Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Frederick D. Francis
RG 99.0210
Collection Dates: 1928-1952
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to University Archives from the State Historical Society of Iowa in March 1975. Guide posted to the Internet in May 2010.

Photographs: None

Letter to Dr. Frederick Francis, 1942

Request for mouth wash formula, 1942.

Scope and Contents

The Frederick D. Francis papers contain administrative correspondence and lecture notes relating to his position as professor and head of the Department of Dental Pathology, Therapeutics and Periodontia at the College of Dentistry.

Biographical Note

Frederick David Francis was born July 9, 1886, in Windfall, Indiana.  He graduated from Plainfield Academy and Earlham College, where he received a B. S. in 1911 with a major in chemistry.  In 1915 he married Laura Belle Wright of Idaville, Indiana.  Francis taught in public schools in Indiana and was superintendent of schools at Gilman, Iowa, before he and Laura moved to Iowa City in 1920. 

Laura taught junior high school while Francis earned a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from the State University of Iowa, graduating in June 1924.  That same year he worked as an assistant demonstrator at SUI and was promoted to instructor (1925), assistant professor (1929), associate professor (1939), and was made full professor in 1943.  He was named head of the Dental Pathology, Therapeutics, and Periodontia department in 1944.  He received grant money from the National Institutes of Health from 1948-1950 to research oral cancer.  Francis retired in 1953 and died November 19, 1973, the same year the College of Dentistry occupied the new Dental Science Building.

[D. Anderson; 05/2010]

Related Materials

Folder, "Francis, Frederick," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, " Bryan, Alvin W.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the College of Dentistry (RG 08.1)

Papers of Ernest Sahs (RG 99.0213)

Papers of Earle S. Smith (RG 99.0215)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence. 1928-1944.

College of Dentistry history, salaries, enrollments. 1930-1952.

Teaching and administration, College of Dentistry. 1927-1951.

Professional associations

---. American Academy of Applied Nutrition. 1942-1951.

---. American Association of Dental Schools. 1935-1951.

---. American Dental Association. 1936; 1942.