Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Dean M. Lierle
RG 99.0281
Collection Dates: 1959
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Guide posted to the Internet May 2011.

Photographs: None

Dr. Dean M. Lierle, December 10, 1949

Dr. Dean M. Lierle, December 10, 1949

Scope and Contents

The papers of Dr. Dean M. Lierle include the report of the Otolaryngology Postgraduate Training Committee, on which he served in 1959, and his typed, bound medical notes, which are not dated.

Biographical Note

Dean McAllister Lierle was born May 21, 1895 in Marshalltown, Iowa, where his father, Dr. Frederick Perkins, had a medical practice.  He attended Stanford University for two years prior to enrollment at the State University of Iowa, where he received the B.S. degree in 1919. Lierle took the M.D. in 1921 and the M.S. in 1923, also at SUI.  He made his internship at Boston University from 1921 to 1922.  Lierle completed postgraduate work in bronchoscopy at the University of Pennsylvania (1928) and in pathology and anatomy at the University of Vienna (1929-1930).

Dr. Lierle served as resident physician at the SUI College of Medicine in the Ophthalmology Department, and in the Department of Otolaryngology and Oral Surgery in 1923.  He served as instructor in the latter department from 1923 to 1925.  He was named assistant professor in the Department of Head Specialties in 1925, and acting head in the Department of Otolaryngology in 1927.  He was named full professor in 1928. The following year he was made head of Otolaryngology and Oral Surgery, a position he held until his retirement in 1965.  His was the recipient of the de Roaldes Award, the highest award by the American Laryngological Association.  The Dean Lierle Surgical Center, funded by gifts from Lierle's former students, was opened at the University Hospital in 1973.  The following year he was the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

Lierle married Pauline Thompson in 1923 and the couple had three sons, Dean McAllister, Richard Burton, and William Bayard.  Lierle died in Palo Alto, California on August 8, 1976.

[D. Anderson; 05/2011]

Related Materials

Folder, "Lierle, Dean M.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Department of Otolaryngology and Maxillofacial Surgery, within the Records of the College of Medicine (RG 15.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Otolaryngology Postgraduate Training Committee report, September 1959

Bound surgery notes, n.d.