Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Estella Boot Papers
RG 99.0051
Collection Dates: 1930
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Sven Armens in September 1987.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, September 2007

Photographs: None

Professor Estella Boot, 1966

Estella Boot, 1966

Scope and Contents

The Estella Boot papers include her two travel diaries dated 1930.

Biographical Note

Estella May Boot was born December 14, 1875, in Wilton Junction, Muscatine County, Iowa.  She became a school teacher at age sixteen and graduated from the University of South Dakota in 1901, majoring in Latin, Greek, and Sanskrit.  She took her M.A. from Northwestern University in 1909, in Latin and English.  She taught at Kansas State University for eight years before joining the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa in 1917.  She pursued graduate work in Science and English at Kansas State College, Columbia University, and the University of Chicago.  Her work for a Ph.D. was complete, except for a dissertation.  She retired as assistant professor from the University of Iowa in 1949 but continued tutoring foreign students in English for the next twenty years.  The Estella Boot Fellowship was established on the occasion of her 92nd birthday in 1967, in honor of her long membership in American Association of University Women (AAUW).  Estella Boot died August 29, 1969, at age 93.

[D. Anderson; 09/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Boot, Estella," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Diaries, June 1930-September 1930

Photograph of Boot in a graduation gown. On mount of [W.H.] Lawton, Vermillion, S.D. and probably made in 1901. Gift of Charlotte Wright, 2011.