Horace Korns Family Collection of Photographs
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: This collection was donated to University Archives by Dr. William B. Bean. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007 and updated February 2009.
Photographs: Box 1
Scope and Contents
The collection includes two photo albums containing about 100 images of the Korns family, Lakeside Hospital staff in Cleveland, Ohio, and the University of Iowa College of Medicine staff. Included are photographs of the University of Iowa College of Medicine staff with Dr. Fred M. Smith. Mary Bustard, wife of Horace Korns, is included in one group photograph of nurses seated in front of Flora Stone Mather Memorial Hall, at the College for Women of Western Reserve University in Cleveland. Captions are provided for some photographs.
Horace Marshall Korns was born January 10, 1893 in Alliance, Ohio. His father, Edward Franklin, was a college professor of Latin and English. Korns received his B.A. degree in biology and chemistry in 1916 from Mount Union College. He took his M.D. in 1918 at Western Reserve University and his M.A. there in 1921. He studied pathology at the University of Vienna in 1930. Dr. Korns was a member of the medical fraternity Nu Sigma Nu, as well as numerous medical societies. His area of specialty was cardiology and he served as associate editor of The American Heart Journal in the 1930s. He co-authored with P. H. Guinard "Inequality of Blood Pressure in the Brachial Arteries, with Especial Reference to Disease of the Arch of the Aorta," which appeared in Journal of Clinical Investigation, January 1933. In 1939 Dr. Korns published his lecture notes as Elementary Physical Diagnosis: Notes on the Lungs, Mediastinum and Cardiovascular System with a Chronology of Physical Diagnosis.
At Lakeside Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio, his career progressed from
intern, 1918 to 1919; resident physician, 1919 to 1921; assistant visiting physician, 1921 to 1927; director, Cardiographic Laboratory, 1920 to 1927; and director of the evening clinic, 1921 to 1924.
At the University Hospital in Iowa City, Iowa, Dr. Korns was associate professor of theory and practice of medicine from 1927 to 1936. He was named full professor in 1936 and served in this position until his resignation on August 31, 1945. From 1961 to 1967 he was the clinical assistant professor of the Department of Internal Medicine at the University Hospitals. Dr. Korns died in April 1967.
Horace M. Korns married Mary Niles Bustard in 1929. The couple had two sons, John and Michael, and a daughter, Katharine.
Records of the College of Medicine (RG 15.01)
Box Contents List
Two photo albums; about 100 images. Korns family and College of Medicine; School of Nursing.