Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Papers of Thomas H. Macbride
RG 05.01.08
Collection Dates: 1845-1954; bulk, 1914-1916
8.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University Archives by the family of Thomas H. Macbride in 1964, and by his grandson, T.H. Macbride, in 1979. Guide posted to the Internet October 2000; updated December 2006.

Photographs:

Thomas H. Macbride
Thomas H. Macbride,
tenth president
of the State University of Iowa


Scope and Contents

The papers of Thomas H. Macbride consist of approximately eight linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1845 to 1954. They are organized alphabetically by format of material, and then chronologically within each format. They document his career as a professor and president of the University of Iowa from 1914 to 1916.

Included are letters from: Paul Bartsch, Charles E. Bessey, W.R. Boyd, Jay N. Darling, Harvey Ingham, Laurence C. Jones, Frank O. Lowden, G.W. Martin, Louis H. Pammel, Gifford Pinchot, Carl E. Seashore, Fred J. Seaver, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Bertha M.H. Shambaugh, Bohumil Shimek, John Springer, and Robert B. Wylie.

Macbride's work as botanist is reflected in items such as speeches and lectures he delivered, articles he wrote, notebooks he kept, and his Iowa Lakeside Laboratory research. Also included are diaries and newspaper clippings which show his connections with University of Iowa Archives; Philip D. Macbride Papers, University of Washington; and the Nineteenth Century Club and Raphael Club records, State Historical Society of Iowa.

Other family members are represented in the Macbride papers, such as Harriet D. Macbride's diaries and notebooks, and Jean Macbride's compositions.


Biographical Note

Thomas Huston Macbride served as the tenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1914 to 1916.

Though he was president of the university for only two years, Macbride served the campus for more than a half-century as a scholar, conservationist, and administrator. The building that bears his name was constructed in 1904 as the Hall of Natural Science and was renamed in his honor in 1934.

Macbride received the Bachelor of Arts and, in 1873, the Master of Arts degrees from Monmouth College in Illinois. He joined the University of Iowa in 1878, becoming a professor of botany in 1883. In 1902, he was made head of the Department of Botany and served as secretary of the faculty from 1887 to 1893.

His love for the outdoors and its preservation inspired him to become the first president of the Iowa Park and Forestry Association, organized in 1901. He founded the Lakeside Laboratory at Lake Okoboji in northwest Iowa and promoted the development of state parks, including the lake and park that bear his name in Johnson County, north of Iowa City.

Macbride was born in Rogersville, Tennessee, on July 31, 1848. He married Harriet Diffenderfer on December 31, 1875, and they had four children. He died in Seattle, Washington, on March 27, 1934, at age 85.

[D. McCartney; 12/2006]


Related Materials

Conklin, Mary Winifred. "The History of the State University of Iowa: Thomas Huston Macbride." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1945. 119 pp. Main; Archives

Conard, Rebecca. Places of Quiet Beauty: Parks, Preserves, and Environmentalism. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1997. 382 pp., illus., map, tables, notes, bibliog. Includes Thomas H. Macbride and Bohumil Shimek.

Gallaher, Ruth A., Robert B. Wylie, and Thomas H. Macbride. "Thomas Huston Macbride." Palimpsest 15 (May 1934): 161-192, illus. Main.

Schertz, Mary Winifred Conklin, and Walter L. Myers. Thomas Huston Macbride. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947. 77 pp., illus. Main; Iowa Authors; Archives

Shimek, B. "Thomas Huston Macbride." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings 41 (1934): 33-37, illus. Main.



Box Contents List

Box 1 Address books -- Series II: Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, May 1874

Box 2 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, July 1874 -- 1892

Box 3 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, January 1893 -- 1904

Box 4 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, 1905 -- March 1911

Box 5 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, April 1911 -- 1913

Box 6 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, January 1914 -- 1924

Box 7 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, 1925 -- 1931

Box 8 Correspondence of T.H. Macbride, 1932 -- Correspondence of Macbride family, 1870 -- 1889

Box 9 Correspondence of Macbride family, 1890 -- Dayton, C.H.

Box 10 Diaries of Harriet D. Macbride, 1876 -- Thomas H. Macbride, 1917

Box 11 Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride, 1918 -- Journals of Harriet D. Macbride

Box 12 Journals of Harriet D. Macbride -- New Year's cards, 1931 -- 1934

Box 13 Newspaper clippings -- Philosophy of education, 1887 -- 1932

Box 14 Poetry notebook -- Reprints of articles by Thomas H. Macbride, A -- O

Box 15 Reprints of articles by T.H. Macbride, P -- Z -- Zoological notebook

Unboxed Letters of appreciation -- Scrapbooks of letters

 Box 1

Address books

Botany notebooks, 1879

Compositions written in school by Jean Macbride

Conservation

Convocation notes, 1914

Correspondence of T.H. Macbride

1869, 1871

1872

1873

January -- May 1874

Box 2

Correspondence of T.H. Macbride cont.

July -- December 1874

January -- February 1875

March -- December 1875

1876 -- 1879, including letters from Samuel Calvin and W.O. Currier

1880 -- 1884

1885

1886 -- 1889

1890 -- 1892

 

Box 3

Correspondence of T.H. Macbride cont.

January 1893

February -- November 1893 and undated

1894 -- 1897

1898, including letters from J.C. Arthur, Charles E. Bessey, Samuel Calvin, and Gifford Pinchot

1899, including letters from Gifford Pinchot, W. B. Allison, C.M. Waterman, Frank O. Lowden,

G.S. Schaeffer, and L.H. Pammel

1900 -- 1901, including letters from Gifford Pinchot, C.M. Waterman, and Frank O. Lowden

1902 -- 1904, including letters from Robert B. Wylie and L.H. Pammel

 

Box 4

Correspondence of T.H. Macbride cont.

1905 -- 1907, including letters from George E. MacLean, Nathan R. Leonard, Charles R. Leonard,

and Horace E. Deemer

1908 -- 1909, including letters from Nathan R. Leonard, Robert B. Wylie, W. Anderson, and Henry

Sabin

January -- August 1910, including letters from George E. MacLean

September -- December 1910, including letters from George E. MacLean, Charles E. Bessey, L.H.

Pammel, Luther A. Brewer, Gifford Pinchot, and Benjamin F. Shambaugh

January -- February 1911, including letters from L.H. Pammel, Robert Hunter, Eli C. Perkins, Leslie

E. Francis, George W. Koontz, C.E. Pickett, W.O. Finkbine, and J.C. Arthur

March 1911, including letters from Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Gifford Pinchot, George W. Koontz,

and Charles E. Bessey

 

Box 5

Correspondence of T.H. Macbride cont.

April 1911, including letters from Frank O. Lowden

May 1911, including letters from L.H. Pammel

June -- September 1911, including letters from Robert Hunter, W.O. Finkbine, George E.

MacLean, William J. McChesney, Bohumil Shimek, Charles E. Bessey, and J.B.

Weaver

October -- December 1911, including letters from J.C. Arthur, Charles E. Bessey, Forest C.

Ensign, and Robert B. Wylie

Undated, ca. 1911

January -- April 1912, including letters from L.H. Pammel, J.C. Arthur, W.R. Boyd, and Charles E.

Bessey

May -- December 1912, including letters from Edgar R. Harlan, J.B. Weaver, L.H. Pammel, Robert

B. Wylie, Bohumil Shimek, Charles E. Bessey, Frederic Larrabee, Benjamin F.

Shambaugh, Frank C. Pellett, Anna M. Klinenhagen, and Frank O. Lowden

1913, including letters from John G. Bowman, Bohumil Shimek, Robert B. Wylie, H.O. Bernbrock,

Laurence C. Jones, Launcelot W. Andrews, W.O. Finkbine, Charles E. Bessey, G.W.

Clarke, L.H. Pammel, and William S. Kenyon

 

Box 6

Correspondence of T.H. Macbride cont.

January -- April 1914, including letters from Frank O. Lowden, L.B. Weaver, Robert Hunter, L.H.

Pammel, and Benjamin F. Shambaugh

May -- November 1914, including letters from Charles Bundy Wilson, Charles E. Bessey, Bohumil

Shimek, and Launcelot W. Andrews

1915 -- 1919, including letters from William H. Taft, Charles Bundy Wilson, G. W. Clarke, W.R.

Boyd, J.R. Weaver, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Edgar R. Harlan, Walter A. Jessup,

W.J. McChesney, George W. Patrick, Robert B. Wylie, W. O. Finkbine, L. H.

Pammel, John Springer, and Gifford Pinchot

1920 -- 1921, including letters from Gifford Pinchot, Walter A. Jessup, Carl E. Seashore, Bohumil

Shimek, Robert B. Wylie, L. H. Pammel, Launcelot W. Andrews, Edgar R. Harlan, W.

O. Finkbine, Paul Bartsch, Harvey Ingham, E.T. Meredith, and W.R. Boyd

1922, including letters from Robert B. Wylie, Edwin L. Sabin, John W. Kime, L. H. Pammel, and

Walter A. Jessup

1923 -- 1924, including letters from John W. Kime, Gifford Pinchot, Forest C. Ensign, Laurence C.

Jones, Robert B. Wylie, L. H. Pammel, Ada Knight Terrell, Carl E. Seashore, Harvey

Ingham, John P. Irish, W.R. Boyd, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Jay N. Darling, and

George F. Kay

Box 7

Correspondence of T. H. Macbride cont.

1925 -- 1926, including letters from Walter A. Jessup, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, W.R. Boyd, Jay

N. Darling, Carrie Chapman Catt, John Hammill, George W. Patrick, Carl E.

Seashore, George W. Martin, and Bohumil Shimek

Folder 2: 1927, including letters from Bohumil Shimek, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Evelyn Schuyler

Schaeffer, L. H. Pammel, Bertha M. H. Shambaugh, Walter A. Jessup, Charles

Bundy Wilson, Robert Hunter, Robert B. Wylie, Carl E. Seashore, George E.

MacLean, and Forest C. Ensign

1928, including letters from Walter A. Jessup, Carl E. Seashore, Laurence C. Jones, Robert B.

Wylie, L. H. Pammel, George W. Martin, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, and Charles

Bundy Wilson

1929, including letters from Carl E. Seashore, George W. Martin, Benjamin F. Shambaugh,

George F. Kay, Walter A. Jessup, John Hammill, L. H. Pammel, Robert B. Wylie,

Gifford Pinchot, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, and Frank O. Lowden

1930, including letters from George W. Martin, Carl E. Seashore, W. O. Finkbine, Forest C.

Ensign, Walter A. Jessup, John Hammill, L. H. Pammel, Robert B. Wylie, Gifford

Pinchot, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, and Frank O. Lowden

1931, including letters from Harvey Ingham, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, George E. MacLean,

Forest C. Ensign, Bohumil Shimek, Charles H. Mayo, and Walter A. Jessup

Box 8

Correspondence of T. H. Macbride cont.

1932, including letters from George W. Martin, Paul Bartsch, Bohumil Shimek, and Walter A.

Jessup

1933, including letters from Robert B. Wylie, Walter A. Jessup, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Edgar

R. Harlan, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, J. B. Weaver, Harvey Ingham, Laurence C.

Jones, and Bertha M. H. Shambaugh

1934 -- 1954, including letters from George W. Martin, Robert B. Wylie, and Harvey Ingham

Undated, including letters from Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, Bertha M. H. Shambaugh, and Robert

B. Wylie

Undated

Undated

Correspondence of the Macbride family

1870 -- 1887

1888 -- 1889

Box 9

Correspondence of the Macbride family cont.

1890 -- 1891

1892 -- 1895

1896 -- 1927, including letters from Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, Alice French, and Bertha M. H.

Shambaugh

Undated, including letters from Charles A. Schaeffer and Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer

Undated

Day Book, 1930 -- 1931

Dayton, C. H., Laboratory journal, Conchology: Notes of Observations and Experiments made in the

Laboratories. S.U.I., 1882, by James Lee, a student of T. H. Macbride

Box 10

Diaries of Harriet D. Macbride

1876, 1885

1888, 1891

1894, 1922

Diary of J. B. Macbride, 1845, father of T.H. Macbride

Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride

1869 -- 1899

1903 -- 1908

1909 -- 1917

Box 11

Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride cont.

1918 -- 1927 and undated

Emerson and the Lyceum and chautauqua, 7 documents with no photographs, 1940

Essays, 3 folders

Grade Books 1872 -- 1877

Harriet D. Macbride. Ancestry 1897 -- 1910, including "Some of the Descendants of John Michael Dubendorf,

1695 -- 1778, 1897 -- 1910," by Frank Ried Diffenderffer

Manuscript notes of In Cabins and Sod-houses

Journals of Harriet D. Macbride, undated

Box 12

Journals. Harriet D. Macbride, undated

Leather pouch. T.H. Macbride, Monmouth College, Illinois

Lectures and lecture notes, 2 folders

Map of Iowa Lakeside Laboratory region, as a blueprint

Miscellaneous

1863 -- 1933

Undated

Miscellaneous programs and invitations, 1874 -- 1933, to such events as a dinner to honor the new women's

gymnasium in 1915, the opening of the first state park in Iowa in 1920, a 1922 luncheon to honor

alumni explorers, and a brief history of Delta Tau Delta dated 1927 -- 1928, among others.

New Year’s cards from Macbride with photographs of trees, 1931 -- 1934

Box 13

Newspaper clippings

Appointment of T.H. Macbride to University of Iowa presidency, 1914

Book reviews, 1914 -- 1929 and undated

Lake Macbride State Park, 1934

Macbride’s death, 1934

Miscellaneous, 1870 -- 1934 and undated

Our Native Trees, a series of articles by Macbride

Nineteenth Century Club

1883 -- 1901

1901 -- 1923

Notebooks, Harriet D. Macbride, two folders

Notes on religion

Philosophy of education, 1887 -- 1932

Box 14

Poetry notebook

Presidential journal, 1914 -- 1915

Raphael Club

1883 -- 1908

1908 -- 1922

Reprints of articles by T.H. Macbride

A -- N

O

Box 15

Reprints of articles by T.H. Macbride cont.

P -- Z

Speeches

1882 -- 1912 and undated

Undated

Translations of Heinrich Heine by Macbride in 2 folders, and letter concerning them from T.M. Coan, 1892

Tributes to T.H. Macbride, 1908 -- 1935 (includes Thirty years in the State University; a tribute to Thomas Huston Macbride, 1908)

Zoological notebook

Unboxed

Bound volume of letters of appreciation, 1912

Three scrapbooks containing letters, 1892 -- 1928