Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of C. P. Howard
RG 99.0334
Collection Dates: 1884-1958; bulk: 1911-1923
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated to University Archives by Ed Holtum in September 2002.  Finding aid posted to the Internet in August 2010.

Photographs: None

Dr. Campbell Palmer Howard

Dr. Campbell Palmer Howard

From C. P. Howard Faculty File

Scope and Contents

The C. P. Howard papers include the data, articles, and medical society presentations of Dr. Howard during his tenure at the State University of Iowa College of Medicine from 1910 to 1924.  This was a period of expansion for the College of Medicine. 

A memorial that was apparently read at his father's funeral is included with the biographical material.

Biographical Note

Campbell Palmer Howard was born April 2, 1877, in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.  His father, Robert Palmer Howard, was a physician, and his godfather, Sir William Osler (1849-1919), was a widely respected physician.  Howard graduated from Montreal High School, followed by the Montreal Collegiate Institute.  He received a Faculty of Arts B. A. degree from McGill Medical College (later named McGill University) in 1897.  He took the M.D.C.M. medical degree at McGill in 1901.  After graduation, he completed a one-year internship at Montreal General Hospital and served as assistant resident physician at Johns Hopkins Hospital from 1902 until 1906.  Howard completed graduate work at the University of Munich from 1906 to 1907.  Over the next three years, he taught clinical chemistry and a course in adolescent diseases at McGill University while he served concurrently as physician at the Royal Edward Institute for Tuberculosis in Montreal.

Dr. Howard joined the State University of Iowa faculty in September 1910 as professor and head of the Department of Theory and Practice of Medicine, with his focus in bacteriology.  He was recruited because of his training, which was one of the changes suggested for SUI by Abraham Flexner, following Flexner's 1910 report on medical education in the United States and Canada.  Flexner had praised McGill Medical College in his report.  In 1921, Howard was also named Physician-in-Chief of University Hospital and was successful in attracting talented physicians to the faculty.  Howard resigned July 1, 1924 to become professor of medicine at McGill University and physician to the Montreal General Hospital.  During his medical career, Howard served as president of the Association of American Physicians and of the Society for Clinical Investigation.  He was a guest speaker for the Iowa State Medical Society at the Des Moines session in May 1931.

In 1911 Howard married Ottille Frances Wright, a niece of Osler's, and they had a son, R. Palmer Howard, M. D., who became director of the History of Medicine Program at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.  C. P. Howard died on June 3, 1936.

[D. Anderson; 08/2010]

Related Materials

Folder, "Howard, C. P.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

William Osler Collection of Medical Materials (MsC 804)

Records of the College of Medicine (RG 15.01)

Howard, R. Palmer. The Chief, Doctor William Osler. Canton, Mass.: Science History Publications, 1983. 194 pp., illus., notes, bibliog. Ch. 4, "Changes of Medicine at Iowa and the Hopkins," pp. 48-71, 108-110; ch. 5, "Stresses of World War I," pp. 72-89, 110-113; ch. 7, "Campbell Howard's Later Career," pp. 97-99, 114; "Biographical Notes," pp. 115-178. Hardin Library; Special Collections x- collection and Iowa Authors collection. 

Flexner, Abraham. I Remember: The Autobiography of Abraham Flexner. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1940. 414 pp., illus. UI, W.R. Boyd, etc., pp. 127, 291-297; UI presidents, faculty, pp. 335-339. Main Library LB875.F583A3; Library Annex.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Biographical. 1884; 1958

Papers and presentations. 1916-1923

Articles. 1914; 1917

Subject file. 1912-1932

Activities in medical societies. 1919-1922

University Hospital research. 1911-1920