Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Hardin Craig Papers
Collection Dates: 1926-1947
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None

Professor Hardin Craig, 1918

Hardin Craig, 1918

Scope and Contents

The Hardin Craig papers include his typescripts.

Biographical Note

Hardin Craig was born June 29, 1875, in Owensboro, Kentucky.  He was married to Gertrude Carr.  Mr. Craig earned his A.B. from Centre College in Kentucky in 1897.  He took his M.A. and Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1899 and 1901.  In 1897, he served as principal for one year at Stanford Academy in Kentucky, then studied at Oxford from 1901 to 1903.  From 1903 to 1905 he was an instructor in English at Princeton, and continued at Princeton as an Edgerstoune School preceptor (tutor) from 1905 to 1910.   In May 1910 he left Princeton for the University of Minnesota, where he was professor of English until 1919.  He was on military leave from the University of Minnesota for two years to serve in the Army.

In April 1919 Dr. Craig joined the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa, and was made head of the department the following year.  At the University of Iowa, he taught courses in Shakespeare, Sixteenth Century Literature, and Liturgical Sources of Middle English Literature.  In 1928 Dr. Craig left Iowa to teach at Stanford University.  In March 1942 he resigned from Stanford to teach at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  Professor Craig was considered to be an authority on Shakespeare and Milton.  Hardin Craig died in 1968.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Craig, Hardin," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Ansley, Clarke Fisher," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Laird, Charlton. "The "Literati " at Iowa in the Twenties." Books at Iowa 37 (November 1982): 16-37

Box Contents List

Box 1

Personal writings prior to 1932

"Fierce Hate"

"The Seventh Suspect"

"With the Main Guard"

"In This Corner"

"Apologia Pro Moribus Meis" (An Explanation For My Death)

Box 2

"A Matter of Accent"

"In Defense of This Series"