Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Joseph Homer Howe Papers
Collection Dates: 1885-1891
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mrs. Luceille Howe in March 1997.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None

Joseph H. Howe, 1890 University of Iowa graduate

Joseph H. Howe, 1890

Scope and Contents

The papers of Joseph Homer Howe include correspondence to his parents while attending classes at the University of Iowa, 1886-1890.  The letters, which continued until December 1891, mentioned the construction progress of University of Iowa campus buildings and Howe's employment as a science teacher.

Biographical Note

Joseph Homer Howe was born January 15, 1865, in Bristol Center, Minnesota.  His family later moved to Cresco, Iowa, where he attended high school.  Mr. Howe taught school at Saratoga, Iowa, 1885-1886.  He graduated from the University of Iowa Collegiate Department (later the College of Liberal Arts) on June 18, 1890, with a Civil Engineer (C.E.) degree.  Mr. Howe delivered the commencement oration to his graduating class.  As a student, he was a member of the Baconian literary club, and was a private in Company D in the University battalion during 1886.

Following graduation Mr. Howe worked for one year as a high school science teacher in Iowa City.   In September 1890 he was hired to create strain sheets in the replacement of Roberts Ferry Bridge.  In October 1891 he platted the What Cheer Co. coal mine, and the following month worked for the Kansas City, Watkins & Gulf Railway Co. in Louisiana.  The railway company's chief engineer was Philetus Harvey Philbrick, a Civil Engineering professor at the State University of Iowa (1873-1887) and Mr. Howe's instructor.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Philbrick, Philetus Harvey," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG 01.15.04)

University of Iowa Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03)

Gilson, James Edward. "Changing Student Lifestyle at the University of Iowa, 1880-1900." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1980. Dissertation Abstracts International 41: 1664-A. Religion, prohibition, 1888 investigation, YMCA, Close Hall, curriculum, literary societies, fraternities, and athletics.

Wagner, Dorothy. "The Varsity Whirl." Palimpsest 10 (March 1929): 109-126. Student social life, 1890-1899.

Box Contents List

Box 1


---. June 20, 1885-April 16, 1886

---. September 25, 1886-April 22, 1887

---. September 14, 1887-July 28, 1888

---. September 15, 1888-June 8, 1889

---. September 14, 1889-September 7, 1890

---. February 8, 1890-December 6, 1891

Commencement speech, June 18, 1890


Receipts for semester tuition, 1889-1890