Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

George Frederick Kay Papers
RG99.0086
Collection Dates: 1903-1939
30 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Geological Survey Bureau in 1998. Guide created by Denise Anderson, September 2007.

Photographs:

George F. Kay, 1925

George F. Kay, 1925


Scope and Contents

This collection includes the professional correspondence and field notes of George F. Kay while serving as state geologist for Iowa, 1911-1934, and as professor and head of the University of Iowa Geology Department, beginning in 1907.  Speeches and offprints of articles are also included.


Biographical Note

George Frederick Kay was born in Ontario, Canada, on September 14, 1873.  Mr. Kay served as principal of public schools in Zephyr, Ontario from 1892-1894.  He graduated from Owen Sound Collegiate Institute in 1896.  He took his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Toronto in 1900 and 1902.  Kay married Bethea Hopper on December 26, 1902, and they had three children: George Marshall (1904), Marjorie (1907), and Calvin (1912).

While living in Ontario, Kay was a geologist for the Canadian government.  He was assistant professor of geology at the University of Kansas, 1904-1907, before joining the faculty at the State University of Iowa as full professor of geology in 1907.  Kay was promoted to head of the department in 1911 and served as geologist for the state of Iowa, 1911-1934.  He took his Ph.D. at the University of Chicago in 1914.  Kay was considered an authority on the glacial history of Iowa, and the Pleistocene Epoch in particular.  In 1917 he was named dean of the College of Liberal Arts, a position he held until his retirement on September 1, 1941.  George F. Kay died July 19, 1943.

 


Related Materials

Folder, "Kay, George Frederick. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Prior, Jean C. "The State Geological Survey of Iowa." In The State Geological Surveys: A History, edited by Arthur A. Socolow, pp. 134-145, illus., notes. n.p.: Association of American State Geologists, 1988.


Samuel Calvin Papers (RG99.0083)



Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


1908 -- 1910

1906 -- 1911

1919 -- 1920


Box 2

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


E -- Z, 1913

A -- R, 1915


Checking account statements, 1927 -- 1929


Box 3

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


1914

A -- O, 1912

A -- J, 1914


Box 4

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


1922 -- 1923

S -- Z, 1915

A -- H, 1916


Correspondence, George Marshall Kay (son of George Frederick Kay), 1923 -- 1925

Box 5

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


July 1920 -- March 1921

March -- November 1921

January -- September 1917


Box 6

Maps and field notes, Iowa Geological Survey


Folders 1 -- 9

Box 7

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


B -- L, 1918 -- 1919

1919 -- 1920

1907 -- 1911


Box 8

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


K -- Z, 1916

1903, 1924 -- 1926

1922


Box 9

Correspondence, Iowa Geological Survey


Folders 10 -- 26

Box 10

Correspondence


A -- M, 1930 -- 1934


Box 11

Correspondence


A -- N, through folder 24, 1925 -- 1930


Box 12

Correspondence


A -- Z, 1930 -- 1934


Box 13

Field notes


Folders 36 -- 42


Box 14

Field notes


Folders 43, 44, 51, 54, 58


Box 15

Field notes


Folders A, B, C, 59, 60


Box 16

Correspondence, O -- Z, 1930 -- 1934}

Field notes, folders 25 -- 43

Miscellaneous

Box 17

Correspondence


1911 -- 1913

1922

1924 -- 1925


Box 18

Field notes, folders 10 -- 15, 17 -- 19

Box 19

Field notes, folders 27 -- 35

Box 20


Offprints

Speeches and radio addresses

Box 21

Field notes, folders 55, 57