Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Janet Kimpston Herz Papers
RG 02.09.12
Collection Dates: 1919-1921
2.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Eleanor Herz Swent in June 1991.  Finding aid created October 2008.

Photographs: Box 2

Janet Kimpston's topographic map of South Dakota, 1920

Topographic map of South Dakota, 1920

Scope and Contents

The Janet Kimpston Herz papers are class notes and reports Herz made as a student at the State University of Iowa from 1919 to 1921.  Her courses for which papers exist are listed in the box list below, followed by the instructor's name and date if known.   During a four-week geology field course in 1920, Herz explored the typography of the Black Hills of South Dakota.  A transcript of an article from the Lead Daily Call newspaper, dated August 6, 1920, stated that several female students participated in the field course, as well as males.  This field work carried a prerequisite of one year of physical and historical geology, taught by professor Arthur C. Trowbridge.  During 1921, Herz was enrolled in the geology field trip to Devil's Lake State Park, Wisconsin.

As an English major, Herz completed literary courses such as Short Story, Novel, Poetry, and American Literature.  She studied the poetry of Walt Whitman as well as how to repair torn fabric for her sewing course.  Fabric swatches bearing demonstrations of hems and button holes are among her Home Economic course notes.   Her transcriptions of Latin text are preserved as well.

[D. Anderson; 10/2008]

Biographical Note

Janette ("Janet") Kimpston Herz was born in Elkader, Iowa, on December 28, 1895.  She graduated from Fayette High School in 1916.  Herz attended Upper Iowa University in Fayette before enrolling in College of Liberal Arts courses at the State University of Iowa beginning in September 1919.  She received her B.A. in English on June 14, 1921.  While participating in a geology field course in South Dakota, Janet met and later married Nathaniel Herz.  The couple resided in Lead, South Dakota.  Janet Kimpston Herz died at age 96 on January 1, 1991, in Lawrence, South Dakota.

Related Materials

Papers of Arthur C. Trowbridge (RG 99.0089)

Papers of Hardin Craig (RG99.0054)

Manuscript File Collection, Home Economics records (RG01.01.01)

Records of University of Iowa Department of Home Economics (Iowa Women's Archives)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Commencement program and course registration card

Psychology, 1919

Latin transcriptions, taught by Professor Collis, January-April 1919

Shakespeare paper, taught by Miss Nichols, February 1919

Othello paper, taught by Miss Nichols, February 1919

Rhetoric, October-December 1919

English I, October 1919

Novel, October-December 1919

Short Story, October 1919-February 1920

Modern Novel, taught by Associate Professor Sam Sloan, October 1919-January 1920

American Literature, taught by Professor Hardin Craig, (or Romantic Movement?) October 1919-February 1920

Novel, taught by Assistant Professor Walter Scott, February-March 1920

Novel paper, n.d.

Poetry and Religion, April-May 1920

Romantic Movement paper, April 1920

Romantic Movement paper, n.d.

Book reviews, April 1920

Poetry, taught by Associate Professor Edwin Piper, May-June 1920

Home Economics (sewing), n.d.

Drama paper, n.d.

Public Speaking, n.d.

History of Education, n.d.

Notebook of various course notes, 1919-1920

Box 2

Geology field notes, Black Hills, South Dakota, Assistant Professor Joseph Runner, June-August 1920

"A Report on the Geology of Certain Points of Eastern Iowa" (includes photographs) n.d.

"The Origin of the Solar System," n.d.

Geology course notes, n.d. (three folders)

Chart of geologic eras, n.d.

Geology field trip to South Dakota, Professor Joseph Runner, summer 1920

Box 3

Topographic maps of South Dakota, field trip summer 1920