Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Mildred Foster Crawford Papers
RG 02.09.15
Collection Dates: 1924-1927
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated to University Archives by Cora L. Unash in January 1979.  Collection processed in December 2008.

Photographs: None

University of Iowa College of Law class of 1928, including Mildred Foster Crawford

Mildred F. Crawford, Cora L. Unash, Allie M. Frazier, in Law class of 1928.

Mildred F. Crawford, Cora L. Unash, and Helen E. Ross posed on the steps of Old Capitol, second row on the right, with the UI College of Law class of 1928.  Three women were in the class. However, the names are not matched with the photograph from the 1928 Hawkeye yearbook.


Scope and Contents

The Mildred Foster Crawford papers include seven notebooks with handwritten College of Law class notes, dated 1924-1927.  These courses were offered for credit toward a Juris Doctor degree.  The titles of the courses are noted in the box list.


Biographical Note

Mildred Foster Crawford was born in 1900 and grew up in West Union, Iowa.  She received her B.A. from Upper Iowa College in Fayette, Iowa, in 1925.  In fall 1924, Ms. Crawford began her classes at the State University of Iowa College of Law.  She received her Juris Doctor degree on June 4, 1928, and graduated with honors.  After graduation, she returned to West Union and worked in the law office of H. P. Hancock & Crawford.   Mildred Foster Crawford died in West Union of tuberculosis on July 1, 1934.

[D. Anderson; 12/2008]


Related Materials

Records of the College of Law (RG 14.02)

Papers of George Nagle (RG 02.09.25)



Box Contents List

Box 1

"Contracts," fall semester 1924

"Personal Property," fall semester 1924

"Joint Obligations," spring semester 1925

Box 2

"Judicial Notice," fall 1926

"Bills and Notes," fall 1926

"Subject Matter of Sale," spring semester 1927

"Suretyship," spring 1927