Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Birney C. Woolley Papers
RG 02.09.19
Collection Dates: 1888-1889
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid created in August 2009.

Photographs: None

Woolley lecture notes, 1889

"Advanced Theory of Railroad Location" course notes, Janurary 1889

Scope and Contents

The Birney C. Woolley papers house four notebooks containing Woolley's civil engineering lecture notes recorded during fall 1888 and spring 1889.  The instructor of the courses was professor Charles D. Jameson.  The course titles and semesters of enrollment are identified in the box list.

Biographical Note

Birney C. Woolley was born on September 6, 1867.  He attended the State University of Iowa during the fall 1888 and spring 1889 semesters as a civil engineering student from Yankton, South Dakota.  Woolley served in the House of Representatives from 1899 to 1900, as representative from Yankton County, South Dakota.  Woolley married Minnie Lower on October 18, 1893.

[D. Anderson; 08/2009]

Related Materials

Folder, "Philbrick, Philetus Harvey," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Joseph Homer Howe (RG 02.09.05)

Persons, Stow. "The College of Engineering." Iowa City, 1997. 30 pp. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03).

Box Contents List

Box 1

"Structural Drawing." October 1888.

"Advanced Theory of Railroad Location." January-February 1889.

"Tunnels." January-February 1889.

"Bridge Design." February-March 1889.