Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Millington F. Carpenter Papers
RG 99.0052
Collection Dates: 1903-1961
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None

Millington F. Carpenter, n.d.

Millington F. Carpenter, n.d.

Scope and Contents

The Millington F. Carpenter papers include correspondence, course material, and speeches.

Biographical Note

Millington Farwell Carpenter was born October 21, 1888 in Monticello, Iowa.  He received his A.B. from the University of Chicago in 1911.  He taught at public schools in Houston for two years, followed by two years of service in the Army (stateside) during World War I.  He joined the English Department at the University of Iowa in 1919 as assistant.  With his athletic experience in track while at the University of Chicago, he became a teacher of Physical Education at Iowa from 1920 to 1921, and then worked as secretary in the English Department for one year.  Carpenter did not take an M.A., but took his Ph.D. at Iowa in 1924.

In 1922, Carpenter was an instructor of English in the University High School on the University of Iowa campus, and rose to associate professor and head of English at that school.  His area of interest was in teaching methods, which was a large focus of the high school.  At the high school, he also served as track coach, debate coach, play director, and student publication advisor.  In 1950 he began teaching literature in the College of Liberal Arts.  He retired in 1957, but continued to teach one class each semester until 1964.  The Millington F. Carpenter professorship of literary criticism was established in 1963.  Millington Carpenter died January 6, 1967. 

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Carpenter, Millington F.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Carpenter, Millington F. Minimum Essentials of Correct Writing, New York, Harcourt, Brace and Company, 1924

Records of the University Schools (RG09.07)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1


Church history

Religious writings

Literature course material




---. Addresses by others

---. Correspondence

---. Book designed by student