Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Charlotte Enger Jones Papers
RG 02.09.14
Collection Dates: 1995-1996; pertains to 1931-1955
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Charlotte Enger Jones in July 1997. Guide created December 2008.

Photographs: None

Charlotte Enger Jones in Iowa City, August 1944

Charlotte Enger Jones in Iowa City, August 1944

Scope and Contents

The Charlotte Enger Jones papers consist of correspondence from State University of Iowa alumni to Ms. Jones.  Correspondence is dated 1995 and 1996 from alumni who lived in cooperative dormitories between 1931 and 1955.  Ms. Jones solicited the correspondence and compiled a history about student life in cooperative housing, which is available at “Memories of Co-op Dorm Living: 1931 -- 1955.” 

Correspondence exists in this collection for every name that appears in the box list.  Classmates whose names are not included in the box list may be mentioned within correspondence.  Students who lived in more than one coop dorm are listed under each, with correspondence placed in the folder of the housing unit in which they first lived.

Biographical Note

Charlotte Enger Jones was born February 11, 1925, in Aberdeen, South Dakota.  Her family moved to What Cheer, Iowa, in April 1934.  Ms. Jones attended the University of Mississippi for one year before transferring to the State University of Iowa in fall 1944, when she moved into a shared room at the Dean House cooperative dormitory.  She received a B.A. in history in February 1947 and began graduate work during the summer in 1948.  Her studies were interrupted when she started a family.  Charlotte Jean Enger married John Paul Jones of Des Moines on February 4, 1949.  After her marriage, Charlotte worked as a ward clerk in Nursing Service at University Hospitals and at the University Libraries.  Mr. Jones received his B.F.A. in June 1949 and M.F.A. in printmaking in February 1951.  His teaching positions included the University of Iowa, 1950-1951, as a Research Assistant in the School of Fine Arts; the University of Oklahoma; the University of California, Los Angeles; and the University of California at Irvine. 

In 1963 Charlotte divorced and moved her two children back to Iowa City, where she continued her education.  She received her M.A. in Special Education and Educational Psychology in August 1965.  In 1970 she earned a certificate in counseling at the University of Iowa.  Ms. Jones served as a counselor and taught psychology courses at Southeastern Community College in Keokuk, Iowa, for 23 years.  When she retired in 1990, she moved back to Coralville.  During the 1990s she attended the Iowa Summer Writing Festival and Elderhostel courses, and continued writing her genealogy, memoirs, and short stories.

[D. Anderson; 12/2008]

Historical Note

Kellogg Elementary School was located at the current site of the Veterans Administration Hospital in Iowa City.  It closed in 1926 when it became University of Iowa property.  A tent city for summer school students existed near the former site of the Kellogg School from 1926 until 1931.

According to Everett Sterner's correspondence found in this collection, students were discovered living in the abandoned Kellogg School building at other times of the year without utilities.  This unauthorized occupation was due to financial hardships experienced during the Great Depression.  In response, Robert E. Rienow, Dean of Men, called for the establishment of cooperative dormitories in 1931 to alleviate student housing difficulties.  He first established Kellogg House for men.  Adelaide Lasheck Burge, Dean of Women, soon established similar housing for women.  World War II also affected coop dorms.  The Navy Pre-flight School took over Whetstone and Grover houses for use by cadets during summer 1942, requiring tenants to move into other coop dorms as a result.

Housing addresses were as follows:

Bloomington House, 22 East Bloomington

Chesley House, 3 East Market
Coast House, 530 North Clinton
Dean House, 7 East Bloomington
Fairchild House, 9 East Fairchild
Folsom House, Kellogg Annex
The Gables, northeast of Quadrangle
Grover House, 30 Byington Road
Howard House, 8 East Bloomington
Jefferson House, 26 East Jefferson
Kellogg House, Kellogg Annex
The Manse, 4 East Market
Russell House, 3 East Davenport
Tudor House, 17 East Fairchild
Whetstone House, 20 Byington Road, northeast of Quadrangle
Wilson House, 323 North Capitol

[D. Anderson; 12/2008]

Related Materials

Jones, Charlotte Enger. “Memories of Co-op Dorm Living: 1931 -- 1955.” University of Iowa Historical Papers Collection (RG01.01.03)

Berger, Elizabeth A. "The Student Cooperative Dormitory and Democratic Group Life as Illustrated by Russell House." Master's thesis, State University of Iowa, 1939.  Cutter number T1939.B49, located in Main storage and in University Archives.

Coop housing, Subject Vertical Files (RG 01.15.05)

Papers of Everett E. Sterner (RG 02.09.09)

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs, Iowa City Town and Campus Scenes Digital Collection

Box Contents List

Box 1

Bloomington House

---. Harry C. Eyre, Fall 1933

Chesley House

---. Robert Day (The Manse and Wilson House also, 1936-1940)

---. Earl R. Shostrom, 1942-1943 (Whetstone House also, Fall 1939-Spring 1942)

Coast House for women

---. Georgia (Gaddis) Nelson, 1938-?

---. Alice Marie (Pemberton) Smith (Mrs. Virgil Smith), Fall 1942 (Nursing School in Spring 1943)

Dean House, at various times for men or for women

---. Luella (McReynolds) Yannaccone, Spring 1949

---. Caryl (Walmsley) Wayne (Mrs. Robert Wayne), Fall 1949-Spring 1951

---. Phyllis (Apland) Land, late 1940s, (Howard House during junior and senior years)

---. Betty Jane (Rehemke) Thumma (Mrs. Robert L. Thumma), Fall 1946-Spring 1950

---. (Phyllis) June Kern, 1948-1951

---. Mr. Thor Swanson, 1942-1943 (Whetstone House during Fall 1939-Spring 1942)

---. Marion Russell Miller, 1940-1941 (Grover House 1939-1940; graduated 1943)

Fairchild House, at various times for men or for women

---. Dorothy Oakman, 1946-1950

---. Gene L. Tujetsch, Fall 1940-Spring 1942 (U.S. Army 1942)

Folsom House

---. Louis Schwartz, 1939-1942 (Whetstone House and Jefferson House also)

The Gables for men

---. Francis F. Wall, 1937-1941

---. Everett E. Sterner, Fall 1934-Spring 1940

The Grover House for men

---. Marvin F. Chevalier, Fall 1939-Spring 1941

---. Marion Russell Miller, 1939-1940 (Dean House 1940-1941; graduated 1943)

Howard House

---. Phyllis (Apland) Land, junior and senior years until 1953 (Dean House during late 1940s)

Jefferson House for men

---. George Willoughby, 1933-1936

---. Louis Schwartz, 1939-1942 (Whetstone House and Folsom House also)

Kellogg House for men

---. William S. Miletich, graduated in 1940

---. H. C. (Chuck) Scharnweber, Fall 1935-Spring 1937

---. Ronald L. Stowe, 1932-1933

The Manse for men

---. Jerome J. Tujetsch, Fall 1943-Spring 1944

---. Robert Day (Wilson House and Chesley House also, 1936-1940)

Russell House for women

---. Pat Dee, Fall 1950-Spring 1951

---. Marjorie (Johnson) Luther (Mrs. G. G. Luther), 1950-1954

---. Betty McKray, Fall 1939-Spring 1942 (Wilson House during first year)

---. Connie (Shrauger) Day (Mrs. Robert Day), 1936-1940

Tudor House for women

---. Maryetta (Baker) Harrington (Mrs. Rex R. Harrington), 1936-1938

Whetstone House for men

---. Thor Swanson, Fall 1939-Spring 1942 (Dean House during 1942-1943)

------. Correspondence to Thor Swanson's parents from UI Dean of Men regarding financial aid, 1941

---. Louis Schwartz, 1939-1942 (Folsom House and Jefferson House also)

---. Derio Dalasta, Fall 1937-Spring 1941 (includes grocery list and dining seating arrangements)

---. Earl R. Shostrom, Fall 1939-Spring 1942 (Chesley House also, 1942-1943)

Wilson House, at various times for men or for women

---. Betty McKray, Fall 1938-Spring 1939 (Russell House during following three years)

---. Robert Day (Chesley House and The Manse also during 1936-1940)