Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Luella M. Wright Papers
RG 99.0078
Collection Dates: 1933-1951
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives through Ms. Wright's estate in October 1963.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None

Scope and Contents

The Luella M. Wright papers include article reprints authored by Ms. Wright.

Biographical Note

Luella Margaret Wright was born in Cedar Falls, Iowa, on June 20, 1881.  She earned a Ph.B. at the University of Iowa in 1905.  She took her M.A. (1919) and Ph.D. (1932) from Columbia University.  Dr. Wright taught English at the Iowa State Teachers College in Cedar Falls, and at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, among other institutions.  Wright authored books on the subject of the literature of Quakers.  She joined the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa in 1920 as an instructor, and retired in 1951 as an associate professor.  At Iowa, Dr. Wright taught a course in Shakespeare's early plays.  Luella Wright died August 8, 1963.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Wright, Luella M.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Hardin Craig (RG99.0054)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Publications, 1933-1951