Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

June Helm Papers
RG 99.0018
Collection Dates: 1941-2002
1.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Pierce King in July 2004. Guide created by Denise Anderson, August 2007.

Photographs:

Portrait of June Helm, University of Iowa Dept. of Anthropology, 1985.

June Helm, 1985


Scope and Contents

These papers relate to the professional research and teaching of professor June Helm while on the faculty of the University of Iowa between 1960 and 1999.  Series include professional correspondence, speeches, biographical material, awards, drafts, an unpublished manuscript, manuscript notes, reviews, and committee work.  These papers are not organized within series.  A collection inventory in box one, folder one, provides additional detail.


Biographical Note

June Helm was born in Twin Falls, Idaho, September 13, 1924.  Her family moved to Kansas when she was six years old.  She attended the University of Kansas City, and transferred to the University of Chicago, earning her Ph.B. in 1944, M.A. in 1949, and Ph.D. in 1958.  She married Richard MacNeish in 1945, and the couple moved to Ottawa, Canada in 1949.  Her research there along the Mackenzie River became the basis of her Ph.D. thesis from the University of Chicago.

Ms. Helm joined the faculty at the University of Iowa in 1960 as assistant professor of Sociology and Anthropology, and was promoted to full professor in 1966.  Ms. Helm worked to establish the Department of Anthropology at the University of Iowa in 1969.  She married Pierce King in 1968.  She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in March 1994.  At the time of this award, Ms. Helm was head of American Indian and Native Studies at the University of Iowa.  She retired in 1999.  June Helm died February 5, 2004.

 


Related Materials

Folder, "Helm, June," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Department of Anthropology and Archaeology (RG06.06.01)

Records of the Department of Geoscience (RG06.15)

Marshall B. McKusick Papers (RG99.028)

Papers of Vilhjalmur Stefansson (RG99.0013)



Box Contents List

Box 1


Collection inventory

Correspondence

Box 2

Correspondence (regarding Vilhjalmur Stefansson biography, folder 22)

Speeches


University of Iowa Presidential Lecture, February 3, 1987

University of Iowa convocation, May 16, 1985

American Academy of Arts and Sciences, president's address, 1985


Biographical

Iowa Alumni Quarterly, Fall 1996

Education

Employment


Awards

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow, March 9, 1994

Faculty Excellence, July 18, 1995

Appointment as F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, 1996

June Helm Award for Service and Excellence in Anthropology, 2000


Box 3

Drafts

Manuscript, "Woman," unpublished

Manuscript notes, International Conference on Hunter-Gatherers

Reviews

Committee work, Centennial Executive and Advisory Committee, 2002