Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

William D. Middleton Papers
RG 99.0282
Collection Dates: 1855-1902
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Elizabeth Middleton in 1977.  Finding aid created in October 2009 .

Photographs: None

Dr. William D. Middleton

Dr. William D. Middleton

Photograph from William D. Middleton faculty file.

Scope and Contents

The William D. Middleton papers include photocopies of newspaper clippings, a biographical sketch of Middleton by his daughter, and transcripts of two addresses by Middleton.

Biographical Note

William Drummond Middleton was born in Bervie, Kincardineshire, Scotland, on April 26, 1844.  His family immigrated to the United States when he was twelve years old.  He graduated from Davenport High School in Davenport, Iowa.  At the age of twenty, he enlisted during the final year of the Civil War.  Middleton graduated from Bellevue Hospital Medical College (later the New York University School of Medicine) in New York City in March 1868.  After graduation, he began his medical practice in Davenport.

On October 24, 1870, the first term of the SUI Medical Department opened with thirty-nine students.  Middleton joined the Medical Department in 1870 as professor of Physiology, and Microscopic Anatomy.  In addition to teaching, early SUI physicians held private practices or additional positions, because their only teaching income was from student fees.  Middleton was concurrently associated with Mercy Hospital in Iowa City and in Davenport, and served as surgeon for the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company.

From 1883 to 1887, Middleton was a lecturer on Insanity.  When professor William S. Robertson died in March 1887, Middleton filled his position as professor of Theory and Practice of Medicine, and Clinical Medicine.  In 1891 he was named professor of Surgery and professor of Clinical Surgery.  He served as dean of the medical faculty from 1895 until his death on April 5, 1902.  Middleton was president of the Scott County Medical Society from 1876 to 1877.  He was also a member of the Iowa State Medical Society. 

Middleton's students formed the Middletonian Medical Society in 1900, which provided junior and senior medical students the opportunity for discussions of medical topics with faculty outside of the classroom.  The following year these students established The Middletonian, a journal which contained alumni news.

Middleton married Sue Yandell Modemann on May 22 1871.  The couple met in New York while Middleton was enrolled in courses at Bellevue.  They had six children: Mary; George; Jessie; Edward; John; and William Drummond Middleton, Jr., who in turn named his son William Drummond Middleton.

[D. Anderson; 10/2009]

Related Materials

Folder, "Middleton, William D. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Peck, Washington Freeman," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of John T. McClintock (RG99.0280)

Records of the College of Medicine (RG 15.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Newspaper clippings. 1902 and n.d.

"The Garfield Case." Scott County [Iowa] Medical Society meeting. October 1881.

Middleton biographical sketch. 1855.

Published address by Middleton to Medical Department students.1877.

Photocopy of handwritten address by Middleton. September 11, 1889.