Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Sven M. Armens Papers
RG 99.0050
Collection Dates: 1990
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Armens in October 1994.  Finding aid created January 2008.

Photographs: None

Scope and Contents

The Sven M. Armens papers include his manuscript drafts of poetry.

Biographical Note

Sven M. Armens was born August 11, 1921, in Cambridge, Massachusetts.  Mr. Armens received his A.M. degree from Tufts College (now Tufts University) in Medford, Massachusetts, in 1943.  He took the M.A. and Ph.D. in English at Harvard University in 1947 and 1951.

Dr. Armens received a teaching fellowship at Harvard during 1949-1950.  He joined the State University of Iowa English faculty as an instructor in 1950.  He was promoted to assistant professor in 1954, associate professor in 1961, and was made full professor in 1966.  He taught courses in American poetry, Shakespeare, and ancient and modern literature.  In addition to publishing several books of poetry, he contributed to the University of Kansas City Review and other publications.   Dr. Armens retired from the University in 1988.

He married Kathleen Vera Danahy on May 31, 1942, and they had two children, Karl and Sharon.

Related Materials

Folder, "Armens, Sven," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Manuscript, In the Vernacular [published 1990]

In the Vernacular, typed working copy

"The Carnal Mass (Missa Pro Defunctis)"

"The Prodigal Samaritan (An Intermezzo)"

"The Forms of Salvation"

"Coda: The Last Word"

Box 2

In the Vernacular

---. Second movement

---. Third movement

---. Fourth movement

Box 3

"Coda: The Last Word," typed working copy