Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Everett E. Sterner Papers
RG 02.09.09
Collection Dates: 1931-1943
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives in September 1997.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: Box 1

Everett E. Sterner, University of Iowa alumni, 1940

Everett E. Sterner, 1940

Scope and Contents

The Everett E. Sterner papers include Mr. Sterner's photographs, notes, and data relating to cooperative dormitories in Iowa City during the Great Depression.  He provided a brief explanation for the establishment of the cooperative dormitories by Robert E. Rienow, Dean of Men, and a list of the University of Iowa men's and women's coop dorms of this period.

Biographical Note

Everett Ezra Sterner was born May 28, 1914, in Batavia, Iowa.  He attended the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts from September 1934 until June 1940.  From 1936 until 1940 he served as the first proctor of The Gables cooperative dormitory.  He married Dolores Johnson, of Logan, Iowa, on May 26, 1940.  The couple met through a dinner held between residents of The Gables and Breene house, the cooperative dorm where Ms. Johnson lived.  Everett E. Sterner died May 15, 1996.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Papers of Charlotte Enger Jones (RG 02.09.14)

Folder, "Rienow, Robert E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Subject Vertical Files (RG 01.15.05): Dean of Men; Coop housing

Records of the University of Iowa Student Government (RG 02.07.01)

Berger, Elizabeth A. "The Student Cooperative Dormitory and Democratic Group Life as Illustrated by Russell House." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1939

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs (RG 30.01.01): Buildings series, Kellogg Dormitory

Box Contents List

Box 1

Photographs, including interior views, primarily of The Gables, Kellogg House, Whetstone House, Wilson House, Bloomington House, The Manse, Jefferson House, Breene, Coast House, and Russell House; Scottish Highlanders marching band.  There are references to, but no photographs of, Clinton House, Tudor, and Folsom House.

Proctor's records of fund-raising projects, tenant lists, and dormitory residents' activities.