Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Arthur C. Trowbridge Papers
RG 99.0089
Collection Dates: 1873-1970
12.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Geology in May 1998. Guide created in September 2008.

Photographs: Box 1 ; Box 3; Box 4; Box 7; Box 8; Box 9

Arthur C. Trowbridge, March 15, 1963

Arthur C. Trowbridge, March 15, 1963


Scope and Contents

These papers reflect the professional career of professor Arthur C. Trowbridge.  They include field notes dated 1912 to 1947 written by Trowbridge and others while working with the U.S. Geological Survey Bureau.  The collection also includes Trowbridge's writings, professional correspondence, University of Iowa course instruction, maps, photographs of geological formations, and committee work.  Materials are arranged in chronological and alphabetical order.  Correspondence includes letters to and from Trowbridge under the name of the correspondent.  General correspondence organized by year follows correspondence organized alphabetically.


Biographical Note

Arthur Carleton Trowbridge was born March 4, 1885, in Glasgow, Missouri.  He received his B.S. degree in geology at the University of Chicago in 1907 and his Ph.D. there in 1911.   While enrolled at the University of Chicago, he was in charge of the university geology laboratory.

 

Trowbridge joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in July 1911.  He taught general geology courses and introduced summer field courses and laboratory methods to the curriculum.  To aid in teaching the geology laboratory courses, Trowbridge and Rollin Salisbury published three manuals in 1912 and 1913.  His areas of research were physiography and glacial geology.  Later his focus was on stratigraphy and sedimentation.  He wrote numerous research papers about the driftless area of the Upper Mississippi Valley.

 

In 1922 Trowbridge worked with the U.S. Engineer Corps of the War Department to study sediment deposition problems on the Mississippi Delta.  From 1928 to 1930 he made geographical surveys which were used to determine locations for navigation locks and dams on the Mississippi River.  In 1925 and 1926 Trowbridge worked as a consultant for the Turkish Petroleum Company of London in an international effort to survey Iraq.  During the early 1930s he consulted with various petroleum companies in efforts to locate oil fields.  

 

Trowbridge was named head of the department, as well as director of the Iowa Geological Survey and geologist for the state of Iowa in 1934, succeeding George F. Kay.  He resigned from the Geological Survey in 1947 in order to devote time to teaching and administrative duties.  He retired from the State University of Iowa in June 1952.  Trowbridge continued to teach part time until 1965.  He worked as a consultant for Gulf Research and Development Company in Houston from 1952 to 1955.  Trowbridge received the Neil A. Miner award from the National Association of Geology Teachers in 1960 and was awarded the L.H.D. from Augustana College in 1963.

 

During World War I, Trowbridge was granted a military leave from the University. He served as educational director for the U.S. Army YMCA at Camp Dodge from 1917 to 1918 and at the New York City YMCA from 1918 to 1919.  During World War II, Trowbridge and Professor Arthur K. Miller conducted geology classes while other geology professors served in the military.

 

Trowbridge married Sue Estelle Bussey in August 1911 and had two children, Charles Lambert and Carolyn Frances.  Sue B. Trowbridge died March 28, 1968.  Arthur C. Trowbridge died November 16, 1971.  The Dental Science building was renamed Trowbridge Hall in 1973 when the Department of Geology occupied the building.

 


Related Materials

Folder, "Trowbridge, Arthur C.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

George F. Kay Papers (RG99.0086)


Frank A. Wilder Papers (RG 99.0090)

Samuel Calvin Papers (RG 99.0083)

 

Salisbury, Rollin D. and Arthur C. Trowbridge. The interpretation of topographic maps; a laboratory manual for use in connection with the topographic maps of the United States Geological survey. To accompany beginning courses in physiography. New York: H. Holt and Company, 1912.

 

Salisbury, Rollin D. and Arthur C. Trowbridge. Studies in geology; a laboratory manual based on topographic maps and folios of the United States Geological survey, for use with classes in physiographic and structural geology. New York: H. Holt and Company, 1912.

 

Salisbury, Rollin D. and Arthur C. Trowbridge. Laboratory exercises in structural and historical geology; a laboratory manual based on folios of the United States geological survey; for use with classes in structural and historical geology. New York: H. Holt and Company, 1913.

Trowbridge, Arthur Carleton. "Tertiary and Quaternary Geology of the Lower Rio Grande Region, Texas." U.S. Geological Survey Bulletin, Report: B 0837(1932): 260 pp.



Box Contents List

Box 1

Maps


Field work

Iron ore areas of Cherokee County, Texas, 1889

South Texas soil map used by G. C. Matson, 1912

Progressive military map of the U.S. Southern Department, for Rio Grande survey in 1919-1920

Illinois soil stratification, 1943

Illinois Geological Survey log of Dubuque Star Brewing Company well, 1933

Maps, photographs, correspondence, 1944

New England


Maine, Katahdin Quadrangle, 1944

New Hampshire-Maine, Gorham Quadrangle, 1942

New Hampshire-Maine, North Conway Quadrangle, 1945

Vermont-New Hampshire, Littleton Quadrangle, 1940

New Hampshire, Crawford Notch Sheet, 1946

New hampshire, Franconia Quadrangle, 1941

New Hampshire, Moosilauke Quadrangle, 1943

New Hampshire, Mt. Washington Quadrangle, 1943

New Hampshire, Whitefield Quadrangle, 1946

New York, Lake Placid Sheet, 1946

New York, Gilboa Quadrangle, 1945

New York, Mt. Marcy Quadrangle, 1946

New York, Elizabethtown Quadrangle, 1947

New York, Ausable Quadrangle, 1946


Driftless area


Drift sheets of Iowa, 1955

Iowa-Illinois, Lancaster Quadrangle, 1908

Iowa-Illinois, Peosta Quadrangle, 1901

Iowa-Wisconsin, Elkader Quadrangle, 1902

Iowa-Wisconsin, Waukon Quadrangle, 1903

Wisconsin, Gays Mills Quadrangle, 1926

Wisconsin, Viroqua Quadrangle, 1926


Illinois State Geological Survey, 1966-1968

Northeast Iowa

Southeast Iowa and Davenport, 1962

 

Box 2

Maps, cont.


Drift sheets of Iowa, 17 x 24

[Preliminary Map of the Glacial Geology of Iowa] Iowa Geological Survey, 1952, 11 x 18

[Drift Sheets of Iowa: Unpublished and Unofficial] 10 x 16

Texas


Transparency sheets


Northern Illinois, 12 x 15

Driftless region, 8 x 9.5


Blueprints


[Board of Commissioners Port of New Orleans, Louisiana, Inner Harbor Navigation Canal, Boring at Lake End] September 10, 1920

Texas


Uvalde Quadrangle, 1908

Zavala County, 1915


Bridge data and blueprints, 1929


Keithsburg, Illinois, bridge

Burlington, Iowa


Blueprints of High Street Bridge and main piers 2-5

Corps of Engineers blueprint of Upper Mississippi River improvement


Railroad bridge


Louisiana, Missouri, blueprints of bridge over Mississippi River

Hannibal, Missouri, railroad bridge

Alton, Illinois, bridge

Cape Girardeau, Missouri, bridge

Dubuque, Iowa, railroad bridge

Fort Madison, Iowa, railroad bridge

Quincy, Illinois


Railroad bridge

Quincy Memorial Bridge


Map housed in map case


U.S. Geological Survey Reconnaissance Erosion Survey Map of Iowa, 1934, 36 x 46


Box 3

Sample from peat and muck bed of Thayer pit in Iowa.  From Cornelia Cameron, 1964.

Field notes


G. C. Matson in south Texas, 1912

T. Wayland Vaughan on south Texas, 1913

G. H. Ashley on Santo Tomas coalfield, August 8, 1917

A. G. Maddren on Rio Grande, Book 1, June 5-July 12, 1919; Book 2, July 14-September 1, 1919


A. C. Trowbridge on Rio Grande, Book 1, June 3-July 18, 1919; Book 2, July 7-August 30, 1919

A. C. Trowbridge on Rio Grande, Book 3, June 25-July 31, 1919; Book 4, August 1-September2, 1919

Lloyd North on Rio Grande, Book 1, June 26-August 3, 1920; Book 2, August 4-31, 1920

W. S. Glock on Rio Grande, Book 1, June 29-August 2, 1920; Book 2, August 3-September 1, 1920

A. C. Trowbridge on Texas and New Orleans, Book 5, July 13-August 9, 1921

July 1922

August 1922

A. C. Trowbridge, 1924

August 1927

September 1927

V. E. Briard, July 1929

August 1929

A. C. Trowbridge, 1929

1930

August-September 1930

August 1931

August-September 1932

W. H. Bussey, includes two photographs, July-August 1933

June 1934

February 1935

June 1946

Whitefield, New Hampshire, July-August 1947


Record of salaries and expenses, May 1919-August 1921


Box 4

Recommendations


1955-1960

1960-1961

1961-1963

1966-1967

1967-1969


Instruction


State University of Iowa


Pleistocene course


1951-1952

1956


Geology course no. 106, 1957

Seashore, C. E.  Comments on the Plan for Sectioning Classes on the Basis of Ability.  1922

Geology enrollment statistics


1920-1930, 1954-1959, 1962-1964

1954-1959


Distinguished alumni noted


1964-1966

1955-1968


Geology scholarship funds


Littlefield fund, 1967

Iowa Geology fund, 1968


Department records


1960-1961

1961-1962

1962-1963

1963-1964

1963-1966

1964-1965

1962-1967

1967-1968

1968-1969

1969-1970


Geology faculty and staff biographical notes, 1967

Lectures

Periodicals purchased, 1960-1963

USGS exam questions regarding geologic map interpretation, 1960-1961

Geology test questions, 1933

Iowa Geological Survey information sheets


"Rocks and Minerals of Iowa"

"Fossil Collecting Areas in Iowa"

"Geodes"


U.S. state geologists and their duties, 1965-1966

Pleistocene field trip to southeast Iowa locations, 1949

Geology Club field trip to Devil's Lake State Park, Wisconsin, 1959

Personal opinions of Professor Trowbridge, 1957, 1959


Southern Illinois University, 1955-1957

Speeches


Sigma Xi, November 1940

"Are Glaciers Rivers of Ice?," November 1945

"Pleistocene Problems in Iowa," to A.A.A.S., January 1946

Scandinavia, to Kiwanis Club, August 1946

"Notes on Danish and Swedish Glaciology," GSA in Chicago, December 1946

"Deglaciation in the Rondane Area, Norway," December 1946

"Recent Studies in Glacial Geology," to Sigma Xi, December 1949

"Multiple Pleistocene Glaciation," Rice Institute seminar, May 1955

Burlington, October 1957

Saint Paul, April 1958

Geology Club


Research Club


1945

1948

1951


Reviews by Trowbridge


1934

1956

1957

1958

1959

1965


Clippings


Work in Iraq, 1925

Science
articles, 1936-1967

Article about Trowbridge presentation at Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois, 1964

Iowa Geological Survey, article about, 1955

Lake Calvin, 1959, 1970

Trowbridge received Neil Miner Award, 1960

Wisconsin discovery, 1966


Awards


Neil Miner Award by the National Association of Geology Teachers, GSA meeting in Denver, 1960

Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, Augustana College, 1963

Honorary member, National Association of Geology Teachers, 1967


Genealogy


Note and poem

Letter from Trowbridge's father to Missouri Geological Survey, 1873

Article by Trowbridge's son


Biographical


Photograph and University of Chicago residence hall annual, The Snell Hall Cooler, 1910, 1911

U.S. Army YMCA service in New York, 1919

World Who's Who in Science, 1968

Retirement, 1951-1952


Letter from friend Harold Snyder, 1967

Photographs


George F. Kay

Geological formations

Geological formations, photographer L. T. LeBron, Jr., of Galena, Illinois, 1932


Images for slides


Box 5

Committees and annual conferences


Stratigraphic Commission, 1953

Stratigraphic Committee report, 1958-1959

Stratigraphic Committee, discussion of report no. 6, ca. 1960

Glossary Committee, American Geological Institute project, 1955

Glossary Committee correspondence, 1955-1957

Sub-committees and definitions (Glossary)

Glossary popularity, 1957-1962

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) annual convention


1959

1960

1960-1961

1961-1962


American Geophysical Union


Meeting program, 1963

Converting subscription information to computer records, 1966


American Institute of Professional Geologists, newsletter and membership roster, 1967

American Petroleum Institute, Research Project 43 Advisory Committee, 1951-1955

Friends of the Pleistocene annual field trips


1951

1953, includes history of the meetings

Midwest Friends of the Pleistocene Field Conference, 1960

1963

1965

1966


Geology Society of America (GSA) program of annual meetings


1958

1959

1960-1962

1965

1968


Geological Society of Iowa Newsletter, November 1967

Historical Directory of State Geological Surveys, listing for all states, 1962

International Association for Quaternary Research (INQUA)


1954-1955

1965


Iowa Academy of Science, 1967-1968

Loess field conference


1947

1948


Quaternary of Illinois Symposium, 1968

Tri-state conference, 1935


Box 6

Correspondence


Adney, John R.


1963-1964

1964-1965

1965-1969

1966-1967

1967-1968

1968-1969


Anteves, Ernst, 1948-1955

Augustana College, 1967-1968

Berry, Edward W., 1943

Bezanson, Lillian C., regarding memoir, 1957-1959

Billings, Marland P., 1947

Black, Robert F., 1965

Boekenkamp, Richard P., 1965

Bretz, J. Harlen


1961

1965-1966

1968


Brown, Charles, 1957

Cameron, Cornelia

1964-1965

1965


Childs, Orlo E., 1966

Cooper, G. Arthur, 1956

Davis, Morgan J., 1967

Fees, Leon V.


1966-1969

1968-1969


Feulner, Alvin J., 1957

Fisk, H. N., Humble Oil and Refining Company, 1954-1955

FitzPatrick, E. A., 1960-1961

Flint, Richard F., 1947-1953

Frye, John C.


1940-1949

1950-1956

1960-1965

1966-1967


Fryxell, F. M., 1968-1969

Geological Society of America, regarding M. A. Stainbrook memorial, 1956-1957

Glock, Waldo S.


1957-1958

1964-1969


Goldthwait, Richard P., 1947

Gooding, Ansel M., 1961

Grawe, Mrs. O. R. (Sally), 1965-1968

Gulf Research and Development Co.


1952-1954

1960


Hanna, M. A., 1955

Hares, Charles Joseph, 1965-1966

Hedges, James


1962

1965-1967

1967-1968

1969


Hershey, H. G., 1948

Hinman, Eugene E., 1968

Horberg, Leland, 1945

Hunt, Charles B., 1960-1961

Iowa Academy of Science, 1956-1969

Kanneberg, Ralph W., 1948

Kay, Marshall, 1969

Kempers, L., 1968

Ladd, Harry S., 1947

Leeper, Leo R., regarding biographical note for M. A. Stainbrook, 1956

Leighton, Morris M.


1940

1940-1942

1952-1955

1956-1957

1959-1960

1960

1960-1961

1961-1962

1963-1964

1964-1965

1957-1966

1965-1967

1966-1967

1968-1969

Box 7

Correspondence, cont.


Leonard, A. Byron, 1955

Leverett, Frank, 1915-1921

Linch, Lyle K., ca. 1965, includes photograph

Lougee, Richard J., 1945

Ludwick, John C., 1955-1957

Lugn, Alvin L., 1950

Macalester College, consultation, 1962

Mattox, Richard B., 1955

Milling, Marcus E.


1966-1968, includes Iowa Geological Survey topographic map of Iowa City Quadrangle dated 1938

1967-1969


Mosnat, H. Roy, 1947, includes photographs of George F. Kay visiting artesian well at Belle Plaine, Iowa, 1930s

North, Lloyd, 1965-1967

Owen, Edgar W., 1963-1969

Patton, Leroy T., 1956-1957

Ray, Louis L.


1946-1949

1960

1966-1969


Robinson, W. I., 1956

Ruhe, Robert V.


1948-1951

1962-1965

1965-1968


Russell, R. Dana, 1968

Scruton, P. C., 1956

Sorenson, Mrs. Ira L., 1969

Stainbrook, G. L., 1948-1957

Stainbrook, R. W., 1957

Swenson, Frank


1942-1948

1948-1969

1961


Thudium, Orville, 1968

Trowbridge, Arthur H., 1967

Ulrich, E. O., 1934

Vaughan, Peggy, 1967

Worrell, Roy A., 1968

Youngquist, Walter, 1957


General correspondence

1952-1957

1956

1955-1956

1956-1957

1957-1958

1958-1959

1959-1960

1960-1961

1961-1962

1965-1966

1966-1967

1967-1969

1968-1969


Writings


Acknowledgements for paper, "Glacial Drift in the 'Driftless Area' of Northeast Iowa," 1967

Bibliography lists, including regarding glaciation of the Driftless Area

Contribution to McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, draft, correspondence, map, photographs, April-August 1958

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology


1960-1961

1962

1966-1969


Scribner's Dictionary of Scientific Biography, contributions by Trowbridge, 1968-1970

Papers by Trowbridge


"Review of Modern Literature of Sedimentology, Especially as Related to Petroleum Geology," 1955

Photographs and correspondence, "The Mississippi River in Glacial Times," Palimpsest, July 1959

"Driftless Area of the Upper Mississippi Valley," 1962-1967

"The Single Erosional Cycle"

"Geologic History of Mississippi River of Iowa, Wisconsin, Illinois and Missouri," by Trowbridge, Williams, Frye, Swenson

" Preliminary Report on Geological Work in North-Eastern Iowa," Iowa Academy of Science

Utica, New York, 1917


"The Erosional History of the Driftless Area"

"The 'Driftless Area' of Iowa," by Trowbridge and A. J. Williams


"Reconnaissance Study of New England Glaciation," by Trowbridge and Louis L. Ray, 1947


Box 8

Writings, cont.


Mississippi Delta reports and notes


"Notes on the Mouths of the Mississippi River," by Lt. Col. E. J. Dent, January 1921

Record of dredging, "Fish-Hawk Log", by E. W. Shaw, June 22-24, 1921
Depth measurements

Analyses of dredged material from Mississippi Delta

Report

Manuscript, including photographs and diagrams

"Preliminary Geological Report on the Mississippi Delta," submitted for review February 20, 1924


Houston, Texas well samples, ca. 1952


Reprints


1908-1923

1926-1932

1933-1939

1959-1963, n.d.

American Commission of Stratigraphic Nomenclature, notes 1-13, 1947-1952

"Discussion: Accretion-Gley and the Gumbotil Dilemma," 1961

The Interpretation of Topographic Maps

Laboratory Exercises in Structural and Historical Geology


n.d.

1913-1939


Studies in Geology


National Research Council, Report of the Committee on Sedimentation


1930-1932

1932-1934

Notes and data


Nebraskan Drift south of Waukon, 1940

Nebraskan Drift in caves at Guttenberg, 1940

Nebraskan Drift Around Dubuque, 1940

Nebraskan Drift West of Dubuque and Frye correspondence, 1966

Notes from student reports, 1915, 1961, n.d.

Wisconsin drift in northwestern Iowa, 1948

Effects on Sea Level

Southern Illinois geology

"Trowbridge's Notes on Problems of Early Pleistocene History of Mississippi River," 1957

1957

1968

"Drainage History of Upper Mississippi River"

Sample analyses, samples collected by Trowbridge, 1931

Altimeter readings at Bellevue and McGregor, 1951

Pleistocene sections in Iowa, 1960-1961

Iowa River flood of June 24, 1938, map of Allamakee County, conditions 1888-1938


Box 9

Reference files


Abstracts


1955-1956

1959-1960

1960-1961

1965-1966


Abstracts regarding glacial and climate change, 1957

Andersen, S. A., "The Waning of the Last Continental Glacier in Denmark as Illustrated by Varved Clays and Eskers," 1931

Cameron, Cornelia C., "A Major Problem in Cenozoic Statigraphy of South Central Iowa," 1962-1964

Climate fluctuations, various papers, 1931-1951

Cooke, C. Wythe, 1945

Deep stage valleys, 1964-1965

Fehrenbacher, J. B., "Loess Distribution in Southeastern Illinois and Southwestern Indiana," 1965

Fisk, H. N., 1952

Foss, Sam Walter, "The Calf Path" poem

Frye, John C.  "Additional Studies on the History of Mississippi Valley Drainage," SUI Ph.D. thesis, June 1938, includes photographs

Frye, John C., soil depositions levels

Geological unconformities, various papers

Gumbotil subject, includes photographs, articles, correspondence

Hadding, Assar. Hidden Hiatuses and Related Phenomena, 1958

Jerseyan Drifts and other drifts in New England, 1934-1941

Jones, Hendricks, 1954

Kay, George F., "Annotated Guide of Eastern Iowa: Fort Madison to Iowa City, Iowa"

Leighton, Morris M. and Paul R. Shaffer paper, 1941-1949

Leighton paper and Trowbridge's editorial notes, 1957

Leighton, summer 1957

Leighton, Morris M., "Some Major Aspects of the Glacial History of Illinois," 1958-1959

Leighton criticism of article, 1958-1959

Leighton, Morris M., "Elements in the Classification of the Late Glacial Quaternary of Midwestern North America," paper, correspondence, maps, photographs, 1962-1963

Leighton, Morris M., "Preliminary Appraisal of the Recently Proposed Classification of Wisconsin Loess," 1962-1965

Leverett, Frank, "Outline of Pleistocene History of Mississippi Valley," 1921

MacClintock, Paul, 1926-1929

Mickelson, John C., paper, correspondence, field notes, 1948-1951

Miscellaneous references

Oceanography, 1960-1961

Patton, Leroy

Phleger, F., memoir, 1951-1954

Raasch, 1931

Rich, J. L. "Burired Stagnant Ice as a Normal Product of a Progressively Retreating Glacier in Hilly Regions," 1941

Rocky Mountains, various papers, 1907-1930

Salisbury, Rollin D. The Interpretation of Topographic Maps, manuscript, 1908

Shepard, F. P., 1948-1954

Soil Conservation Service classification of sedimentary deposits, 1938

Swenson, F. A., river elevations or levels

Thwaites, Fred T., 1921

Wanless, Harold R., "Nebraskan Till in Fulton County, Illinois," 1929

Windrow formation, 1921


Longhand drafts and statistics

Lengths