Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Lewis E. January
RG 99.0279
Collection Dates: 1957-1997
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to University Archives from Dr. January's office in November 1988.  Guide posted to the Internet in August 2010.

Photographs: Box 1

Lewis E. January, September 1962

Dr. Lewis E. January, September 1962

Scope and Contents

The Lewis E. January papers contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, programs, and photographs collected by Dr. January.  This material documents the history of the University of Iowa Department of Internal Medicine.  Files about presidents James O. Friedman and Howard R. Bowen are included, as well as a history of the Cardiovascular Training Program and the staff.  A 1991 report of the University Review Committee, with supporting correspondence and clippings, are housed in this collection.  During fall 1986, Governor Terry Branstad invited Dr. Luke Faber to serve on a Blue Ribbon Commission to study the financing of indigent patient care at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC); those meeting minutes are housed in this collection.

Biographical Note

Lewis Edward January was born in Haswell, Colorado, on November 14, 1910.  He received the B. A. degree in biology at Colorado College in 1933, and took his M. D. degree in 1937 at the University of Colorado Medical School.  He completed a three-year residency at the State University of Iowa, where he was inspired by cardiologists Fred M. Smith and Horace M. Korns.  January completed one year as instructor at SUI before serving four years as chief of medicine at five different Army Air Force bases throughout the United States during World War II.

Dr. January returned to SUI in 1944 and was named director of the UI Heart Station.  January served in cardiology within the Department of Internal Medicine until his retirement on July 1, 1981.  Among the awards he received during his career are the 1989 UI Department of Internal Medicine Distinguished Service Award, and the 1990 Angel Award from the International Society of Performing Arts Presenters (ISPAA) for support of the arts. January served on the planning committee for the Iowa Cardiology Reunion held in June 1988.

January married Eloise Taylor in 1941 and they had two sons, Alan and Craig.  Lewis E. January died on October 8, 2002.

[D. Anderson; 08/2010]

Related Materials

Folder, "January, Lewis E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the College of Medicine (RG 15.01)

Papers of Elmer DeGowin and the DeGowin Blood Center (RG 99.0320)

Box Contents List

Box 1


---. Governor Branstad's Blue Ribbon Commission. 1986.

---. Iowa City City Council and the Iowa City Airport. 1993-1994.


---. College of Medicine survey results. 1963.

---. University Review Committee for the College of Medicine. 1991-1992.

Cardiovascular Division

---. Correspondence, 1978-1979; two reprints, 1992 and 1994.

---. History of the Cardiovascular Training Program. 1966-1988.

---. Cardiovascular Center dedication program. 1982.

---. Iowa Cariovascular Reunion. Photographs and slides. June 1988.

---. Cardiovascular Training Program. 1992.

---. Cardiovascular Division faculty. 1996-1997.

College of Medicine history

---. Leila Kemmerer account of the burning of South Hall and the Medical Building in March 1901.

---. Culbertson, James W. 1957-1964.

---. Promotion of NIH funding by Lewis January. 1993.

---. College of Medicine manual of procedure. 1957; 1967-1984.

---. Department of Medicine indigent patients. 1981-1986.

---. College of Medicine anniversary. 1995.

---. "Does Iowa Need Another Medical School," by Robert C. Hardin, 1968.  Correspondence, 1968; clippings, 1964 and 1970.

---. Reorganization of the Medical Center. 1966.

---. Three UI presidents were previously faculty in the College of Medicine. 1991.

University of Iowa presidents

---. Bowen, Howard R., Correspondence, 1966-1969; clippings, 1969; Bowen Lecture Series, 1986-1987.

---. Freedman, James O., Correspondence, clippings, inauguration. 1983-1997.

Profile of January

Speech to Board of Regents. 1986.

Nomination for James B. Herrick Award. 1971-1975.

January's reviews of articles for Circulation, the official journal of the American Heart Association. 1976-1977.