Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

William R. Savage Papers
Collection Dates: 1974-1987
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Helen Savage in March 2000. A set of records pertaining to the Faculty Research Club was moved to collection RG 03.05. Finding aid created January 2008.

Photographs: None

William R. Savage

William R. Savage

Frederick W. Kent photograph collection

Scope and Contents

The William R. Savage papers include offprints and material regarding conferences he was involved with during his professional career.

Biographical Note

William Ralph Savage was born September 12, 1926 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  He served in the U.S. Army during World War II.  He received his B.S. degree at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, in 1951.  He took his Ph.D. there in 1956.

He joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in August 1963 as associate professor of physics and astronomy.   He was promoted to full professor in 1978.  His research was in solid state physics and musical acoustics, as well as high temperature superconductivity.  He was a member of many professional organizations and established the Iowa Acoustics Colloquium.

He married Helen L. Hoffman December 23, 1950.  He had a son, William D., and a daughter, Barbara E.  William Ralph Savage died May 28, 1988.

[D. Anderson; 01/2008]

Related Materials

Folder, "Savage, William R.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Department of Physics (RG06.28)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Iowa Acoustics Colloquium conferences

---. 1974

---. 1976

---. 1980

---. 1981

---. 1983

---. 1985

---. 1987


G. W. Stewart and Carl E. Seashore offprints and articles