Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Raymond F. Sheets Papers
Collection Dates: 1961-1968
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Raymond F. Sheets in February 1983.  A set of records pertaining to College of Medicine committee minutes was moved to RG15.01. Finding aid created January 2008.

Photographs: None

Raymond F. Sheets, July 1968

Raymond F. Sheets, July 1968

Scope and Contents

The Raymond F. Sheets papers include a one-year diary.

Biographical Note

Raymond Franklin Sheets was born June 15, 1914, in Bentley, Illinois.  He received his B.A. degree from Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, in 1936.  He took his M.S. and M.D. degrees from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1940 and 1941.  He completed his residency at the State University of Iowa and joined the faculty there in 1949.  He was made professor of internal medicine in 1959.  He specialized in hematology and oncology.  He retired in 1984.

Dr. Sheets served as a surgeon in the U.S. Navy during World War II.  He married Viola Meining in 1946.  After Viola's death he married Kristin Sagert in 1980.  He had three sons and one daughter.

[D. Anderson; 01/2008]

Related Materials

Folder, "Sheets, Raymond F.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the College of Medicine (RG15.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Diary, January 12, 1961-May 5, 1962