Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Papers of Thomas Sample Turner
RG 99.0133
Collection Dates: 1935-1982
14.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Processed by Denise Anderson, December 2000 and January 2005. Guide posted to the Internet December 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Scope and Contents

The papers of Thomas Sample Turner relate to his career as a composer of music at the University of Iowa. His eight compositions span his career from the mid-1930s until his retirement in 1982. The collection fills nineteen boxes with musical scores, conductor's copies, audio reels, cassette tapes, microfilm, a songbook, handbooks, class lecture notes, playbills, B.A. and M.A. diplomas, and art work by Alice Turner.


Biographical Note

Thomas Sample Turner was born April 21, 1914 in Corning, Iowa. His parents were Alice (Sample) Turner, and Daniel W. Turner, Iowa's governor from 1930 until 1932. Mr. Turner attended high school in Corning, followed by the University of Chicago, where he was president of Chi Psi fraternity. He married Isabel Lambly in 1936, and they raised two children, Norman and Alice. 

With his master's degree in hand, he became Professor of Music at Buena Vista College in Storm Lake, Iowa, in June 1938. On September 18, 1939, Mr. Turner began working as a graduate assistant at the University of Iowa, earning his Ph.D. in 1942. Symphonic Suite in F Major was submitted as his thesis, and was first performed by the University Symphony Orchestra at the Iowa Union on May 26, 1943. The piece was dedicated to the composer's mother and father.

Other compositions include: Ground Bass and Fugue in G Minor, Suite for Four Clarinets, Fantasy for Violin and Piano, Symphony in E Minor, Quartet in E Minor for Strings, Concerto for Wind Bands, and $4000, an opera in one act, set by Turner.

Mr. Turner became a music instructor at the University of Iowa in 1942. He enlisted in the army from May 1944 until January 1946, when he returned to Iowa as an Assistant Professor of Music. He was a Professor of Music from 1960-1982, and Professor emeritus 1982-1994. Turner died April 17, 1994. He was a member of St. Wenceslaus Catholic Church, and the American Musicology Society. Thomas Turner was the founder and first chairman of the Theory-Composition Section of the Iowa Music Teachers Association.


Related Materials

Folder, "Turner, Thomas Sample," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)



Box Contents List

 

Box 1

$4000 musical scores

Bass, stand 1

Bassoon I

Bassoon II, Contrabassoon

Clarinet I, Bb and Eb

Clarinet II, Bb; Bass Clarinet, Bb; Contrabass clarinet, Eb

Flute I, Piccolo

Flute II, Alto flute in G

Box 2

$4000 musical scores, cont.

Horn I

Horn II

Horn III

Horn IV

Oboe I

Oboe II, English Horn

Orchestral Piano

Percussion I

Piano Coach and Conductor, Mr. Dixon

Saxophone I

Saxophone II

Box 3

$4000 musical scores, cont.

Trombone I

Trombone II

Trombone III, bass

Trumpet I

Trumpet II

Tuba

Viola, stand 1

Violin I, stand 1

Violin II, stand 1

Violoncello, stand 1

Vocal Score, First Poker Player, No.8, sect. 1

Box 4

Pencil scores, unlabeled

Box 5

Symphony No. 2 musical scores

Bass 1

Contrabass

1st Bassoon

2nd Bassoon

3rd Bassoon

4th Bassoon

Cello, 2 copies

1st Bb Clarinet

2nd Bb Clarinet

3rd Bb Clarinet

1st Flute

2nd Flute

3rd Flute

1st Horn in F

2nd Horn in F

3rd Horn in F

4th Horn in F

Kettle Drums

1st Oboe

2nd Oboe

3rd Oboe and English Horn

1st Trombone

2nd Trombone

Bass Trombone

1st Bb Trumpet

2nd Trumpet Bb

3rd Bb Trumpet

Tuba

Viola I, 2 copies

1st Violin I, 2 copies

2nd Violin II, 2 copies

Xylophone, Chimes, Triangle, Cymbals, Gong or Tam Tam, Glockenspiel, Piano

Symphony in E Minor, John Brown musical scores

Cellos

Double Basses

Violas

1st Violins

2nd Violins

Bass Drum

Bassoon 1

2nd Bassoon

Contrabassoon, interchangeable with Third Bassoon

1st Clarinet in Bb

2nd Clarinet in Bb

Eb Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, and 3rd Bb Clarinet, interchangeable

Bass Clarinet in III, extra part

Cymbals

Flute 1

Flute 2

Flute 3 and Piccolo, interchangeable

1st Horn in F

Horn 2

3rd Horn in F

4th Horn in F

Kettle Drums

Oboe 1

Oboe 2

Oboe 3, and English Horn, interchangeable

Small Bells, may be played by Bass drummer

Snare Drum, may be played by Bass drummer

Tam Tam, may be played by triangle player

Triangle

Tenor Trombone 1

Tenor Trombone 2

Bass Trombone

1st Trumpet Bb

Trumpet II Bb

3rd Trumpet Bb

Tuba

Box 6

Correspondence, Dmitri Mitropoulos; 1949-1959

Correspondence, 1959-1982

$4,000 Opera

Correspondence, July 20, 1969-August 8, 1969

Miscellaneous photos and slides

Playbill

Press releases and reviews, June 1969 -- November 1969

Sketches and play parts

Correspondence and interviews of libretto writer Vance Bourjaily, September 17, 1976 --

December 30, 1976

Box 7

Concerto for Wind Bands musical scores

1st Baritone

2nd Baritone

3rd Baritone

4th Baritone

1st Bassoon

2nd Bassoon

3rd Bassoon

Contra Bassoon

Castanets

Celesta

Chimes

1st Bb Clarinet

2nd Bb Clarinet

3rd Bb Clarinet

4th Bb Clarinet

Eb Alto Clarinet

Bass Clarinet in Bb

Contra Bass Clarinet in Bb

Eb Clarinet

1st Bb Cornet

2nd Bb Cornet

3rd Bb Cornet

English Horn

Field Drum

1st C Flute

2nd C Flute

3rd C Flute

Glockenspiel

Harp

Harpsichord

High Gong

Low Gong and Bass Drum

3 High Kettle Drums

1st Horn in F

2nd Horn in F

3rd Horn in F

4th Horn in F

3 Low Kettle Drums

1st Oboe

2nd Oboe

3rd Oboe

Pianoforte

C Piccolo

1st Alto Sax in Eb

2nd Alto Sax in Eb

Eb Baritone Sax

Bb Bass Saxophone, Bb Tenor Saxophone

Snare Drum

String Bass

Tambourine, Suspended Cymbals

Triangle, Plate Cymbals

1st Trombone

2nd Trombone

3rd Trombone

Bass Trombone

1st Trumpet in C

2nd Trumpet in C

3rd Trumpet in C

Tuba

Xylophone

Box 8

Compositions

Fantasy for Violin and Piano

Ground Bass and Fugue in G Minor

Passacaglia and Fugue,
arrangement

Psalm XX II

Quartet in E Minor,
two copies

Quintet in D Major

Suite for Four Clarinets

Suite for Small Orchestra

Fantasy for violin and piano,
tape

Box 9

Art work by Alice Turner

Non-opera -- Chronicles of Clovis, Acts I-III, sketches and play parts

Opera -- incomplete vocal score with lyrics

Correspondence -- Henry Reese, Chronicles of Clovis libretto writer, June 19, 1975 -- April 4, 1984

Handbook of Musical Forms, by Tom Turner and Eldon Obrecht

Original typed manuscript with revisions

Handbook of Tonal Forms, revised copy

He is despised, beginning of lyrics to a musical score

Mountain Meadows musical score

New Musical Theories and Phantasies, Part III: Free Composition, by Heinrich Schenker; translation to English by Oswald Onas and T. Howard Krueger (1956-1960)

2nd draft with revisions (i - chapter 6) folder 1

2nd draft with revisions (i - chapter 6) folder 2

Non-chord tones

Box 10

American Society of University Composers

B.A. and M.A. diplomas

Background, education, etc.

Carlo Tresca, memorabilia

Center for New Music

Class lecture notes and reserved book lists

Miscellaneous

Poor Old Harmony Book, original manuscripts, 2 edited copies

Playbills for operas and concerts

Programs

Box 11

$4000

Complete production copy, vol.1-3

Box 12

$4000, cont.

Original conductor's copy

Final conductor's copy

Box 13

Concerto For Band

Original conductor's copy

Final conductor's copy

Performance lay-out

Symphony No. 2

Pencil score

Revised conductor's copy

Final conductor's copy

Symphony in E Minor, John Brown

Conductor's copy

Box 14

Miscellaneous pages of Chronicles of Clovis musical score

Musical score for Baker's Dozen, Act I

Miscellaneous unlabeled and incomplete compositions

Songbook, Songs of Gentility

Box 15

$4000

7 ½ " audio reels

Piano

Scene I, original tape

Scene I, copy 1-3

Scenes II and III, original tape

Scenes II and III, copy 1

Scenes II and III, copy 2

Scenes II and III, copy 3

Scenes IV and V, original tape

Scenes IV and V, copy 1

Scenes IV and V, copy 2 or 3 No. 1

Scenes IV and V, copy 2 or 3 No. 2

Concerto for Band

7 ½ - inch audio reels

Reel tape, I through Air

Reel tape, II the rest of the piece

Deteriorating reel tape of Quartet, ca. 1955

Box 16

$4000, parts I and II, cassette tape

Chronicles of Clovis, cassette tape

Band piece I, 7 ½" audio reel

Band piece II, 7 ½" audio reel

Band piece Code III, 7 ½" audio reel

Band piece Code IV, 7 ½" audio reel

Microfilm labeled Bravo!, number 1

Microfilm labeled Bravo!, number 2

The Craft of Musical Composition: Book I, Theoretical Part, by Paul Hindemith

Quartet in E Minor, 7 ½" audio reel

Symphony, 7 ½" audio reel 1958, 2 copies

Symphony in E Minor
, microfilm

3 unmarked cassette tapes

Box 17

Sound Recordings

Box 18

Sound Recordings, cont.