Wilber J. Teeters Papers
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created December 2007.
Wilbur J. Teeters, ca. 1920
Scope and Contents
The Wilber J. Teeters papers include one bound collection of correspondence titled Birthday Letters and Letters of Appreciation. Eightieth Birthday of Dean Wilber J. Teeters.
Wilber John Teeters was born October 10, 1866, in Alliance, Ohio. He earned his B.S. at Mount Union College, Alliance, in 1893 and his M.A. there in 1897. He took his Ph.G. (Pharmacy Graduate) degree from the University of Michigan in 1895.
Dr. Teeters began his 64-year career at the State University of Iowa in September 1895 as a demonstrator of chemistry in the Department of Medicine. In 1901 he was promoted to associate professor of pharmacy and was made full professor in 1903. He served as the first head of the Chemistry Department and the second dean of the College of Pharmacy, the latter from 1904 until 1937. In 1937 he resigned as dean and continued to teach part time for the next 22 years. Teeters was a founding member of the faculty organization, the Triangle Club.
During his career in pharmacy, Dr. Teeters served as the Iowa state toxicologist for decades. He served as a member on the Board in Control of Athletics from 1905 to 1913. Teeters also served as a member of the Iowa City City Council, 1941-1943 and 1947-1949. He was mayor of Iowa City 1943-1947. He had two sons, Otis and Wilber. Mrs. Teeters died in 1903. Wilber J. Teeters died December 14, 1959.
[D. Anderson; 12/2007]
Folder, "Teeters, Wilber J.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Andrews, Launcelot W." Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Folder, "Rockwood, Elbert," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Papers of Edward Bartow (RG 99.0038)
Records of the Chemistry Dept. (RG06.09)
Box Contents List
Birthday Letters and Letters of Appreciation. Eightieth Birthday of Dean Wilber J. Teeters.