Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Records of the Dept. of Theatre Arts
RG 06.24.03
Collection Dates: 1921- ; bulk, 1940-1999
120 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Dept. of Theatre Arts at various times. They include accessions coordinated by David Thayer, prof. emeritus, in 2003 and 2004. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Photographs:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Box Contents List

Box 1:

National Theatre Conference

Correspondence, 1936-1938

[See also: Papers of Edward Charles Mabie, box 22]

Box 2:

"The Federal Theatre,” 1936-1938 (incomplete)

Federal Theatre correspondence

Midwest states

Box 3:

National Theatre Conference

Box 4:

Federal Theatre

Correspondence, 1935-1938

"Play Bureaus”

Applications

Proposals

Box 5:

Federal Theatre

"Play Bureaus”

Box 6:

Federal Theatre on peripheral

Phone calls

Miscellaneous

Box 7:

New theatre budget estimates

New theatre bills

Counter weight plans

Requests for information

"Two Hundred were Chosen,” by E.P. Conkle (production details)

"Blue Jeans,” by Marvin Flavin (criticisms)

Box 8:

Archives of Speech [See also: Papers of Edward Charles Mabie, boxes 14 & 34]

Notes and minutes of Committee on Communication

Box 9:

 National Theatre Conference minutes, 1935

American Educational Theatre Association, 1946

Box 10:

"Western theatre,” 1935

Outline for "An Introductory Course in Dramatic Production”

Experimental play production

"Drama in Theory and in Practice”

"A Survey of Drama Study in the High Schools of Illinois”

"Treatment of Stuttering”

Box 11:

W.P.A. materials

Box 12:

Play production festivals in order from 1926

Box 13:

Correspondence, A-Z, 1956-59

Staff meeting minutes, 1959-1963

Box 14:

Correspondence, A-Z, 1960-1962

Box 15:

Correspondence, A-L, 1945-1955

Box 16:

----. M-Z. 1945-1955

Box 17:

Miscellaneous

University Theatre Dramatic Art Play Programs Series

Box 1:

1889-1951

Box 2:

1952-1971

Box 3:

1972-1983

Box 4:

1983-

Box 5:

Untitled

Addenda:

THEATRE PRODUCTION CARD FILE SERIES:
Arranged by four sub-series: title, date, author and director.

PROGRAM-PICTURE FILES SERIES:
Includes files about virtually all productions arranged alphabetically by name of production, from 1920s to 1990s. These files include programs, playbills, photographs of sets and actors, etc. A very rich source of information about play productions at UI.

BUILDING SERIES:
Pertains to development and management of the Theatre Building, constructed in 1936.

SCRAPBOOKS SERIES:
Covers the 1920s-1980s, arranged by year. Newspaper clippings, playbills, programs, etc.

OTHER SERIES:

University Theatres Newsletter
University Theatres Mainstage (includes programs)
Iowa Shakespeare Festival Records; 1.0 ft.
Scripts; 48.0 ft.