Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Ralph H. Ojemann
RG 99.0310
Collection Dates: 1949-1966
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives after 1980.  Finding aid published to the Internet in June 2010.

Photographs: None

Ralph H. Ojemann, March 23, 1953

Ralph H. Ojemann, March 23, 1953

Scope and Contents

The papers of Ralph H. Ojemann include his articles and speeches in adolescent development while teaching at the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station.

Biographical Note

Ralph Henry Ojemann was born August 30, 1901, in Peoria, Illinois. He received his B. S. degree in 1923 and M. S. in 1924 at the University of Illinois.  He received his Ph.D. at the University of Chicago in 1929. 

After earning his Ph.D., he served briefly as assistant professor at the University of Kansas.  Ojemann first served at the State University of Iowa as a research associate in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station in 1929.  He was named assistant professor in 1931, associate professor in 1939, and full professor in 1951.  His research focused on behavior modification in children.  In conducting research at the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station, Ojemann collaborated at times with such colleagues as Bird Baldwin, George Stoddard, and Amy Daniels.  Ojemann retired from  the University of Iowa in June 1967 and was named director of Experimental Psychology in the Greater Cleveland Educational Research Council.

Ojemann married Freda Elizabeth Metzger in August 1925 and they had three children, Robert, George, and Kathryn.  Ralph H. Ojemann died in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1975.  The Ralph H. and Freda E. Ojemann Visiting Professorship was established in the University of Iowa College of Medicine in 1988.

[D. Anderson; 06/2010]

Related Materials

Folder, "Ojemann, Ralph H.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station (RG 23.03)

Papers of Baldwin, Bird T. (RG 99.0306)

Papers of Daniels, Amy L. (RG 99.0308)

Papers of Stoddard, George (RG 99.0337)

Iowa Child Welfare Research Station digital photographs from the Frederick W. Kent collection (RG 30.01.01) available at

Box Contents List

Box 1

Book draft, Guided Learning in Human Development, c. 1964


---. "How the Integrated Plan for Education in Human Relations and Mental Health Developed," 1949

---. "Changing Attitudes in the Classroom," 1956

---. Article draft for Committee on Preventive Psychiatry, 1957

---. "Basic Approaches to Mental Health: The Human Relations Program at the State University of Iowa," 1958

---. "Investigations on the Effects of Teaching an Understanding and Appreciation of Behavior Dynamics," 1961

---. "The Development of Parent Education," 1961

---. "The Significance of Education in Human Behavior for the Social Development of Children," 1962

---. "Developmental Factors Related to Productive Thinking," c. 1963

---. "The Development of Parent Education," n.d.


---. "Changes Needed in Subject-matter Content to Develop a Mental Hygiene Approach to Behavior," 1953

---. "The Mental Health Effects of a Program for Training Teachers and Pupils in the Understanding of Human Behavior," 1965

---. "The Prevention of Mental Illness in the Early Years," Cleveland Educational Research Council, fall 1965

---. "The Effect of a Programmed Sequence for Developing Probability Concepts at the Fifth Grade Level and Its Contribution to a Theory of Instruction," February 1966

---. "The Mental Health Effects of a Program for Teaching Elementary School Children the Elements of Probability Thinking," July 1966

---. "The Role of the Schools in Mental Health," July 1966

---. "Studies in Incorporating Psychological Concepts in the School Curriculum," September 1966

---. "Guided Learning and the Concept of Experience," Cleveland Educational Research Council, n.d

Teaching material

---. "Mental Hygiene of the Normal Child," c. 1941

---. "The Teacher's Reaction to Child Behavior," n.d.

---. Child Development 100, n.d.

Study, "Development of Mental Hygiene Approach to Behavior at the Elementary Level," n.d.

PTA work, "A Suggested Plan for Family Life Education in Schools," n.d.

Pamphlet, The Teacher's Responsibility in Time of War, c. 1942