Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

 

Norman C. Meier Papers
RG 99.0163
Collection Dates: 1906-1964
12.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Psychology.  Collection processed by Earl M. Rogers.  Guide created and posted to the Internet by Denise Anderson, May 2007.

Photographs: Box 6, 13, 15, 18

Portrait of Norman C. Meier, UI professor of psychology, between 1930 and 1935

Norman C. Meier, between 1930 and 1935


Scope and Contents

This collection is comprised of correspondence, publications, lectures, travel postcards, articles about and examples of artist's work, a scrapbook of family related material, hand-drawn diagrams, and visual material in the form of photographs, slides, and fragile glass plate negatives. 

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically in boxes 1 through 9, and all correspondence folder titles are listed in the box list, as provided by Mr. Meier.  Correspondence folders also contain course outlines, final exams, articles, lectures, and photographs.  Additional correspondence may be found in boxes 13, 14, and 18.  

The bulk of this material relates to the nearly forty-year career of Norman C. Meier with the University of Iowa Department of Psychology, where he developed tests to measure artistic aptitude, and a device to measure audience response.

Mr. Meier's University of Iowa Ph.D. dissertation, "The Use of Aesthetic Judgment in the Measurement of Art Talent," was written in 1926, during a time of development of other aptitude testing at the University of Iowa.  The Iowa Testing Programs: the first fifty years, by Julia J. Peterson, describes the birth of a testing program within the University of Iowa College of Education in 1928.  A related testing program that developed from the Iowa Testing Programs is the widely used American College Testing Program (ACT).


Biographical Note

Norman Charles Meier was born February 22, 1893 in Carrollton, Missouri.  He graduated from Central High School in Kansas City, Missouri, in 1914.  Mr. Meier worked as an apprentice draftsman in Pittsburgh in 1906, advanced to draftsman by 1914, and worked for the U.S. Geological Survey in that capacity in 1917.  Mr. Meier served during World War I at American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) headquarters in Chaumont, France.  He returned from service to work as a draftsman for a Chicago company, while also attending classes, until 1921.

He earned his Ph.B. and M.A., both at the University of Chicago in 1921 and 1922.  He took his Ph.D. at the University of Iowa in 1926.  He joined the University of Iowa Department of Psychology in 1922 as an assistant.  Mr. Meier was promoted to instructor, then associate, became assistant professor in 1927, then associate professor, and was made full professor in 1954.  He retired in 1964.

Mr. Meier is well known for the tests he designed for assessing artistic aptitude.  These were devised, in part, through his study of 100 artists from eight countries.  His areas of research were psychology of art, and social and political behavior.  His research in the latter field resulted in methods of measuring audience response to theatre and broadcast programs.  He also studied mob behavior and crowd control.   Courses he taught included Social Psychology, Psychology of International Relations, Psychology of Social Control, Public Opinion and Propaganda, and Psychology of Propaganda.  One public opinion student of Mr. Meier -- George Gallup -- developed a successful public polling organization.   During the 1950s, Mr. Meier lectured in Canada, England, France, and Belgium, as well as many U.S. cities.  Under a Fulbright grant, Mr. Meier was a consultant at the University of Paris in 1956 -- 1957 during the establishment of the Laboratory of Esthetics at the Sorbonne.   His work was published in numerous books and journals.

Mr. Meier married Clea Mae Grimes, and they had two sons, Mark F. in 1925, and George Edwin in 1930.  Norman C. Meier died November 2, 1967.


Related Materials

Photographs, Norman Meier conducting tests, in oversize drawer B7

Folder, "Meier, Norman C.," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Department of Psychology (RG06.30)

Edward Charles Mabie Papers, (RG 99.0188) (Theatre Arts)



Box Contents List

Box 1

Correspondence, A -- B

A

Acknowledgements for vol. III

AAUP faculty salaries study

Aesthetic Perception Test, 1962

American artists, contact information, 1955

American Institute of Public Opinion, 1935-1951

"Accuracy of Modern Polling Techniques in Making Election Forecasts" by George Gallup, director of AIPO

"The New Science of Public Opinion measurement" by Norman C. Meier

American Philosophical Society, 1956

American Psychological Association [APA]

APA, Penn State, 1950

APA resolution, 1949

APA Chicago meeting, 1951

American Psychologist

American Society for Aesthetics

Applied Psychology

"Art for Every Child"; Harmony selector color wheel

 

Art Institute of Chicago

Art Judgment Test, new norms for

Art Judgment, tests administered, 1940

Artists

Audience Research (see also Young & Rubicam, Inc. in folder Y)

B

Baker, J. Ella, 1934 -- 1935, principal of Phillips School, Des Moines

Bausch & Lomb

Benton, Thomas Hart, friend of Grant Wood

Bowen, Howard R., UI President, 1966

Berminghaus sketches

Best - poorest students

Box 2

Correspondence, B -- D

Bosin, F. Blackbear, of Great Plains Studio

Boyd Printing Co.

Browne, Schuyler & Beveridge law firm

Brighouse, Dr. Gilbert

Bureau of Audience Research

C

Clarification of policy on status of the Bureau of Audience Research

California, University of, summer session, 1940

Cannon, Charles B., of Rust-oleum company

Cannon, R -- T

Carnegie Corporation

Children's mural

Collective thinking project

Conference papers, duplicates

Copyright permissions for pictures

Courses

Cowles, Gardner, of Des Moines Register

Christensen, Erwin O., of American Federation of Arts

Creative processes in artists

Crossley, Archibald M., of Milwaukee Advertising Club

D

Daniels, Jack, survey

Davis, Harvey H., executive dean, S.U.I. Division of Research and Teaching

Department of Defense, draft of report, 1951

Development of The Artistic Nature of the Child, autobiography

Duncan vs. Dell law case

Duncan vs. Dell, and Yo-Yo

Box 3

Correspondence, D -- H

Du Pont advertising department

Dryce, Tom, New Mexico artist

E

Letters from art judges

Education through radio [2 folders]

Elementary Psychology project method

F

Former students

Walter D. Fuller Company, registry

Fulbright papers

G

Gallup, George H.

Gallup Poll

Gallup, congressional investigation

General Motors vs. Cadillac Marine & Boat Company

General Psychology

"Genetic Studies in Artistic Capacity" course

Graduate school, Creative Art

Grimes-Meier, Clea, regarding her mother's property

H

Hallmark Cards, Inc.

Hancher, Virgil M., President, University of Iowa, 1952 -- 1961

Hayden, Estelle, director of art, Iowa Board of Education

Heredity vs. environment

"History and Appreciation of the Fine Arts"

Henry Holt and Company, publishers

Box 4

Correspondence, H -- I

Howe, Oscar, head of Department of Art, Vermillion, South Dakota

I

Inter-society Color Council, National Bureau of Standards

Iowa Academy of Science

Iowa Poll [two folders]

Iowa Poll letters

Iowa Poll advance proofs

Iowa Poll letters from Henry J. Kroeger [two folders]

Iowa Poll reports

1945

1946

Box 5

Correspondence, J -- M

J

John Herron School of Art

Jahn & Ollier Engraving Company, Chicago, makers of printing plates

Johnson Reprint Corporation, New York, publishers

K

Kellett, Kathryn, Minnesota artist

Kennedy, Mrs. John F., 1966

KCRG radio, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

L

Lampa, Howard, Chicago, trade mark research, 1960s

Lampa & Christophersen, Chicago, trade mark research, 1940s -- 1950s

Larvie, Calvin, artist

Lecture, "The Crisis in France," June 24, 1958

Lectures [two folders]

Lockhart, Loren, Missouri artist

Lowenfield, Viktor, professor at Pennsylvania State College

Lynde, Stan, Montana cartoonist

M

Mc

McCloy, William, professor at Drake University and Connecticut College [See also Box 13]

MacGowan, Clara, professor at Northwestern University

McGraw-Hill Book Company, Inc., New York, 1947

Box 6

Correspondence, M

Student ratings of Norman Meier, n.d. [two folders]

Meier's radio presentations, n.d.

Meier's speaking engagements, 1938, 1952, 1953

Meier Audio Response Recorder, article and correspondence about, and photograph of, 1949, 1950

Meier's talks and papers

Meier Art Judgment Test mailing list, includes photographs

Meier lectures in Louisville, Lexington, and Illinois, n.d.

Meier, Norman C.

Meier newspaper clippings

Meier, Norman C., photographs

Meier, Norman C., photographs;Who's Who in America 1944; correspondence

Meier, Norman C., 1919 letter to ex-girlfriend Margaret Haggott; future book material

Meier, Norman C., unpublished manuscript, "Panty Raids: Craze or symptom?" [two folders]

Meier-Seashore scoring sheets

Meier-Seashore test records

Meier-Seashore test revision

Meier, Norman C., papers by

Box 7

Correspondence, M -- P

Mauldin, William, editor of Chicago Sun-Times

Manuscript, "Art and Man"

Martin, Henry P., Jr., syndicate manager, The Register and Tribune

Martin, Thomas E., Iowa Congressman

"Measurement of Public Opinion," lecture, 1936

Memorandum from Meier, n.d.

Military Psychology; 1940 Berkeley lecture "Public Opinion and the International Situation"

Military service, research

"Minnesota Poll," a weekly survey publication

"The Mob" paper

Monograph article, "Reconstructive Imagination"

N

Nashville groups, 1937

National Issues, Inc., director Norman C. Meier [two folders]

Navy collective thinking project

News items, 1939

Nixon, Richard M., 1961, 1964

O

Objective study

P

Parking problem, "Evaluation of the Proposal for an East Iowa Avenue Parking Garage," 1958

Patrick, Dr. Catharine, 1949

Permission to reproduce illustrations

Box 8

Correspondence, P -- S

"Political Psychology" course

Princeton conference, 1946

Propaganda; Army Talks, 1944

Propaganda lectures

Psychological Corporation, New York marketing company, 1933, 1940

"Psychology of Advertising" course syllabus and final exam

"Psychology of Advertising" course lecture notes

"Psychology of Art" and "Psychology of Propaganda," 1941

"Psychology of International Relations" course final exam

"Public Opinion and Propaganda" lecture notes and correspondence, 1938, 1940

"The Measurement of Public Opinion" paper and final exam

"Public Opinion and Propaganda" course outline and final exam, 1939; "Measurement of Public Opinion" course outline; "Public Opinion, 1936" article for Saturday Evening Post in 1937

Public opinion polls in Mexico, 1949, 1950

Public Opinion Quarterly, Princeton publication

Public opinion speaking engagements

Publication announcements

"Can Democracy Think?" paper, 1941 [two folders]

Q

"Questions teachers would like answered through art education research," questionnaire, 1937 [two folders]

R

Radio talks, 1932 -- 1940

Reagan, Ronald, 1966

Redmon, Hayes [assistant to President of the United States], 1965

"Public Opinion Polls and the 1940 Campaign"

Reprint acknowledgments, 1941

Research funds, 1959

Reuther, Walter P., president of UAW-CIO, survey, 1955

Reviews, 1939, 1944

Rogers & Woodson Co., Chicago

Pepsodent Co. toothbrush survey, 1944 -- 1947

Word association in marketing, 1946 -- 1950

S

Box 9

Correspondence, S -- Z

St. Louis, 1937

"Social Psychology" course, 1940, 1941

St. Louis public schools, 1936

School Arts Magazine, 1935, 1936

Schulz, Charles M., includes original "Peanuts" cartoon drawing, 1962

Social Science Research Council, New York, forecasts of election outcomes, 1950, 1951

Sorbonne, 1955

Sorbonne lectures

1955 -- 1956

1956 -- 1957

1958

Special ability, papers on

Students tested, 1962 -- 1964

Studies in the Psychology of Art, comments by reviewers

Steinhof, Dr. Eugen Gustav, director of National School of Decorative Art of Vienna, lecture, 1932

Survey Research Center, Federal Reserve Bank series on consumer finances, 1947 -- 1949

T

Test circular revision for Meier-Seashore Art Judgment Test, and Meier Art Tests 1. Art Judgment

Tests for courses

Theatre audience research, 1953

Third International Congress of Eugenics, 1932

U

V

Veterans Special Instruction Program, 1945

W

War psychology, 1941, 1942

Washington University, St. Louis, 1963

Washington survey; sample Gallup Poll form, 1950

Whitford, William G., professor of art education, University of Chicago, 1932 -- 1938

World Association for Public Opinion Research, 1948 -- 1952

Y

"Your Child Can Appreciate Art" paper

Z

Box 10

Reprints of articles by Meier

Psychology Laboratory notebook

Box 11

Cuts used in making book illustrations

Printed examples of book illustrations [includes Ding Darling cartoons]

Box 12

Manuscripts

Lectures in Paris

Course notes

"Psychology of Art"

"Psychology of International Relations"

Box 13

Cards received during 1964 illness

Correspondence with UI faculty regarding courses, 1930s and 1940s

Newspaper clippings

Photographs of art

Slides

Box 13a

Glass plate negatives of art

Films used in "Creative Imag. Study," 1936, McCloy, William A. [ see McCloy, Box 5]

Box 14

Correspondence

Paris trip; lectures presented at Paris, National Gallery, and Denver

Institute of [Native American] Indian Studies, brochure and occasional paper, 1959

Aesthetic Perception, Test II -- Scoring key to 1940 edition of The Meier Art Tests, 1. Art Judgment

Box 15

Photographs, slides, negatives, glass plate negatives

Box 16

Publications and courses

Box 17

Glass plate negatives

Box 18

Scrapbook of correspondence and photographs from sons, Mark and George

Family members, newspaper clippings and articles

Meier, Norman C.

Death condolence cards

Miscellaneous writings

Newspaper clippings

Photographs

Miscellaneous, including one of Camp Mills military training camp in Long Island, ca. 1917

Washington state, ca. 1961 -- 1967

Recognition

Central High School reunion

Class of 1914; Alpha Delta Sigma fraternity membership

Recognition from Governor Norman Erbe

Travel

Paris, 1956 -- 1957

Program of the Lido in Paris, 1956

Cruise line menus dated 1956 and 1957

Travel postcards [two folders]

Artists

Articles about

Examples of their work [includes Grant Wood greeting card]

Photographs of their work

Box 19

Slides

Oversize Box 20

Hand-drawn draftsman diagrams by Norman Meier