Finding Aid
|
Records of International Programs Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: The Records of International Programs have been transferred to the University Archives at various times. Collection processed and guide posted to the Internet January 2008. |
|
Scope and Contents
The Records of International Programs are arranged into four series: Subject Files, Printed Material, Latin American Studies Program (LASP), and Clippings and Scrapbooks. Of particular interest with information about student body demography are the folders "Foreign Students Statistics, 1977-1998" in Box 9, "Office of Study Abroad, 1981-1998" in Box 16, and "Foreign Student Population Statistics, 1949-1972," in Box 24.
Historical Note
Since the late 1800's the UI has hosted students from other countries and has also arranged opportunities for its resident students to study abroad. In 1908, the UI chapter of the Cosmopolitan Club was founded to promote greater understanding among different cultures. It was one of five such clubs on U.S. campuses, operating until the 1940's.
The post-World War II enrollment boom brought with it an influx of international students. In response, the University appointed an adviser for foreign students in the Office of Student Affairs (OSA) in 1948. In 1952, the University established the International Center to meet the needs of its foreign students. By 1956, the Center moved to 219 N. Clinton St., the former home of Benjamin and Bertha Shambaugh, longtime associates of the University. (In 2002, Shambaugh House, as it was known, was moved to the corner of Clinton and Fairchild streets, becoming the home of the International Writing Program. The house move was prompted by construction of the new Belin-Blank Honors Center nearby.)
Continued growth in international student enrollment led to the establishment in 1971 of the Office of International Education and Services (OIES), which also managed study abroad-related services. Additionally, the Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS), founded in 1981 as a faculty committee, was established to coordinate and support interdisciplinary education related to foreign studies, becoming one of nine national resource centers funded by the U.S. Dept. of Education in 1985.
In 1997, the OIES was reorganized as International Programs, an entity combining the services of OIES, CICS, and other programs. From its inception in 1971 until 2007, International Programs was located in the former Law Commons, west of the Iowa River. It moved to the University Capitol Centre, in the Old Capitol Town Center near the Pentacrest, in 2007.
Related Materials
Rempel, Averno Milton. "Studies of the Role of the State University of Iowa in World Affairs: I. Foreign Student Relationships: II. Certain Variables Involved in the Development of International Understanding." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1954.
Records of the Center for International and Comparative Studies (RG 23.06.02)
Records of the International Women's Club (RG 23.06.03)
Records of the International Association (RG 23.06.04)
Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG 01.15.04), which include international student-related groups, such as the African Students Association, the Cosmopolitan Club, the Indonesian Student Association, and many others.
Box Contents List
Subject Files Series
Admissions (8 folders), 1971-1993
Advisory Committee on International Education (5 folders), 1965-1981
Box 2
----. (13 folders), 1981-1984
Box 3
----. 1982-1983
Box 4
African trip, 1973
African Studies Committee, 1979-1985
AID Nairobi, 1965
LASPAU workshop, 1979
Intensive English Proficiency Program possibilities, 1975-1986
Linguistics/English as Second Language Program (9 folders), 1974-1994
Box 5
Program in International Development (PID), 1992-1993
UI College of Education International Committee Directions (2 folders), 1982-1990
East Asian Studies (2 folders), 1972-1974
Center for Development Studies (2 folders), 1976-1984
Multinational Corporation and World Order, 1972
Comparative Literature, 1972
NDEA Program
Asian Colloquium, 1972
Box 6
Center activities (2 folders), 1965-1968
Center for International Studies report trip, 1965
International Studies, 1972
Olson Committee report, 1959-1960
Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS) meetings, 1983
CICS Barkan proposed agenda and responses, 1981-1982
CICS planning retreat, 1991
CICS "Representing Nomadic Cultures" symposium, 1993
China (4 folders), 1984-1988
Box 7
Center membership (2 folders), 1965-1966
Council for International Visitors to Iowa City, 1985-1990
UI College of Business International Resources Directory, 1984
Iowa City Foreign Relations Council (10 folders), 1982-1998
Box 8
Foreign Student Committee (7 folders), 1977-1989
Box 9
Foreign students statistics (9 folders), 1977-1998
FSA, 1995
Box 10
Office of Study Abroad, including AESOP program, African universities (10 folders), 1976-1977, 1991-1997
Box 11
Office of Study Abroad, 1976-1978
Box 12
----. 1974-1976
Brazilian projects (7 folders), 1977-1979
Box 13
Kuwait (2 folders), 1996
East Asian Studies (3 folders), 1971-1974
Box 14
Correspondence, 1973-1978
Hill Foundation (7 folders), 1965-1972
President James Freedman re: China (2 folders), 1982-1984
Box 15
Global Studies (4 folders), 1977-1991
Cross-cultural communication, 1978
OSEAS (2 folders), 1995
Box 16
Office of Study Abroad, including statistics about international students at UI (11 folders), 1981-1998
Wales program
Far East plan, 1962
Ford Foundation application, 1965
Box 17
College of Education international interest (4 folders), 1977-1992
Internal review (3 folders), 1993-1995
Box 18
Foreign student recruiting (4 folders), 1995-1996
Office of International Education and Services (OIES), including organization charts (5 folders), 1992-1996
Box 19
CICS-OIES internal review, 1996
Iowa-Dongguk (2 folders), 1968-1972
IR at other schools, 1964
Box 20
Korean project (10 folders), 1986-1991
Box 21
----. (7 folders) 1990-1991
North Korea: Policy, Modernity, Fantasy International Conference, 2007
Budget (12 folders), 1972-1984
Box 22
----. (9 folders) 1984-1991
Box 23
Foreign student rosters and summaries (10 folders), 1989-1994
Box 24
Foreign student population statistics (22 folders), 1949-1972
Foreign student trends survey, 1971-1987
Foreign student survey, 1971-1974
Faculty foreign travel survey, 1985-1987
Box 25
Foreign Student Committee (6 folders), 1971-1991
Establishment of OIES, 1969-1972
Development of Training and Research in International Studies, 1964
----. Ford Foundation proposal, 1965
Establishment of CICS, 1981-1982
Immigration Aspects of Hiring Foreign Faculty, 1977
Box 26
Foreign students study, 1959-1960
----. 1962
International Center financial sheets, 1957-1958
International Club: Membership, 1957-1958
----. Programs and songsheets, [1950s]
----. Statement of accounts, 1954-1955
International Center Association members, by-laws, 1961
----. Charter history, 1952, 1959-1960
----. Annual, 1959-1960
International House guest book (from time IH opened), 1952-1954
National holidays inquiry correspondence, 1956-1957
International House Association newsletters, 1959-1960
International Club: Statement of account, 1954-1955
----. Invoice and voucher, 1954-1955
----. Center board meeting minutes, 1955-1956
----. Minutes, photographs, ephemera, members (binder), 1949-1953
Box 28
China exchange programs coordinated by Jan Felsing (10 folders), 1980-1987
Box 29
----. (16 folders) 1980-1987
Box 30
International Coordinating Council for International Studies: Advisors' newsletter, 1976-1980
----. Guidelines and history, 1969-1973
----. Faculty Steering Committee, 1980-1981
----. General correspondence, 1981-1986
Guidelines for Iowa Regents Study Abroad Programs, 1981
Jordan Project: correspondence, training (16 folders), 1981-1983
Box 31
Center for International and Comparative Studies (CICS): Events, 1984-1995
----. Event posters, 1982-1994
African Studies event posters, 1982-1995
Global Studies event posters, 1982-1991
Latin American Studies event posters, 1982-1995
Program in International Development event posters, 1982-1993
South Asian Studies event posters, 1982-1994
Center for Asian and Pacific Studies event posters, 1987-1990
Box 32
Global Health event posters, 1992-1993
Gender, Culture and Politics, 1995
Russian, Eastern European and Asian Studies event posters, 1993-1995
Women in International Development event posters, 1982-1993
Textile Artisans event posters, 1991
Recommendations for Strenghtening International Education at the University of Iowa: A Report of the Advisory Committee on International Education, 1983
Proposal for a Comprehensive Program of International and Comparative Studies, 1982
Rockefeller Grant application: Advanced Study of Art and Life in Africa, 1987
Grant application: National Resource Center, 1987-1988
Box 33
OIES monthly report, September 1972-February 1983
International Center annual report, 1952-1962 (incomplete)
International Highlights Newsletter, April 1978
CICS annual report, 1982-1985
Box 34
OIES annual report, 1971-1975, 1983-1990
Box 35
Director's files: Correspondence received, 1982-1986
----. Hong Kong, 1995-1997
----. International Volunteer Alumni Counselor (IVAC) program, 1985
----. International Classroom program, 1979-1995
----. Midwest University Consortium for International Activities (MUCIA) internship budget, 1990-1992
Key Internationals: Correspondence, 1994-1996
----. Garnett, Dr. W. Leslie (including biography), 1979-1989
----. Objectives, 1962, 1979-1982
----. Foreign alumni, 1985-1986
----. Questionnaires returned, 1985
Box 36
Key Internationals Review Questionnaires: Argentina, 1986-1989
----. Australia, 1987-1989
----. Barbados, 1987
----. Belgium, 1987-1989
----. Brazil, 1987-1989
----. Bulgaria, 1988
----. Burkina Faso, 1989
----. Burundi, 1989
----. Canada, 1987-1989
----. Cameroon, 1988
----. Colombia, 1987-1989
----. Costa Rica, 1989
----. Czechoslovakia, 1988-1989
----. Dominican Republic, 1987-1988
----. East Germany, 1988
----. Ecuador, 1989
----. El Salvador, 1988-1989
----. England, 1987-1989
----. France, 1988-1989
----. Gambia, 1987
----. Ghana, 1988
----. Honduras, 1987
----. Hong Kong, 1987-1989
----. Hungary, 1988-1989
----. Iceland, 1987
----. India, 1987-1989
----. Indonesia, 1987-1989
----. Ireland, 1988
----. Israel, 1987-1988
----. Italy, 1987-1989
----. Jamaica, 1987
----. Japan, 1987-1989
----. Jordan (West Bank), 1986
----. Kenya, 1988
----. Liberia, 1988
----. Malawi, 1989
----. Malaysia, 1987-1989
----. Mexico, 1987-1989
----. Nigeria, 1988-1989
----. Northern Ireland, 1988-1989
----. Norway, 1987-1989
----. Panama, 1987-1989
----. People's Republic of China, 1987-1989
----. Peru, 1989
----. Philippines, 1987-1989
----. Poland, 1987-1989
----. Portugal, 1987-1989
----. Puerto Rico, 1989
----. Saudi Arabia, 1988
----. Scotland, 1987
----. Sierra Leone, 1989
----. Singapore, 1987-1988
----. South Africa, 1988-1989
----. South Korea, 1987-1989
----. Sri Lanka, 1987
----. Sweden, 1988
----. Syria, 1987
----. Thailand, 1987, 1988, 1997, 1999
----. Taiwan, 1987-1989
----. Tanzania, 1988
----. Turkey, 1988
----. United States, 1987-1989
----. Venezuela, 1987
----. West Germany, 1987-1989
----. Yugoslavia, 1988-1989
----. Zambia, 1989
----. Campus, 1987-1989
Key International Review newsletter, 1979-2000 (incomplete)
Printed Material Series
Directory of Foreign Students and Professionals, 1961-1975
Handbooks: Foreign Students are Friendly, The Dating "System," The "Organized" United States, How to Make Friends in the U.S., Entertaining a Foreign Guest, [n.d., 1950s]
Getting Along With Your Foreign Roommate, 1977
Learning With Your Foreign Roommate, 1982
Handbook for International Students and Professionals, [1973]
----. 1972-1973
Handbook for Foreign Students and Professionals, 1974
----. 1977
----. 1981-1982
----. 1982-1983
----. 1983-1984
----. 2000-2001
Box 38
Newsletter: IHFP Newsletter (International Host Family Program), November 1977-February 1982 (incomplete)
----. International Center News/Iowa International, 1952-1956
----. CREES (Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies) News, 2000-2001
----. CICS, 1988-1995
----. International Newsletter/Foreign Student Newsletter/Foreign Student Bulletin/International Bulletin, 1971-1990
----. UCOPIA World (OIES), 1987-1988
----. Dromomania, 1986, 1994-1997
----. Calendar, 1997-2000
Box 39
The Development of Training and Research in International Studies, May 28, 1965
OIES Overseas Opportunities for Students, 1974-1975
----. 1975-1976
OIES Overseas Opportunities for Faculty, 1974-1975
International Resources Directory, 1978-1979
International Studies miscellaneous (information sheets for students, brochures), 1972-1998
Latin American Studies Program (LASP) Series
Business file, 1985-1986
----. August-December 1986
----. Carlos Merced-Tesorero, 1984-1985
----. 1983-1984
----. 1982-1983
Cartas enviadas a ADELA, 1986
Cartas que ADELA Envia, 1983-1986
11th Pena Folklorica, 1986
9th Pena Folklorica, 1985
Isabel Aldunate concert, November 13, 1985
Teatro, 1982
Exposiciones de Arte, 1982
Simon Bolivar bicentennial, July 1983
Brazilian Carnival, February 25, 1983
Noche de Ritmos Latino Americanos, March 8, 1986
Grupo Aymara, Spring 1983
Festival de Cine (2 folders), 1986
Film Festival, Spring 1984
Pena Folklorica, 1-6, 1981-1983
Box 41
10th Pena Folklorica, 1986
ADELE Cine Club, 1986
Salsa Night, 1983
Publicity (2 folders), 1983-1995
Bulk mailing, 1982-1985
Resources (student government), 1987
Consul directory, n.d.
Minutes, 1986
----. 1983
Office of Study Abroad, 1992
CICS, 1981-1982
Box 42
CICS: Case Study of Older Persons and the Health Care System in Costa Rica, June 3, 1993
Articles: Manufacturing Consent, by Edward S. Herman, 1988
----. Guatemala, 1995
----. Mexico, peso currency, 1995
----. Latin American journalism, 1995
----. Confronting La Frontera, by Joe Holley, 1994
----. Peru-Ecuador border dispute, 1994-1995
----. Politics and elections, 1994-1995
----. Mexico, Chiapas, 1995
Questionnaires (blank), n.d.
LASP annual report, 1990
LASP chair, 1990-1991
LASP-CICS, 1989-1990
Box 43
Financial records (6 folders), 1978-1984
Box 44
MUCIA (Midwest Universities Consortium for International Activities), 1988-1991
Scholarships/fellowships, 1989-1993
Course proposals and descriptions, 1989-1993
Univ. de Los Andes, 1988-1989
Box 45
LASP orientation information, 1982-1992
Letterhead, [1990]
Graduate assistants, 1988-1989
Events and speakers, 1989-1991
Study Abroad, 1992
LASP/CICS library, 1990-1991
Summer in Chile program, 1989-1990
LASP faculty, 1988-1989
Clippings and Scrapbooks Series
CICS clippings, 1983-1993
Clippings folder, 1977-1978
Scrapbook, including photographs: 1971-1972
----. 1972-1973
----. 1973-1974
----. Indonesia trip, [ca. 1982-1985?]
----. International Women's Panel, 1973, 1981-1982
Photographs: CICS, 1980, 1991
----. Visiting scholars, n.d.
----. International Center, [1960?]
----. International Center/Law School building, interior and exterior, 16 images, 1941-1965
----. Opening of Iowa International Center (includes President James Freedman), April 7, 1982
----. International Center interior and exterior, [1980's]
Scrapbook: clippings about opening of Shambaugh House as International Center, 1956-1957
