
|
Athletics Video Collection Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007. Photographs: |
|
Box Contents List
Collection of VHS-format videotapes of football, basketball and other intercollegiate sports. Contact Special Collections staff about obtaining copies.
Box 1
NCAA championship basketball game, Iowa vs. San Francisco Dons, March 23, 1956. Silent, b/w. (Dons' center was Bill Russell).
Drake vs. Iowa, December 30, 1977. Silent, color. Total time 61 min. (Drake game film breaks up half-way through)
1979-1980 Iowa Basketball Highlights, including NCAA Final Four, Fieldhouse celebration, and Ronnie Lester. Sound, color. 9 min.
1947-1948 Iowa Basketball Season Highlights, released Spring 1948. Silent, b/w. 32 min. (Image reversed in portions)
1955-1956 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Nebraska, December 3, 1955; Iowa vs. Minnesota, January 14, 1956. Silent, b/w. Total time 63 min.
1969-1970 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Drake; Iowa vs. Purdue; Iowa vs. Indiana (first halves only). Silent, b/w. Total time 92 min.
1969-1970 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Minnesota; Iowa vs. Wisconsin; Iowa vs. Michigan State; Iowa vs. Northwestern (first halves only). Silent, b/w. Total time 90 min.
1969-1970 Iowa Basketball Season Highlights, released Spring 1970. Silent, color. 18 min.
1954-1955 Iowa Basketball Season Recap and Practice, released Spring 1955. Narrated by Coach Bucky O'Connor. Sound, b/w. 21 min. (Two copies)
Iowa Basketball Tribute to Don Nelson, released Spring 1962. 1961-1962 season. Sound, b/w. 20 min.
1967-1968 Iowa Basketball Recruiting Film. Sound, b/w. 24 min.
1962-1963 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Arizona. Silent, b/w. 33 min.
1955-1956 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Purdue. Silent, b/w. 33 min.
Iowa Basketball Tribute, "The Hustlin' Hawks of 1960-61", released Spring 1961. Silent, b/w. 23 min.
1966-1967 Iowa Basketball Tribute "Basketball Ralph Miller Style", released Spring 1967. Includes campus, classroom scenes at beginning (Old Capitol, College of Pharmacy, Iowa Memorial Union). Silent, b/w. 21 min.
1974-1975 Iowa Basketball Highlights, released March 11, 1975. Includes Iowa City and campus scenes. Silent, color. 35 min.
Box 2
"Fame of the Black and Gold" (released 1949). Sound, b/w. 11 min. Historical football game footage, including: 1921 (vs. Indiana; Duke Slater), 1948 (vs. Wisconsin, Minnesota), 1923, 1933 (vs. Northwestern), 1934 (vs. Northwestern; Ozzie Simmons), 1935 (vs. Illinois), 1939 (vs. Indiana, Notre Dame; Nile Kinnick), 1940 (vs. Notre Dame), 1942, 1945 (vs. Minnesota), 1946 (vs. Purdue), 1947 (vs. Indiana), 1949 (practice; Coach Eddie Anderson talking with visitors near Field House). Also available in Media Services as DVD.
"Iowa's Nile Kinnick" (released 1944). Sound, color. 12 min. Includes footage of victory rally at Old Capitol after 1939 Minnesota game; President Eugene Gilmore, Coach Eddie Anderson.
Football, Purdue at Iowa, November 6, 1954. UCLA at Iowa, September 22, 1973. Silent, b/w. 67 min.
----. Minnesota at Iowa, November 18, 1939. Iowa at Notre Dame, November 16, 1940. Silent, b/w. 66 min.
----. Oregon State at Iowa, October 6, 1956. Rose Bowl, vs. Oregon State, January 1, 1957. Silent, color. 78 min. Includes campus scenes, fans in stands, marching band, Scottish Highlanders.
----. Iowa at Nebraska, October 14, 1934. Silent, b/w. Purdue at Iowa, September 28, 1946. Silent, color. 54 min.
----. Penn State at Iowa, September 25, 1971. Iowa at Penn State, September 30, 1972. Silent, b/w. 74 min.