Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Ethel Irene Young Harryman
RG 02.09.24
Collection Dates: 1927-1931
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated to University Archives by Marilyn Harryman Rodgers in March 2010.  Guide posted to the Internet in August 2010.

Photographs: Box 1

Ethel Irene Young Harryman scrapbook, 1927-1931

Scrapbook of SUI alumna Ethel Irene Young Harryman, 1927-1931

Scope and Contents

These papers include a scrapbook, an autograph book, ephemera, and the 1931 Bachelor of Arts diploma of Ethel Irene Young Harryman. 

Harryman's diploma is housed with a series of SUI diplomas.

Biographical Note

Ethel Irene Young was born on February 12, 1908, near Kellogg, Iowa.  She graduated from Newton High School in 1926 and began classes at the State University of Iowa in 1927.  As a student, Harryman lived in Currier Hall and worked in the Office of the Registrar.  She also started a typing service and hired students to assist her in this growing business.  She received the Bachelor of Arts degree in June 1931, majoring in music and English.

After graduation, she taught vocal music and piano to grades one through twelve in Fairbank, Iowa.  In fall 1932, she taught a music program in Blairstown, Iowa, for one year.  She served as vocal instructor to students in grades three through twelve in the Delhi, Iowa, from 1933 to 1935.

In 1936 she married the principal of the Delhi school, Harold E. Harryman.  While her husband completed his degree at Iowa State Teachers College (now the University of Northern Iowa), Ethel taught music at the high school in Jordan, Iowa. During World War II, the couple moved to Harold's boyhood farm in southeast Iowa, where they raised their son and two daughters, Marilyn and Shirley.  Ethel Harryman died in December 2004.

[D. Anderson; 08/2010]

Related Materials

Papers of Emma Blythe (RG 02.09.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1


The scrapbook holds the event programs she attended from 1927 to 1931.  These include her piano recital programs during 1930 and 1931, as well as programs she attended such as the Sergei Rachmaninoff piano concert held in Des Moines, Iowa, on March 10, 1930.  Campus programs she attended include the concert of Geraldine Farrar at the Iowa Memorial Union on February 13, 1930, and an event program by alumnus and Arctic explorer Vilhjalmur Stefansson.  A program for an Iowa City High School play, "Penrod," was held at the University High School auditorium in February 1930.  One program pasted to a scrapbook page is for the Youde's Inn annual Valentine dinner, with sorority members providing the musical entertainment.

Autograph book

The autograph book was presented to Ethel from her teacher, Alyce Hildebrand.  It includes entries from friends and classmates while she was a student at the State University of Iowa, from 1927 to 1931.  This book also includes programs, invitations, and newspaper clippings.


The ephemera includes a metal letter opener and a metal page marker, both bearing the SUI seal.  Also included are two small harmonicas.