs trouble, see also Board of Regents: Correspondence, 1882, 1884, 1888
Faculty: Ingersoll
For resignation, see also letter in Dentistry: Faculty Reorganization, 1888
Letter from Keokuk Medical College faculty about death of faculty member Ingersoll, see Faculty: Dental (MS file)
Faculty: Jameson, C. D.
Data on, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, November 5, 1904
Faculty: Jepson, William
Recommendation of Dr. William Jepson, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, November 27, 1906
Faculty: Knipe, A. A.
Material relating to Professor A. A. Knipe
See also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
February 12, 1903
March 14, 1903
April 21, 1903
December 24, 1902
Faculty: Law
Paper relating to more than one faculty member in Law Department
Faculty: Macbride, T. H.
Letter concerning T. H. Macbride and Graduate College, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
October 29, 1907
June 21, 1907
Faculty: McConnell, J. J.
Recommendation of J. J. McConnell, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
May 13, 1904
July 7, 1904
Faculty: Middleton, W., see also Medicine: History -- Farnsworth, 1901
Faculty: Minutes of meetings
Notes taken from the minutes of faculty meetings (Minutes filed in Registrar's Office), 1860 – 1890
Faculty: Nutting, C. C.
Letter from, to President MacLean, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 26, 1903
Mention in letter, see Buildings and grounds: Museum, February 26, 1904
Faculty: Patrick, G. T. W.
Letter relating to resignation of , see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, January 21, 1905
Faculty: Peck, W. J., see Administration: Criticism -- Hinrichs, 1887
Faculty: Pension fund -- Carnegie
Letter regarding Carnegie pension fund for Professors Currier and Patrick, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, December 26, 1905
Reference to Carnegie pension fund, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, October 6, 1905
Faculty: Raymond, W.
Letters relating to, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
August 2, 1904
August 20, 1904
Faculty: Recommendations
Recommendations of candidates for University staff positions, see Faculty: Applications and Recommendations
Faculty: Religious Affiliations, 1907. See Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, April 6, 1907
Faculty: Reports
General report made by J. M. Stone on behalf of the faculty, December 27, 1856.
Report by J.M. Stone on behalf of the faculty to Board of Trustees, July 6, 1857 (also photostatic copy).
Report by J.M. Stone on behalf of the faculty to Board of Trustees, July 6, 1858.
Monthly reports of faculty reports on subject taught, number in class, hours of class work, and hours of preparation, 1886, 1887.
Some miscellaneous reports by faculty members.
Reports included here address number of students in classes, number of hours working for the University, and reports on more than one department by one instructor.
Reports by faculty members dealing with only one department are filed under that department.
Faculty: Rockwood, E. W.
Letter concerning, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
June 22, 1904
April 11, 1903
Faculty: Salaries, see business and Finance: Salaries
Faculty: Shambaugh, Benjamin, F., see also Faculty: Loos, I., letter to President Schaeffer, July 13, 1894
Faculty: Teaching
Letter regarding teaching of freshman courses, see President: MacLean – Correspondence, November 24, 1905
Letter regarding number of hours taught by professors, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, September 28, 1903
Faculty: Van Steenderen, F. C. L.
Letters concerning, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
May 17, 1905
May 22, 1905
July 17, 1905
April 13, 1906
February 18, 1907
Faculty: Veblen, A. A.
Letter concerning, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 26, 1903
Faculty: Vodges, C. B., see also War: Spanish-American, 1898
For letter from, to President MacLean, see War: Spanish-American, September 5, 1898
Faculty: Wassam, see Extension Division, letter from Marion, Iowa
Faculty: Weld, L. G.
Letter from, to President MacLean, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, August 15, 1903
Faculty: Weller, C. H.
Letter concerning, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
July 12, 1906
July 21, 1906
Faculty: Wickham, H. L.
Letter relating to zoological expedition by, see President: MacLean – Correspondence, May 26, 1903
Faculty: Wilcox, E. A.
Letter concerning, see Faculty: Gregory, C. N., August 29, 1907 (in file)
Faculty: Wilder, F. A.
Letter to, from President MacLean, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, May 2, 1903
Faculty: Wright, George G., see also Miscellaneous: Gifts
Faculty, see also Liberal Arts: Collegiate Department Reports
Fairfield Band, see Music: Fairfield Band
Farnsworth, P. J.
Letter by, regarding history of University Medicine Department, see medicine: History, 1900
Fees and tuition, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Fence, see Buildings and Grounds: Miscellaneous
Finance Committee, see Business and Finance: Finance Committee Reports
Finances, see Business and Finance
Fine Arts, see Art and Music
Letter of President MacLean concerning Fine Arts Department, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
January 18, 1905
January 15, 1903
February 21, 1903
Fires, see Buildings and Grounds: Fires, Insurance
Football: Coach, see Athletics
Forensic League
Paper regarding Forensic League, see Organizations
Forest Engineering
Letters concerning, see Engineering: Forestry (in file)
See also Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 21, 1907
Fourth of July celebration
Paper regarding use of University equipment of Fourth of July celebration, see Miscellaneous
Fraternities
Information on, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
December 21, 1907
March 19, 1903
December 14, 1907
French: Report
Report on chair of French Department, 1898, see also Languages: Modern
French medal, see Prizes: Tillinghast French Medal
G
Gas, see Buildings and Grounds: Gas and Electricity
General Assembly: Legislation
Papers relating to legislative matters on University, such as appropriations, see also General Assembly: Millage Tax
General Assembly: Millage Tax
Paper relating to legislative action on millage tax bill, 1890
See also letter of President MacLean to Regent Babb, under Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, February 4, 1904
General Assembly: Miscellaneous
Papers relating to political candidates
General Assembly: Petitions to
Papers presenting matters of University before legislature
General Assembly: Reports to, see Board of Regents: Reports
General Assembly: Visit to University
Paper relating to visit of General Assembly to University
Geological Survey
Letter from office of United States Geological Survey to Honorable A. F. Dawson, regarding Iowa as the laboratory for investigations. See Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, September 7, 1906
Geology Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Science Hall
Geology: Cabinet
Papers relating to the Geological and Mineral Cabinet
For needs, see Science: Natural Science -- Needs, 1875
Geology: Equipment
Papers relative to equipment in Geology
Geology: Laboratory, see Science: Equipment, 1878
Geology: Reports
Report of C. A. White, Professor of Geology, Zoology, and Botany, 1870
Report of Samuel Calvin, professor of Geology and Structural Zoology, 1883 – 1884, 1884 – 1885, 1885 – 1886
Report of Samuel Calvin, Professor of Geology, 1897 – 1898
For reports, see also Science (General): Reports
Geology, see also Science
German: Reports
Reports on the chair of German and Literature, 1895, 1897 – 1898
German
References to the chair of German may also be found under Languages: Modern
Giffen, W. W., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Gifts to the University, see Miscellaneous: Gifts
Gifts, see also Medicine: Hospital -- Gifts
Glass and Remley families, see Alumni: Reminiscences
Glee Club, see Music: Chorus Society and Glee Club
Governor of Iowa
Visit of, to University, see General Assembly Visit, March 22, 1904
Grade records, see Registrar’s Office: Grade Records
Graduate Club, see Organizations: Graduate Club
Graduate College
Papers relating to graduate appointments, fellows, scholars, report on the Graduate College
For Graduate College fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Graduate College: Dean
Letter concerning T. H. Macbride and Graduate College, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, October 29, 1907
See also Faculty: Macbride, T. H.
Letter concerning graduate work at the University, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 20, 1942
Letter by Laenas G. Weld on Graduate College, see under Liberal Arts: Dean, 1907, in Manuscript File
Grant Law library, see Libraries: Law (Grant Law Library)
Graphic Art, see Art
Greater University Committee, see University (General): Greater University
Greek
Requirements in other universities for the Bachelor of Arts degree, see Miscellaneous for items on universities of Missouri and Minnesota
Papers relating to the needs, and reports of the Chair of Greek.
See also Languages, Ancient
Greek: Report
Report on Greek classes, see Departments (General): Examining Committee, (1869?)
Greek: Requisite for degree
Letters from university presidents of Minnesota and Missouri regarding Greek as a requirement for the A.B. degree, see Miscellaneous
Grimes, James W.
Letters from, relating to University, see University (General) in file
Griswold College, see university (General)
Grounds and Buildings, see Buildings and Grounds
Gymnasium, see Physical Education
H
Haddock, William J., see Board of Regents: Secretary
Hamilton, John J., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Hammond Law Senate, see Organizations: Hammond Law Senate
Hammond Library, see Libraries: Law
Harlan, James
Letter to O. M. Spencer, see Presidents: Spencer
Hancher, Virgil M.
Speeches are in President’s Files, 1958 – 1959 and 1959 – 1960
Hawkeye (initially named Junior Annual), see Publications: Hawkeye
Hazing
Letter on hazing, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, October 7, 1904
Heating plant, see Buildings and Grounds: Heating Plant
Helmick, John M., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Herbarium, see botany: Herbarium
Herrick, Mrs., see Disinterment
Hesperian Society, see Literary Societies: Hesperian
High Schools
Applications of high schools for admission to accredited list are filed in President Schaeffer’s file
High School inspection, see Registrar’s Office: High School in section
An account of the work done in high school inspection, see also Education: Report on the Chair of Pedagogy, 1898
Hinrichs, Gustavus
Criticism against administration, see Administration: Criticism
Laboratory plans of, see Physical Science Laboratory: Plans
Physical laboratory accounts made by, see Physical Science Laboratory (MS file)
Report on the Physical Laboratory, see Physical Laboratory: Report, 1872
Statement of Gustavus Hinrichs on needs of Physical Laboratory, December 1, 1875, see Physical Laboratory: Needs, 1875
Reports on Chair of Physical Science, see Physical Science: Reports, 1875 – 1883
Statement of Gustavus Hinrichs to Committee on Library regarding list of books in the Physical Laboratory, June 12, 1879, see Physical Laboratory: Catalogue of Books, 1879
Histology
Reports on the Chair of Histology, 1892
Histology: Laboratory
Papers relating to the histology Laboratory, and to the Histology laboratory of the Medical Department filed under Medicine: Laboratories
Historical Monographs, see Publications: Historical Monographs
Historical Society of Iowa, see Libraries: State Historical Society
History Department: General
Papers pertaining to the needs and equipment requested by the chair of the History Department
History Department: Reports
Reports on the chair of the History Department
For reports on History Department classes, see also Greek: Reports, 1877, 1881 – 1882, and Greek: Needs, 1875
History Department: Research and Publication
Papers pertaining to the writing of historical monographs
Holmes, Etta Raymond, see Alumni: Reminiscences
Home Economics: General
Letter regarding opinion of President about this subject, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
May 6, 1907
June 3, 1907
Home Economics: History
Relating to movement for Home Economics in universities
Home Economics, see Presidents: Bowman
Homeopathic Department: Advertising
All papers relating to advertising the Homeopathic Medical Department are chronologically filed under Business and Finance: Advertising
Homeopathic Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Homeopathic Building
Homeopathic Medical Department, see Presidents: Bowman
Homeopathic Medical Department
Letter relating to Homeopathic surgeon, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, July 27, 1906
Letter relating to consolidation of medical colleges, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, July 17, 1905
Homeopathic Medical Department: Courses and Chairs
Papers pertaining directly to academic wants, and to specific courses in the department.
See also Homeopathic Needs, and Homeopathic Reports
Homeopathic Medical Department: Equipment, see Homeopathic Department: Miscellaneous
Homeopathic Medical Department: Establishment
Papers relating to the establishment of the Homeopathic Medical Department
Homeopathic Medical Department: Faculty Rooms
Papers pertaining to equipping rooms for Homeopathic faculty
Homeopathic Medical Department: Fees
One item regarding Homeopathic Medical Department fees is filed under Miscellaneous. All other fee-related papers are filed under Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Homeopathic Medical Department: Fees and Tuition
Papers relating to students in this department regarding fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition, Homeopathic
Homeopathic Medical Department: Gilchrist, Dr.
Statement with signatures of students regarding classes taught by Dr. Gilchrist, see Faculty: Gilchrist
Homeopathic Medical Department: Hospital
Papers relating to the administration of the Hospital
Reference to Hospital may be found in Homeopathic Reports and Homeopathic Needs
For reference to Hospital, see Homeopathic: Chairs and Courses, 1887
Homeopathic Medical Department: Miscellaneous
Papers include items on standards, a petition from homeopathic students, intern appointment
Homeopathic Medical Department: Needs
Papers reporting the needs of the department in any of its phases.
For wants in new courses, see also Homeopathic: Courses and Chairs
Homeopathic Medical Department: Reports by faculty
Includes special reports on the needs of the department, which are filed under Homeopathic: Needs
Homeopathic Medical Department: Reports by Regents’ committee
Reports by the committee of the Regents regarding the Homeopathic Medical Department
Homeopathic Building and Hospital, see Buildings and Grounds: Homeopathic Building and Hospital
Homeopathic Medical Department
See also Registrar’s Office: Enrollment (arranged chronologically)
Registrar’s Office: Degrees (includes Homeopathic doctors)
Homeopathic faculty material is interfiled with other departments under Faculty
Material regarding financial matters for this and all departments is filed under Business and Finance. Financial categories include appropriations, salaries, advertising, and fees.
Honorary degrees, see Registrar’s Office: Degrees (Honorary)
Hornaday Collection, see Museum: Hornaday Collection
Horr Collection, see Museum: Horr Collection
Hospital, see Medicine: Hospital
For Hospital buildings, see also Buildings and Grounds: Hospital
Hospital Buildings, see Buildings and Grounds: Hospitals, and Buildings and Grounds: Homeopathic Building and Hospital
Hospital investigation, see Medicine: Investigation
Houser, Gilber L., Professor of Animal Morphology and Physiology
Papers of, see Zoology
Housing service
Letter concerning housing service, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
July 12, 1904
March 16, 1908
Housing: Student Labor
One paper regarding student canvassers for boarding and lodging places and opportunities for student labor, see Miscellaneous, 1900
Howe, Mrs. Mary D., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Huggett, Percival, see University Examiner
Hughes, Dr. E. E. (in Manuscript File)
Iowa State Dental Society
President’s address
See College of Dentistry
Hygiene
Class lists of course in Hygiene taught by A. M. Klingenhagen
I
Income and Expenditures see Business and Finance: Accounts
Insurance of buildings, see Buildings and Grounds: Fire, Insurance
Intercollegiate Conference, see Athletics
Inventory, see Business and Finance: Miscellaneous
For an inventory of apparatus, see Departments (General)
Investigation, see Administration: Investigation
Iowa City Academy, see Miscellaneous
Iowa Collegiate Athletic Association, see Athletics
Iowa State Dental Society, see Dentistry: Miscellaneous
Iowa Transit, The, see Publications: Transit
Iowa Union
Agitation for an Iowa Union, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, March 6, 1908
Irving Institute, see literary Societies: Irving Institute
J
Janitors, see Buildings and Grounds: Janitors
Jameson, Charles D., Professor of Civil Engineering, see Engineering
Johnson, P. L., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Jones, J. Jr., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Jones, Mrs. Nyle W., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Junior Annual, see Publications: Hawkeye
K
Kasson, John A.
Letter regarding visit to University, see University (General): Kasson visit, 1896
Kelly, Alfred, see Alumni: Reminiscences
Keokuk Medical School, see Medicine: Keokuk Medical School
L
Laboratory building, sometimes name given to Zoology building, see Buildings and Grounds: Zoology Building
Laboratory fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition
Lamson, H., see Alumni: Reminiscences
Land, see Business and Finance: Land
Latin: Needs, Equipment, Reports
See also Languages, Ancient
Languages: Greek
Letter referring to the classical languages, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, July 21, 1906
Languages: Ancient
Papers pertaining to the Ancient Languages of Greek and Latin as a group
See also the individual departments
Languages, Ancient
For report on, see also Departments (General): Examining Committee Reports
Languages, Modern
For report, see also Departments (General): Examining Committee Equipment, 1878
Languages: Modern
Papers pertaining to the Modern Languages of French, Spanish and German as a group
See also the individual departments
Languages: Scandinavian
Relating to introduction of a Scandinavian chair in the University
Larrabee, Governor William, letter, see University (General)
Law: Admission
Papers relating to admission requirements for entrance to College of Law
Law: Advertising
Bills and papers related to advertising the Law Department, see Business and Finance: Advertising
Law: Attorney’s Oath
Copy of attorney’s oath, see Law: Miscellaneous
Law: bar Admission
Copy of act to regulate admission to practice as attorneys and counselors in the courts of this state, see Law: Miscellaneous
Letter of President MacLean concerning admission to bar, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, June 17, 1905
Law: Commencement
Paper regarding commencement speakers at Law graduation, see Commencements: Law
Law: Courses
Papers relating to the courses in the Law Department
For introduction of two-year plan, see Law: Report, 1890
Law: Degrees
Papers relating to the candidates for Law degrees, see Registrar’s Office: Degrees
Law: Enrollment
For data on students in any department, see Registrar’s Office, and Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition, and Law: Examining Committee Reports
Law: Faculty
Papers relating to members of the faculty of the Law Department
Reference to the recommendation of faculty appointments for the Law Department by members of the Law faculty, see Law: Courses, 1887 (letter of W. G. Hammond to Regents’ Law Committee)
Salary papers of faculty members, see Business and Finance: Salaries
Reference to candidacy of H. E. Deemer for Law Chancellorship, see Libraries: Library School -- Deemer, 1900
For biographical data on individual Law faculty members, see Faculty
Law: Fees and Tuition
Papers relating to students enrolled in Law Department
See also Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition -- Law
Law: Finances
Papers relating to the financial administration of all the departments, see Business and Administration and Accounts
Law: General
Letters concerning College of Law, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence:
June 27, 1903
July 25, 1904
August 20, 1904
Law: Hammond Law Senate, see Organizations: Hammond Law Senate
Law: History
Facts concerning the founding of the Law Department, see letter of John P. Irish under Medicine: History, May 12, 1905
Law: Library, see libraries: Law
Law: Needs
Papers presenting the needs of the Law Department: Salaries, Rooms, Repairs
Law: Organization
Papers relating to the organization of a Law Department, 1865 (with Photostat copies)
Law: Publication
Letter relating to the publication of a Law magazine
Law: Reports
Reports on the work of the Law Department:
1870
1874 -- 1875
1877 -- 1878
1883 – 1886
1890
1892
Reports include recommendations of the Committee on the Law Department
Reports of the Examining Committee (appointed by the Supreme Court to examine classes in law
Law: Tuition and Fees, see Business and Finance: Fees and Tuition -- Law
Law Building, see Buildings and Grounds: Law
Law Library, see Libraries: Law
Law Loan Library and Law Loan Fund, see Libraries: Law
Law suits involving the University, see Business and Finance: Claims and Law Suits
Lectures
Paper regarding a lecture bureau, see Miscellaneous
Legislation on University matters, see General Assembly: Legislation
Lectures: University
Papers on a lecture given by Dr. Guthrie on Eugenics at request of Mrs. Huntington Wilson who offered $100.00 honorarium
Letters, School of
Papers relating to the School of Letters
The Collegiate Department was divided into the School of Letters and the School of Science
Liberal Arts
For coordination of Credits of Liberal Arts with College of Medicine, see presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, July 26, 1904
Liberal Arts College
Letter concerning the Liberal Arts College, see Presidents: MacLean – Correspondence, February 8, 1905
Liberal Arts: Collegiate Department
For organization of the Collegiate Department, see also Departments (General): Organization
Reports regarding Liberal Arts instruction, see also Departments (General): Examining Committee – Reports
Liberal Arts: Collegiate Department
Reports by the faculty and by the committee on the Collegiate (or Academical) Department, regarding professors, needs, and work in the department
See also Departments (General)
Liberal Arts Hall, see Buildings and Grounds: Schaeffer Hall
Libraries: Binding
Papers relating to the binding of books
Libraries: Books and Periodicals
Papers relating to the pur