Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of KRUI Radio
RG 02.02.08
Collection Dates: 1966-
7.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The records of KRUI radio were transferred to the University Archives as Accession 2011-11.

Photographs: Box 2, 4

KRUI poster, 2010
Poster, 2010

Scope and Contents

The Records of KRUI Radio consist of expense ledgers, correspondence, fliers, posters, newspaper clippings, and such artifacts as T-shirts, buttons, and decals. The collection includes extensive documentation of the station's implementation of FM service in 1984.

Historical Note

KRUI was established in 1952 as KWAD, a student-managed AM radio station whose signal was limited to the Quadrangle dormitory. Using the carrier-current mode of transmission (as opposed to over-the-air) and thus, not licensed by the Federal Communications Commission, KWAD broadcast on 570 kilocycles. In 1968 its call letters changed to KICR. In 1984, the station, by then known as KRUI, was granted a license to broadcast on FM frequency 89.7 mHz with 100 watts, enabling the station to serve the Iowa City-Coralville area. The station is supported by student fees allocated by University of Iowa Student Government. According to its mission statement in 2011, the station "serves as an educational laboratory for students interested in learning about radio and the broadcast industry, and provides the Iowa City community with a unique programming alternative in music, news, and sports."

Related Materials

Subject Vertical File Collection, Radio category, folders "KRUI" and "KICR" (RG 01.15.05)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Ledger: Expenses record, KWAD, 1966-June 1968; KICR, July 1968-August, 1969; KRUI, 1979-1982

----. 1982-1985.

----. 1986-1989.

Binder: Station history, clippings

----. Correspondence, clippings, station policies. 1985-1989.

Box 2

Binder: Proposed move to Iowa Memorial Union. 1984-1985.

----. Articles. 1976-1984.

KICR, 1969-1973.

Broadcast equipment consultant reports for new FM station proposal. 1982.

Ledger: Expenses record. 1979-1986.

Photograph album. 1997-1999.

Box 3

Unprocessed; includes FM transmitter construction. 1982-1984.

Box 4

Unprocessed; includes two packets of photographs.

Box 5

Artifacts: T-shirts, buttons, decals, keychains, pens, framed certificates and awards


Posters and fliers. 2000-2011.