Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Walter F. Loehwing Papers
RG 99.0034
Collection Dates: 1920-1960
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: Box 1

Professor Walter F. Loehwing, n.d.

Walter F. Loehwing, 1935

Scope and Contents

The Walter Loehwing papers include articles and family photographs.

Biographical Note

Walter Ferdinand Loehwing was born in Chicago on November 25, 1896.  He graduated from Englewood High School in 1914.  Mr. Loehwing served in the U.S. Army as Major in Field Artillery, 1917 to1920, after which he returned to Chicago.  He earned his B.S. in 1920, M.S. in 1921, and Ph.D. in 1925 – all at the University of Chicago.  He was professor and head of the Department of Chemistry and dean at Oklahoma State School of Mines from 1920 until 1923.

Dr. Loehwing joined the faculty at the University of Iowa in 1925 as assistant professor of Botany, and was promoted to associate professor in 1928.  He was made full professor in 1930.  Loehwing’s area of research was plant physiology.  He was made head of the Department of Botany in 1940, and Dean of the Graduate College in 1950.  Dean Loehwing was president of the Iowa Academy of Science, 1956-1957.  Loehwing married Helen Cromer in February 1936.  Walter Loehwing died August 1, 1960.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Loehwing, Walter F.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Dept. of Biological Sciences (RG 06.40)

Papers of Marilyn Nesper Hewlett (RG02.09.13)

Box Contents List

Box 1


---. Walter Loehwing portraits

---. Helen Loehwing

---. Classroom biology display

---. Loehwing with G.E. Perpinan

Certificates and obituary

Caricature of Walter Loehwing

Reprints and articles, 1925 -1959

"Speaking for Victory" WSUI radio series, aired January 12, 1944