Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Iowa Writers' Workshop
RG 06.12.08
Collection Dates: 1965-
693 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: Series I, II, X, XI, XII, and XIII are open for research; reproduction from Series I and II requires students' and applicants' written permission. Access to Series III-IV and VI-IX is granted only by permission of authorized Iowa Writer's Workshop staff. Series V (box 1) is closed until January 1, 2024.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials have been transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Writers' Workshop administrative office at various times. Additions to the collection continue to accrue. Preliminary inventory prepared by David McCartney 2004; guide posted to the Internet 2004, revised January 2007 and October 2009.

Photographs: None

Paul Engle with Writers' Workshop students, ca. 1957
Paul Engle with Writers' Workshop students
ca. 1957

From Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs
Series Colleges and Departments, Sub-series
Writers' Workshop


Scope and Contents

The Records of the Iowa Writers' Workshop consist of thirteen series.

Series I, Student Coursework, consists of photocopies of students' works arranged by semester and class section within each semester. It is the largest series in the collection, dating from Fall 1965 to the present. Note that a few of the semesters are filed out of chronological sequence.

Series II, Award Competitions, consists of writing entries from individuals vying for scholarships and other awards.

Series III, Students and Alumni, consists of files containing correspondence, applications, and other material, arranged alphabetically by name of individual within each accrual. Note that accrual dates cover academic years; e.g., "1986-91" covers the 1986-87 to 1991-92 academic years. Restricted access.

Series IV, Faculty, is arranged alphabetically by name of individual. Restricted access.

Series V, Director's Files, consists of correspondence and other material created and received by the Office of the Director. Restricted access.

Series VI, Administrative Files. Restricted access.

Series VII, Accepted; Not Coming. Restricted access.

Series VIII, Rejected Applicants' Evaluation Sheets. Restricted access.

Series IX, Applicants' Letters of Recommendation. Restricted access.

Series X, Ephemera, includes posters and other printed matter, dating from 1982 to present.

Series XI, Stephen Wilbers Project, consists of correspondence and interview notes prepared by an alumnus of the Workshop who prepared a history of the program in 1980.

Series XII, Jean Wylder Project, consists of survey responses obtained from numerous alumni during the early 1970's as part of a history project. The responses are arranged by era of attendance/graduation.

Series XIII, Newsletters, consists of newsletters released once or twice yearly since 1970 chronicling the publishing activity of Workshop alumni and students, as well as Workshop programs and events.


Organizational History

The Iowa Writers' Workshop, long distinguished as America's premier program in creative writing, was founded in 1936. It was the nation's first creative writing degree program, a result of the University of Iowa's pioneering decision in 1922 to accept creative work as a means to fulfill graduate degree requirements. The following is excerpted from the Workshop's Web site (http://www.uiowa.edu/~iww/about.htm):

Verse-Making, the first creative writing class at Iowa, was offered in the spring semester of 1897. In 1922, Carl Seashore, dean of the Graduate College, introduced a new model for the academic study of the arts when he announced that the University of Iowa would accept creative work as theses for advanced degrees. The School of Letters began to offer regular courses in writing in which selected students were tutored by resident and visiting writers. The Workshop as an entity began in 1936, with the gathering together of poets and fiction writers under the direction of Wilbur Schramm. From the outset the program enjoyed a series of distinguished visitors, among them Robert Frost and Robert Penn Warren, who would lecture and stay for several weeks to discuss students' work. John Berryman, Robert Lowell, and others came to teach for a full year.

One of the first students to receive an M.A. in creative writing was Paul Engle. He offered as his dissertation a collection of poems, Worn Earth, which won him the Yale Younger Poets prize. Paul Engle assumed the directorship of the Workshop in 1941 and held it for 25 years, a period which saw it flourish and become a significant force in American letters. During World War II enrollment was no more than a dozen students, but after the war it grew, attaining in a few years a strength of over a hundred students, and dividing into the fiction and poetry sections which exist today.


Related Materials

Papers of Paul Engle (MsC 514)

Papers of John Towner Frederick (MsC 513)

Papers of Jack Leggett (MsC 503)

Papers of Wilbur Schramm (RG 99.0118)

Conroy, Frank, editor. The Eleventh Draft: Craft and the Writing Life From the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1999, 235 pp.

Dana, Robert, ed. A Community of Writers: Paul Engle and the Iowa Writers' Workshop. University of Iowa Press, 1999. 294 pp.

Wilbers, Stephen McCoy. "Emergence of the Iowa Writers' Workshop." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1978. 210 pp. Dissertation Abstracts International 39: 3587-A.

Wilbers, Steve. "Inside the Iowa Writers' Workshop: Interviews with Three of Its Teachers." North American Review 262, no. 2 (summer 1977): 7-15, illus. Marvin Bell, Vance Bourjaily, and Donald Justice.

Wilbers, Stephen. The Iowa Writers' Workshop: Origins, Emergence, & Growth. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1980. 153 pp., illus., notes, bibliog.

In addition, numerous biographies of noted graduates of the Workshop have been published, many of which include references to the Workshop and the Iowa City community. See the Archives' online bibliography, Writing Programs category.



Box Contents List

Series I: Student Coursework  [return to top]

Box number:

1 - Fall 1965

2 - Spring 1966

3 - Spring 1969

4 - Spring 1966

5 - Fall 1966

6 - Fall 1966

7 - Spring 1967

8 - Spring 1967, Summer 1967, Fall 1967

9 - Spring 1967, Spring 1968, Fall 1968

10 - Spring 1968

11 - Spring 1968, Summer 1968, Fall 1968

12 - Spring 1967, Fall 1967, Spring 1968, Fall 1968

13 - Spring 1968, Summer 1968, Fall 1968

14 - Fall 1968, Spring 1969, Summer 1969, Fall 1969

15 - Spring 1969 (see also: series I, box 3)

16 - Spring 1969, Fall 1969

17 - Fall 1969

18 - Fall 1968, Fall 1969

19 - Spring 1969, Fall 1969, Spring 1970

20 - Spring 1970

21 - Spring 1970, Summer 1970, Fall 1970

22 - Spring 1970

23 - Spring 1970, Summer 1970

24 - Fall 1970

25 - Fall 1970

26 - Fall 1970, Spring 1971

27 - Spring 1971

28 - Spring 1971, Summer 1971

29 - Summer 1971, Fall 1971

30 - Fall 1971, Spring 1972, Summer 1972, Fall 1972

31 - Fall 1972

32 - Fall 1972, Spring 1973

33 - Spring 1973, Summer 1973, Fall 1973

34 - Fall 1973

35 - Spring 1974

36 - Spring 1974, Fall 1974

37 - Fall 1974

38 - Fall 1974

39 - Fall 1974, Spring 1975

40 - Spring 1975

41 - Spring 1975, Summer 1975, Fall 1975

42 - Fall 1975

43 - Fall 1975

44 - Fall 1975, Spring 1976

45 - Spring 1976

46 - Spring 1976

47 - Spring 1976, Summer 1976

48 - Summer 1976, Fall 1976

49 - Fall 1976

50 - Fall 1976

51 - Fall 1976, Spring 1977

52 - Spring 1977

53 - Spring 1977

54 - Spring 1977

55 - Spring 1977, Fall 1977

56 - Fall 1977

57 - Fall 1977

58 - Fall 1977

59 - Fall 1977, Spring 1978

60 - Spring 1978

61 - Spring 1978

62 - Spring 1978, Summer 1978, Fall 1978

63 - Fall 1978

64 - Fall 1978

65 - Fall 1978

66 - Fall 1978, Spring 1979

67 - Spring 1979

68 - Spring 1979

69 - Spring 1979

70 - Spring 1979, Fall 1979

71 - Fall 1979

72 - Fall 1979

73 - Fall 1979

74 - Fall 1979, Spring 1980

75 - Spring 1980

76 - Spring 1980

77 - Spring 1980, Summer 1980, Fall 1980

78 - Fall 1980

79 - Fall 1980

80 - Fall 1980

81 - Fall 1980, Spring 1981

82 - Spring 1981

83 - Spring 1981

84 - Spring 1981

85 - Spring 1981, Summer 1981

86 - Summer 1981

87 - Summer 1981, Fall 1981

88 - Fall 1981

89 - Fall 1981

90 - Fall 1981

91 - Fall 1981, Spring 1982

92 - Spring 1982

93 - Spring 1982

94 - Spring 1982

95 - Spring 1982, Summer 1982

96 - Summer 1982, Fall 1982

97 - Fall 1982

98 - Fall 1982

99 - Fall 1982

100 - Fall 1982, Spring 1983

101 - Spring 1983

102 - Spring 1983, Summer 1983

103 - Summer 1983, Fall 1983

104 - Fall 1983

105 - Fall 1983

106 - Fall 1983, Spring 1984

107 - Spring 1984

108 - Spring 1984

109 - Spring 1984, Summer 1984

110 - Summer 1984, Fall 1984

111 - Fall 1984

112 - Fall 1984

113 - Fall 1984, Spring 1985

114 - Spring 1985

115 - Spring 1985

116 - Spring 1985, Summer 1985, Fall 1985

117 - Fall 1985

118 - Fall 1985

119 - Fall 1985, Spring 1986

120 - Spring 1986

121 - Spring 1986

122 - Spring 1986, Summer 1986

123 - Summer 1986, Fall 1986

124 - Fall 1986

125 - Fall 1986

126 - Fall 1986, Spring 1987

127 - Spring 1987

128 - Spring 1987

129 - Spring 1987, Summer 1987

130 - Summer 1987, Fall 1987

131 - Fall 1987

132 - Fall 1987

133 - Fall 1987, Spring 1988

134 - Spring 1988

135 - Spring 1988

136 - Spring 1988, Summer 1988

137 - Summer 1988, Fall 1988

138 - Fall 1988

139 - Fall 1988

140 - Fall 1988

141 - Spring 1989

142 - Spring 1989

143 - Spring 1989

144 - Summer 1989

145 - Fall 1989

146 - Fall 1989

147 - Fall 1989

148 - Fall 1989

149 - Fall 1989, Spring 1990

150 - Spring 1990

151 - Spring 1990

152 - Spring 1990, Summer 1990

153 - Summer 1990

154 - 1980's, including Leggett

155 - 1991-1998

156 - Fall 1986

157 - Spring 1988, Summer 1988

158 - Spring 1988, Fall 1988

159 - Fall 1988, Spring 1989

160 - Spring 1989

161 - Spring 1989, Summer 1989, Fall 1989

162 - Fall 1989

163 - Fall 1989

164 - Spring 1990

165 - Spring 1990

166 - Summer 1990, Fall 1990

167 - Summer 1990, Fall 1990

168 - Fall 1990

169 - Fall 1990

170 - Fall 1990, Spring 1991

171 - Spring 1991

172 - Spring 1991

173 - Spring 1991, Summer 1991

174 - Spring 1991, Summer 1991, Fall 1991

175 - Fall 1991

176 - Fall 1991

177 - Fall 1991

178 - Fall 1991, Spring 1992

179 - Spring 1992

180 - Spring 1992

181 - Spring 1992

182 - Spring 1992, Summer 1992, Fall 1992

183 - Fall 1992

184 - Fall 1992

185 - Fall 1992

186 - Fall 1992, Spring 1993

187 - Spring 1993

188 - Spring 1993

189 - Spring 1993, Summer 1993

190 - Spring 1993, Summer 1993

191 - Summer 1993, Fall 1993

192 - Fall 1993

193 - Fall 1993

194 - Fall 1993

195 - Fall 1993

196 - Fall 1993

197 - Fall 1993, Spring 1994

198 - Spring 1994

199 - Spring 1994

200 - Spring 1994

201 - Spring 1994

202 - Spring 1994, Summer 1994

203 - Spring 1994, Summer 1994

204 - Summer 1994, Fall 1994

205 - Fall 1994

206 - Fall 1994

207 - Fall 1994

208 - Fall 1994

209 - Fall 1994

210 - Spring 1995

211 - Spring 1995

212 - Spring 1995

213 - Spring 1995

214 - Spring 1995, Summer 1995

215 - Spring 1995, Fall 1995

216 - Spring 1995, Fall 1995

217 - Summer 1995

218 - Fall 1995

219 - Fall 1995

220 - Fall 1995

221 - Spring 1995, Fall 1995, Spring 1996, Fall, 1996

222 - Spring 1996

223 - Spring 1996

224 - Spring 1996

225 - Spring 1996

226 - Spring 1996, Summer 1996

227 - Spring 1996, Summer 1996

228 - Fall 1996

229 - Fall 1996

230 - Fall 1996

231 - Fall 1996

232 - Fall 1996

233 - Spring 1997

234 - Spring 1997

235 - Spring 1997

236 - Spring 1997

237 - Spring 1997

238 - Spring 1997, Fall 1997

239 - Summer 1997, Fall 1997

240 - Fall 1997

241 - Fall 1997

242 - Fall 1997

243 - Fall 1997

244 - Fall 1997, Spring 1999

245 - Spring 1998

246 - Spring 1998

247 - Spring 1998

248 - Spring 1998

249 - Spring 1998

250 - Spring 1998

251 - Spring 1998

252 - Spring 1998, Summer 1998

253 - Spring 1998, Summer 1998

254 - Spring 1998, Fall 1998

255 - Fall 1998

256 - Fall 1998

257 - Fall 1998

258 - Fall 1998

259 - Spring 1999

260 - Spring 1999

261 - Spring 1999

262 - Spring 1999, Fall 1999

263 - Fall 1999

264 - Fall 1999

265 - Fall 1999

266 - Fall 1999

267 - Fall 1999

268 - Fall 1999

269 - Spring 2000

270 - Spring 2000

271 - Spring 2000

272 - Spring 2000

273 - Spring 2000

274 - Summer 2000, Fall 2000

275 - Summer 2000, Summer 2001

276 - Fall 2000

277 - Fall 2000

278 - Fall 2000

279 - Fall 2000

280 - Fall 2000

281 - Spring 2001

282 - Spring 2001

283 - Spring 2001

284 - Spring 2001

285 - Spring 2001

286 - Summer 2001, Fall 2001

287 - Fall 2001

288 - Fall 2001

289 - Fall 2001

290 - Spring 2002

291 - Spring 2002

292 - Spring 2002, Summer 2002

293 - Summer 2002, Fall 2002

294 - Summer 2002, Fall 2002

295 - Fall 2002

296 - Fall 2002

297 - Fall 2002

298 - Spring 2003

299 - Spring 2003

300 - Spring 2003

301 - Summer 2003, Fall 2003

302 - Fall 2003

303 - Fall 2003

304 - Fall 2003

305 - Fall 2003

306 - Spring 2003: Conroy's theses manuscripts

307 - Spring 2004

308 - Spring 2004

309 - Spring 2004

310 - Spring 2004

311 - Spring 2004, Summer 2004, Fall 2004

312 - Summer 2004

313 - Summer 2004

314 - Summer 2004, Fall 2004

315 - Fall 2004

316 - Fall 2004

317 - Fall 2004

318 - Fall 2004

319 - Fall 2004, Spring 2005

320 - Spring 2005

321 - Spring 2005

322 - Spring 2005

323 - Spring 2005

324 - Spring 2005, Summer 2005

325 - Fall 2005

326 - Fall 2005

327 - Fall 2005

328 - Fall 2005

329 - Spring 2006

330 - Spring 2006

331 - Spring 2006

332 - Spring 2006, Summer 2006

333 - Summer 2006

334 - Fall 2006

335 - Fall 2006

336 - Fall 2006

337 - Spring 2007

338 - Spring 2007

339 - Spring 2007

340 - Summer 2007, Fall 2007

341 - Summer 2007

342 - Fall 2007

343 - Fall 2007

344 - Fall 2007

345 - Fall 2007

346 - Fall 2007

347 - Fall 2007

348 - Fall 2007

349 - Fall 2007

350 - Spring 2008

351 - Spring 2008

352 - Spring 2008

353 - Spring 2008

354 - Spring 2008

355 - Spring 2008

356 - Spring 2008

357 - Spring 2008

358 - Summer 2008, Fall 2008

359 - Fall 2008

360 - Fall 2008

361 - Spring 2009

362 - Spring 2009

363 - Spring 2009

364 - Summer 2009, Fall 2009

365 - Fall 2009

366 - Fall 2009

367 - Fall 2009

368 - Fall 2009, Spring 2010

369 - Spring 2010

370 - Spring 2010

371 - Spring 2010

372 - Spring 2010, Fall 2010

373 - Fall 2010

374 - Fall 2010

375 - Fall 2010

376 - Spring 2011

377 - Spring 2011

378 - Spring 2011

379 - Spring 2011

380 - Summer 2011

 

 

Series II: Award Competitions   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - 1984-88, Al-Ay

2 - 1984-88, Ba-Be

3 - 1984-88, Bi-Br

4 - 1984-88, Bu-Ci

5 - 1984-88, De-En

6 - 1984-88, Es-Fi

7 - 1984-88, Fl-Hae

8 - 1984-88, Har

9 - 1984-88, He-Ho

10 - 1984-88, Ho-Hu

11 - 1984-88, Ja-Ke

12 - 1984-88, Ki-Le

13 - 1984-88, Lou

14 - 1984-88, M-N

15 - 1984-88, O'D-O'R

16 - 1984-88, Pa-Pe

17 - 1984-88, Pi-Re

18 - 1984-88, Ri-Ru

19 - 1984-88, Sa-So

20 - 1984-88, Sp-St

21 - 1984-88, Su-Wh

22 - 1984-88, Wh-Y

23 - 1989 applicants

24 - 1989 applicants

25 - 1990 applicants

26 - 1990 applicants

27 - 1991 applicants

28 - 1991 applicants

29 - 1991-92 applicants

30 - 1992-94 applicants

31 - 1994 applicants

32 - 1994 applicants and winners

33 - 1998 other award applicants, theses

34 - 1997 applicants

35 - 1997 applicants

36 - 1997 applicants

37 - 1999 applicants

38 - 1998 applicants

39 - 1998 applicants

40 - 1998 applicants

41 - 1998 applicants

42 - 1998 applicants

43 - 1999 winners

44 - 1999 applicants

45 - 1999 applicants

46 - 1999 applicants

47 - 2000 applicants

48 - 2000 applicants

49 - 2000 applicants

50 - 2001 applicants

51 - 2001 applicants

52 - 2001 applicants

53 - 2001 applicants

54 - 2001 applicants

55 - 2003 rejected

56 - 2003 rejected

57 - 2003 rejected

58 - 2002 rejected

59 - 2002 rejected

60 - 2002 rejected

61 - Past Michener and Schaefer award winners

62 - 2004 rejected

63 - 2004 rejected

64 - 2004 rejected

65 - 2004 rejected

66 - 2000-03 award winners

67 - 2005 rejected

68 - 2005 rejected

69 - 2005 rejected

70 - 2006 rejected

71 - 2006 rejected

72 - 2006 rejected

73 - 2007 rejected

74 - 2007 rejected

75 - 2008 third year fellowship rejects

76 - 2008 third year fellowship rejects

77 - 2008 third year fellowship rejects

Series III: Students and Alumni   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - 1968-78, Aa-Bat

2 - 1968-78, Bau-Cah

3 - 1968-78, Cai-Cos

4 - 1968-78, Cot-Dow

5 - 1968-78, Dox-Fer

6 - 1968-78, Fes-Gow

7 - 1968-78, Gra-Har

8 - 1968-78, Har-Hol

9 - 1968-78, Hom-Joh

10 - 1968-78, Joh-Kro

11 - 1968-78, Kru-Lin

12 - 1968-78, Lip-Met

13 - 1968-78, May-O'Do

14 - 1968-78, O'Gr-Pro

15 - 1968-78, Pru-San

16 - 1968-78, Sar-Sim

17 - 1968-78, Sim-Sym

18 - 1968-78, Tag-Wan

19 - 1968-78, War-Zyk

20 - 1980-82 (with some earlier), A-Gar

21 - 1980-82 (with some earlier), Gay-Lon

22 - 1980-82 (with some earlier), Mag-Ses

23 - 1980-82 (with some earlier), Sha-Wol

24 - 1982-85, Alt-Che

25 - 1982-85, Chi-Fon

26 - 1982-85, Foo-Hav

27 - 1982-85, Hav-Mad

28 - 1982-85, Mag-Reg

29 - 1982-85, Ren-Str

30 - 1982-85, Stu-Yra

31 - 1986-91, Alb-Ber

32 - 1986-91, Ber-Cas

33 - 1986-91, Cha-Dra

34 - 1986-91, Dra-Gee

35 - 1986-91, Ger-Her

36 - 1986-91, Hil-Jon

37 - 1986-91, Jud-Lov

38 - 1986-91, Lun-Moo

39 - 1986-91, Mor-Pot

40 - 1986-91, Pre-Roe

41 - 1986-91, Roh-Ste

42 - 1986-91, Ste-Whi

43 - 1986-91, Whi-Zuc

44 - Summer 1993, A-Z

45 - Summer 1992 and 1999, A-Z

Series IV: Faculty   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - Benedict, Dianne

      Bock, Sue

      Gilchrist, Ellen

      Helprin, Mark

      Henry, Dewitt

      Hollo, Anselm

      Howard, Jane

      Ignatow, David

      McPherson, Sandra

      Miller, Susan and Bauer, Doug

      Pesetsky, Bette

      Pickering, Nancy

      Sacks, Peter

      Sadoff, Ira

      Schwartz, Lynne Sharon

      Settle, Mary Lee

      Singer, Brett

      Southwick, Marcia

      Vivante, Arturo

      Vogelsang, Arthur

      Wilner, Eleanor

      Wilson, Angus

      Wilson, Robley

Series V: Director's Files   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - A-Z

Series VI: Administrative Files   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - 1968-86

2 - 1968-86

3 - To 1986

4 - Bloc allocations, 1972-89

5 - Foundation correspondence, 1991-

6 - 1981-91

7 - Administrative subject files, 1980s

8 - Administrative subject files, 1980s

9 - Administrative correspondence, 1984-89

10 - Payroll listings, account statements, 1978-85

11 - Payroll listings, account statements, 1980s

12 - 1989-95

13 - 1987-95

14 - 1990-95

15 - Expense records, 1990-96

16 - Subject files, 1989-98

17 - Subject files, 1984-97

18 - Subject files, 1987-97, including student directories, 1975-86

19 - Subject files, 1982-93

20 - Correspondence

Series VII: Accepted; not coming   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - 1980-84, A-Har

2 - 1980-84, Har-Per

3 - 1980-84, Phi-Yat

4 - 1985-93, A-Cra

5 - 1985-93, Cre-Le

6 - 1985-93, Ma-Sch

7 - 1985-93, Sh-Y

Series VIII: Rejected Applicants' Evaluation Sheets   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - 1980-82

2 - 1983-84

3 - 1985

4 - 1986-88

5 - 1989-90

Series IX: Applicants' Letters of Recommendation   [return to top]

Box number:

1 - 1983-89

2 - 1988-89

3 - 1988-89

4 - 1990-91, A-J

5 - 1990-91, K-T

6 - 1990-91, T-V

7 - 1992-96, A-E

8 - 1992-96, E-Ki

9 - 1992-96, Ki-Peri

10 - 1992-96, Perr-U

11 - 1992-96, Ue-Z

12 - Summer 1999, Summer 1992

Series X: Ephemera

Box Number:

1 - Posters and other printed matter; 1982 - ; also undated

Series XI: Stephen Wilbers project   [return to top]

Box Number:

1 - Survey administrative files

2 - Correspondence, A - D.

        ----. E - H.

        ----. I - O.

        ----. P - S.

        ----. T - Z.       

Series XII: Jean Wylder project   [return to top]

Box Number:

1 - Workshop history notes: administrative files, general Workshop history

        Reminiscences. Prior to 1950: John Hospers, Barbara Spargo, Norman Foerster, Wilbur Schramm, Jean Wylder on Flannery O'Connor (from North American Review, Spring 1970 issue), William De Witt Snodgrass and Donald T. Torchiana (from Northwestern University Tri-Quarterly, Spring 1960 issue), Clarke Fisher Ansley, Margaret Walker Alexander, George Abbe

        ----. Early 1950's: James Sunwall, Ray West on Dylan Thomas's 1951 visit, William Stafford, Morgan Gibson, Richard Stern, Oakley Hall, Ogden Plumb, James B. Hall, Joseph Langland, Gene Brzenk

        ----. Late 1950's: John Gilgun, Morgan Gibson, Ogden Plumb, Jerry Bumpus

        ----. Early 1960's: Harry Barba, Lewis Turco ("Portrait of Donald Justice"), Philip O'Connor ("Max Yocum's Horse"), Jack Welch ("A Parable"), Warren Slesinger, John Clellon Holmes, Edmund Keeley, B.C. Hall

        ----. Late 1960's: Bruce Dobler ("All About Algren"), William Richard Keough, Brian Salchert ("A Traveler from the Dunes"), Max Collins, Rochelle Holt

 

Series XIII: Newsletters  [return to top]

Box Number:

1 - 1970-