John F. Murray Lecture Series Collection
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: The John F. Murray Lecture Series Collection was transferred to the University Libraries prior to 1970. Box contents list compiled by Ryan Knight in 2009.
Scope and Contents
The John F. Murray Lecture Series Collection consists of news releases, promotional announcements, and some texts of speeches, beginning with the series' inception in 1952.
An endowment fund to support visiting lecturers' appearances at the State University of Iowa was established following the death in 1945 of Mrs. Bessie Dutton Murray, widow of John F. Murray (1872-1936), of Wheatland, Iowa. According to Mrs. Murray's will, her $150,000 gift to the University was to provide scholarships and lectures in the fields of business administration, journalism, and law in memory of her husband.
John F. Murray was born September 28, 1872, in Monroe, Iowa. Early in his career he was appointed to the advertising staff of the Wrigley chewing gum firm where he coined the highly successful trade name, "Juicy Fruit." Later, Mr. Murray established his own advertising agency in New York, and in 1909 created the Murray Newspaper Service and the Murray Syndicate Cut Service. He also formed the Wyeth Chemical Company which ultimately absorbed several drug companies and became the American Home Products Corporation, one of the largest firms in its field.
Box Contents List
Erwin D. Canham: A Free Press in a Free World speech text - February 26, 1952
----. Program - February 26, 1952
----. Lecture summary by University Information Service - February 26, 1952
----. Appearance announcement by University Information Service - January 11, 1952
Judge Herbert F. Goodrich lecture summary by University Information Service - October 9, 1952
----. Form letter announcing speech - October 6, 1952
John F. Murray Scholarship winners announcement by University Information Service - December 3, 1953
Geoffrey Crowther lecture summary by University Information Service - March 2, 1954
----. March 4, 1954
----. Form letter announcing speech - February 25, 1954
----. Advertisement by University Information Service - March 2, 1954
Joseph N. Welch lecture advertisement by University Information Service - August 28, 1954
Arthur Larson lecture - form letter announcing speech - February 1960
Shelden D. Elliott lecture - form letter announcing speech - March 1961
Barbara Ward: The Unity of the Free World speech text - April 6, 1961
----. Form letter announcing speech - March 27, 1961
Anthony Lewis lecture - form letter announcing speech - March 29, 1963
Kiyoshi Togasaki: Significant Changes in Present Day Japan speech text - 1963
Murray Lectures as of June 28, 1963
Arthur L. Goodhart: Judge, Jury, and the Lawyer speech text - April 2, 1964
Arthur F. Burns lecture - form letter announcing speech - November 1964
Carl A. Auerbach: The Lawyer as Engineer of the Social Sciences program- July 20, 1967