Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Carrie E. Stanley Papers
RG 99.0074
Collection Dates: 1901-1944
Bulk: 1912, 1913, 1943
0.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Jerry Murphy in 1978. Guide created by Denise Anderson, August 2007.

Photographs: None

Portrait of Carrie Stanley, University of Iowa English faculty.

Carrie E. Stanley, n.d.

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of correspondence of Carrie Ellen Stanley, dated 1901 to 1944, primarily 1912, 1913, and 1943.  These papers are not arranged.  Correspondents include James J. Trickey (1888-1913), and Carrie Stanley's relatives.  Subjects include public schools of Boise, Idaho; Idaho irrigation farming; The University of Iowa; and World War II years in Boulder, Colorado, and Washington, D.C.

Biographical Note

Carrie Ellen Stanley was born January 1, 1886, in Toledo, Kansas.  She grew up in Corning, Iowa.   She earned her B.A. from the University of Iowa in 1912, and took her M.A. in 1915.  Ms. Stanley taught high school English in Lamoni and Marshalltown within Iowa, as well as Boise, Idaho, after graduation.

Stanley joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa English Department in September 1920 as instructor.  She was promoted to associate professor during her career.  Stanley taught composition, and established a writing laboratory in 1934 to provide additional aid to students who were struggling with that subject.  Professor Stanley's laboratory methods were copied at writing labs nationwide.  After retiring from the University in 1954, she taught at schools in Lone Tree, Iowa, until May 1962.  Carrie Stanley died June 18, 1962.  A women's dormitory constructed in 1966 was named after her.

[D. Anderson; 08/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Stanley, Carrie E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Stanley, Carrie Ellen. "The Tenth Century English Renaissance." Master's thesis, The University of Iowa, 1915.

Stanley, Carrie Ellen. A Guide for Freshman College English, With Freshmen Themes. New York: Century, 1926

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1