Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Papers of Laurence Davis Lafore
RG99.0100
Collection Dates:
39 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives from Mr. Lafore in February 1974 and from the History Department in September 1994. Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, March 2007.

Photographs: Photographic postcards in Box 60; Travel photographs in Box 65; Book research photographs in Box 67

Laurence Davis Lafore

Laurence Davis Lafore, 1971


Scope and Contents

This collection consists of Laurence Lafore's manuscripts, memoir, correspondence, and his academic career (including travel).  The correspondence series includes both personal and professional contacts.  The papers are housed in 67 boxes, and are largely unprocessed.


Biographical Note

Laurence Davis Lafore was born September 15, 1917, in Narbeth, Pennsylvania.  He earned his B.A. in 1938 at Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania.  He took his M.A. (1939) and Ph.D. (1950) from Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in Massachusetts.  Dr. Lafore taught at Swarthmore until 1969, when he joined the History Department faculty at the University of Iowa.  Lafore published works about the origins of the two world wars.   He retired in May 1985.  Laurence Lafore was writing an illustrated history of the University of Iowa at the time of his death on November 24, 1985.

 


Related Materials

Folder, "Lafore, Laurence," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03).

Publications by Laurence Lafore include:

"In the Sticks," Harper's Magazine 243, no. 1457 (October 1971): 108-9, 112-15

 

Nine Seven Juliet. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1969. 300 pp.

 

Learner's Permit. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1962. 308 pp.

 

American Classic. Iowa City; State Historical Society, 1975. 95 pp., illus. Includes UI buildings. Main Library; Art Library; Law Library; Special Collections Department, x- collection and Archives cataloged books. 

Correspondence from Laurence Lafore dated 1982 is housed in the Papers of John Leggett.

Correspondence from Laurence Lafore, 1977-1980, is housed in the Minnette Doderer collection within Iowa Women's Archives.

 



Box Contents List

 

Series I: Manuscripts

Box 1  Modern Europe

Box 2  Modern Europe

Box 3  Long Fuse

Box 4  End of Glory

Box 5  End of Glory

Box 6-13  Days of Emperor and Clown: the Italo-Ethiopian War, 1935 -- 1936

Box 14-17  Learner's Permit

Box 18-21  Devil's Chapel

Box 22-24  Stephen's Bridge

Box 25-28  Nine Seven Juliet

Series II: Memoir

Box 29   Penultimate draft

Box 30 Drafts, including correspondence about

Box 31  Drafts, including correspondence about

Box 32   Drafts, The Keys to the House, including correspondence about

Box 33   Manuscript, A Window in Cambridge; incomplete cookbook; joke recipe; later memoir

Series III: Correspondence

Box 34  Aaron -- Bourjaily

Box 35   Boyd -- Bunny

Box 36  Carroll -- Cuttino

Box 37   Dale -- Forstall

Box 38   Freedgood -- Hunt, E.

Box 39   Hunt, V. -- Kirkland

Box 40   Klaus -- Lafore

Box 41   Laird -- Lippincott

Box 42   Little -- Noyes

Box 43   Ogilby -- Palmer

Box 44   Partymiller -- Shaw

Box 45 Shearer -- Swarthmore

Box 46   Taylor -- Worth

Box 47  Wright -- Zerwick

Box 48   A -- Z

Box 49   A -- Z

Box 50 Telegrams; postcards; greeting cards; birth and death announcements

Box 51  Correspondence, professional

Box 52   Speaker invitations; thank you notes; business letters; letters while attending college

Box 53   Loose material and correspondence from Benjamin Kirkland

Series IV: Academic career

Box 54   Manuscript draft, "Stephen's Bridge"

Box 55   Publications

Box 56   Drafts

Box 57   Drafts

Box 58   Drafts and educational material

Box 59   Bound volumes:

Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, papers, 1939 -- 1940

Press and Diplomacy in Liberated France, vol. I, II, III

At Love's Command

Box 60   Photographic postcards of Montgomery School, 1929

Drafts about cooking

Swathmore materials

Trinity College materials

Box 61   Travel brochures and postcards

Correspondence

Journals: Ladies Home Journal, 1956; Science, 1964

Swathmore, class of 1938 class reunion material

Box 62   Academic correspondence

Box 63   Travel material

Letters of reference

Box 64   Book reviews by Lafore

University diplomas

Cedar Rapids Gazette article and photographs, 1970

Iowa State University (Ames), and Grinnell College courses taught by Lafore

Box 65   Travel photos of European cities

Postcards

Maps

Travel journal (year not provided)

Box 66   Drafts

Box 67   Photographs and research for an illustrated history of the University of Iowa