Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Lester D. Longman Papers
RG 99.0031
Collection Dates: 1932-1955
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by his son, Stanley Longman, in April 1987.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None

Lester Longman, 1938

Lester D. Longman, 1938

Art Bulletin of the University of Iowa

Subject Vertical File, Art Curricula folder

Scope and Contents

The Lester D. Longman papers include his correspondence, articles, and newspaper clippings.

Biographical Note

Lester Duncan Longman was born August 27, 1905 in Harrison, Ohio.  Longman earned his A.B. degree at Oberlin College in 1927, graduating magna cum laude, and his M.A. there the following year.  He took his M.F.A. at Princeton in 1930, and his Ph.D. there in 1934.  He was on scholarship or fellowship steadily from 1927 to 1932, and a Fulbright Fellowship took him to Italy in 1952.  Longman was a lecturer at Ohio State and Columbia universities in 1930, and was assistant professor of art history at McMaster University, 1933-1936.

In June 1936, Longman joined the faculty at the University of Iowa as head of the Department of Graphic and Plastic Arts, and also served as professor of History and Appreciation of Fine Arts.  In September 1958 he joined the faculty at the University of California at Los Angeles as chairman in the Department of Art.  He was involved in founding the College of Fine Arts at UCLA in 1961 and also introduced the master of fine arts degree.  Lester Longman was married to Florence Lydia Brown; following her death, he married Helen Carroll.  Mr. Longman retired in 1973 and died January 27, 1987.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Longman, Lester D. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the School of Art and Art History (RG 06.07)

Papers of Grant Wood (RG 99.0033)

Longman, Stanley. "History of the Art Department." Iowa City, 1956. 25 pp. In "History of the University of Iowa, Miscellaneous Papers," 5. Archives LD2568 .H58 1942 v.5.

Box Contents List

Box 1



Newspaper clippings