Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Marilyn Nesper Hewlett Papers
RG 02.09.13
Collection Dates: 1942-1946
0.75 linear feet

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Marilyn Nesper Hewlett in July 1997.  Finding aid created in November 2008.

Photographs: None

Marilyn Nesper Hewlett, 1945 senior portrait

Marilyn Nesper Hewlett, 1945

Scope and Contents

The Papers of Marilyn Nesper Hewlett include her course notes while she was an undergraduate majoring in speech between 1942 and 1945 and from some of her graduate work during 1946 and 1947She received her B.A. in Speech and Dramatic Art in 1945 and her M.A. in 1947, both from the State University of Iowa.  Of particular interest are her notes as a participant in "Speaking for Victory," Iowa's wartime student speaking program. The 1945 Hawkeye yearbook described this program as an opportunity for students to speak about war-related topics such as financing the war, rationing, and post-war international organizations.

Biographical Note

Marilyn Eloise Nesper Hewlett was born in Toledo, Ohio, on December 10, 1923.  She received her B.A. in Speech and Dramatic Art at the State University of Iowa in 1945 and her M.A. in 1947.  After receiving her master's degree, she moved to Chicago, Illinois, to teach at Pestalozzi-Froebel Teachers College and  the University of Illinois.  In 1946 she married Richard G. Hewlett, also of Toledo, Ohio.  Marilyn Nesper Hewlett died May 28, 2005, in Bethesda, Maryland.

[D. Anderson; 11/2008]

Related Materials

Folder, "Hewlett, Marilyn Nesper," Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.01)

Hewlett, Marilyn Nesper. "An Analysis of Theories of Speech Arrangement as Developed by Selected Ancient Rhetoricians." Master's thesis, State University of Iowa, 1947.

Papers of Walter F. Loehwing (RG99.0034)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Voice and Phonetics, 1942-1943

Survey of Spanish Literature, 1942-1943

Literature and the Art of Writing, 1942-1943

Contemporary Literature, 1943

Public Discussion and Debate, 1943-1944

Educational Psychology; Measurements, 1944

Methods in Speech, 1944

Stage Direction, 1944

Argumentation and Debate, 1944-1945

Radio Broadcasting, 1944-1945

Speech Pathology, 1944-1945

Iowa's wartime student speaking program, "Speaking for Victory," 1943-1946

Box 2

Stagecraft, 1945

British and American Oratory Speech, 1945-1946

The European Novel, summer 1946

Critical Studies in Oratorical Theory, summer 1946