Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the University of Iowa Center for Human Rights
RG 23.14
Collection Dates: 1998-2006
19.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Records of the UI Center for Human Rights were transferred to the University Archives as Accessions 2006-18, 2006-20 and 2007-20. Guide posted to the Internet October 2007.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Records of the UI Center for Human Rights consist primarily of materials concerning the Center's Child Labor Research Initiative (CLRI), supported in part by the U.S. Department of Labor, the United Nations, and the International Labour Office. Records are arranged in the following four series: Administrative, Countries, Conference and Teaching Material, and Reports and Articles.

Historical Note

The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights, organized in 1998 by Prof. Burns H. Weston, Prof. Rex Honey and Dorothy M. Paul, grew from the programming efforts of Global Focus: Human Rights '98, initiated and led by Prof. Weston to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on December 10,1948.

In 1999, the program became The UI Center for Human Rights, a unit of The University of Iowa International Programs. According to its web site, its mission is the "promotion and protection of human rights at home and abroad through distinguished multidisciplinary leadership in human rights research, education, and public service to the University, its surrounding communities, the State of Iowa, and beyond."

Related Materials

Papers of Kenneth Cmiel (RG 99.0042)

Records of Students Against Sweatshops (RG 02.06.06)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Series I: Administrative

Course syllabi

Course evaluations

Correspondence: U.S. Department of Labor, 2001-2004

----. Sen. Tom Harkin, 2002-2003

----. International Labour Office, 2002-2004

Box 2

CLRI: Workplan

----. Department of Labor midterm review and evaluation

----. Budget

----. Grant activation

----. Request for proposals

----. Statements of work, 2002-2004

Box 3

----. Administrative reports, 2002-2003

----. Budget cost sharing

Box 4

Series II: Countries





Costa Rica

Czech Republic


Box 5

Egypt (cont'd.)

El Salvador


The Gambia

South Africa



Box 6






Box 7









Box 8


United Kingdom

United States



South Africa

Box 9

Series III: Conference and Teaching Material

Teaching About Global Child Labor Conference, July 26-27, 2004:



Applicants' files

Computer media

Box 10

Child Labor Colloquium, July 2003

Child Labor and International Human Rights reading packet, Spring 2003

----. Spring 2004

Introduction to Global Child Labor: Adult Education Workshop, June 2004

----. July 2004

----. Resource Packet for Teachers, June 2004

Child Labor and International Standards, September 2004

Hazardous Child Labor, October 2004

Child Soldiers, July 2004

Child Slavery, October 2004

Child Trafficking and Sexual Exploitation, October 2004

Child Labor and Children's Health, September 2004

Child Labor and International Trade, September 2004

Box 11

International Human Rights and Child Labor: Research Seminar, Spring 2002

----. Spring 2003

----. Spring 2004

Teaching Child Labor Issues in the Classroom, May 2-3, 2003

Box 12

Series IV: Reports and articles

Helping Hands or Shackled Lives? Understanding Child Domestic Labour and Responses to It. Geneva: International Labour Office, 2004

Toys of Misery 2004: A Joint Report by National Labor Committee and China Labor Watch, February 2004

Pathbreaking Strategies in the Global Fight Against Sex Trafficking: Conference Recommendations. Washington, D.C.: 2003

Committee on the Rights of the Child: Consideration of Reports Submitted by States Partis Under Article 44 of the Convention: Bangladesh, June 2001

A World Fit for Children: Millenium Development Goals, Special Session on Children Documents - The Convention on the Rights of the Child. New York: United Nations, 2002

Press Release: Bellamy and Otunnu Hail Entry Into Force of Optional Protocol on Child Soldiers. New York: United Nations/UNICEF, 2002

Action Against Child Labour 2000-2001: Progress and Future Priorities. Geneva: International Labour Office, 2001

Trafficking in Persons Report: Released by the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of State, 2002

AFL-CIO Position Statement on the Global Economy Resolution #3, 2001 Convention

ILO Annual Report 2001; Section on the Effective Abolition of Child Labour

Convention on the Rights of the Child: Cote D'Ivoire. New York: United Nations, 2000

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights: List of Issues: India. New York: United Nations, 1999

The ILO: What It Is, What It Does. Geneva: International Labour Organization, n.d.

ILO Conference Proceedings on Child Labour, 1999

----. 1998

Convention on the Rights of the Child: India. New York: United Nations, 1997

Report VI(1) Child Labour: Targeting the Intolerable. Geneva: International Labour Office, 1998

International Labour Office Legislative Series, 1955

Slavery in the 21st Century, Part 1. n.d.

What is Modern Slavery? Anti-Slavery International, 2007

Bonded Labour. Anti-Slavery International, 2007

Child Labour. Anti-Slavery International, 2007

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938

U.S. child labor file (corn detasseling), 2004

The Legal Rights of Cambodian Children, n.d.

Dugger, Celia W. "To Help Poor Be Pupils, Not Wage Earners, Brazil Pays Parents." The New York Times; January 3, 2004

The Exploitation of Child Labor: An Intractable International Problem? Westlaw, 1994

Investing in Every Child: An Economic Study of the Costs and Benefits of Eliminating Child Labour. Geneva: International Labour Office, 2003

Factbook on Global Sexual Exploitation: Cambodia

----. The Philippines

----. Thailand

----. Japan

Box 13

Johnson, Katharine. Confronting Child Labor. Rethinking Schools, Summer 2004

Maskus, Keith E. Should Core Labor Standards Be Imposed Through International Trade Policy? Washington, D.C.: The World Bank Development Research Group, August 1997

IPEC Action Against Child Labour, Highlights 2002. Geneva: International Labour Office, October 2002

Pflug, Bharati. An Overview of Child Domestic Workers in Asia. Geneva: International Labour Office, 2002

Post, David. Education and the Child Labor Paradox Today. University Park, PA: Population Research Institute, The Pennsylvania State University, 2000

Children Without Childhoods. American Educator, Summer 1996

Children Still in the Chocolate Trade. Save the Children, April 2003

Child Labor Research Initiative: Cambodia

Ex-Ugandan Child Soldier Calls for End to Child Exploitation. Chicago Defender, April 20, 2004

Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of 2000

Sex Slavery Awaits Ugandan Schoolgirls. BBC News, June 26, 2003

Weston and Sok: International Human Rights and Child Labor Current Students Papers

Proposal for "A Global Assembly on the Right to Health: Achieving Consensus," 2000

Sok, Chivy W. Striving for 'A World Fit for Children' The Global Struggle Against Child Labor. University Park, PA: The Pennsylvania State University, 2004

Combined Fifth Quarterly Report and First Annual Report to the U.S. Department of State re Safeguarding the Global Workplace: A Proposal for University-Based Research on Codes of Conduct Against Global Sweatshop Labor (CCSL). Iowa City: The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights, 2002

Nomination for 2005 Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize submitted by Chivy W. Sok

Teaching About Global Child Labor: Student Opening Statement by Spencer Lundquist, July 26, 2004

Being a Good Citizen, by Seth Saeugling (Iowa City student)

Hammarberg, Thomas. A School for Children with Rights. Florence, Italy: UNICEF, 1997

The Enslavement of Dalit and Indigenous Communities in India, Nepal and Pakistan Through Debt Bondage. New York: United Nations, 2001

Considering the Issue of Trafficking: Background Paper. New Delhi: Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions, 2002

Child Labour and Education: An IPEC Perspective. Geneva: International Labour Office, n.d.

A Future Without Child Labour: Report of the Director-General. Geneva: International Labour Office, 2002

Schrage, Elliot J. Promoting International Worker Rights Through Private Voluntary Initiatives: Public Relations or Public Policy? Iowa City: The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights, 2004

Weston, Marta Cullberg. How Could It Happen: Ethno-nationalism and the War in the Former Yugoslavia. Translated by Peter Tucker. Monograph series No. 3, 1994. Psychologists against Nuclear Weapons, for Peace and Ecological Balance.