Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Faculty and Staff Vertical Files
RG 01.15.03
Collection Dates: 1860- ; bulk, 1920-
45.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were given to the University Archives by various donors on numerous occasions. Additions to the collection continue to accrue. Guide posted to the Internet 2004; revised December 2006.

Photographs: A portion of the files include published photographs, such as those appearing in newspaper clippings, brochures, or other printed matter.

Obituary for Adelaide Burge, 1947
Newspaper obituary, 1947

From the Adelaide L. Burge file,
Faculty and Staff Vertical Files

Scope and Contents

The Faculty and Staff Vertical Files of the University of Iowa Archives consist of records pertaining to over 20,000 former and current University employees, including administrators, professors, instructors, clerical workers, health care providers and others. The files may include, but are not limited to, obituaries, résumés, newspaper articles, and scholarly publications. The collection is a convenient source of biographical information about University of Iowa faculty and staff.

Many of the files include index cards that formed the now-defunct Faculty List, which was maintained by Archives staff until 1998. Data typed onto the individual cards were derived from the general catalogs and, as a result, may include only approximate dates of service to the University.

In addition to the individual files listed in this collection, folders containing photocopies of the above-noted index cards are maintained at the beginning of each alphabetized section of the collection. If a particular individual's name does not appear in this guide, staff and patrons are encouraged to also consult these folders. For example, the name "Margaret Belle Anderson" does not appear on the linked list. However, her employment with the University is noted in the folder marked "A" at the beginning of that section.

To access a folder in our reading room, note the title of the desired folder and the name and RG number of this collection, then contact staff in the Department of Special Collections with your request.

Related Materials

Related materials at the University of Iowa Archives include the University General Catalog collection. Released annually from 1855 to 1972 and biennially thereafter, the catalog includes information about administrators, faculty and staff, including their titles, educational background, and courses taught or areas of specialty.

Many photographs of faculty and staff are housed in the F.W. Kent Collection of Photographs. Also, in some instances, there are larger collections of papers donated by faculty, staff, alumni and others pertaining to the individual. For example, James A. Van Allen is represented not only by a file in this collection, but also by the Papers of James A. Van Allen.

Box Contents List

The Faculty and Staff Vertical Files are arranged alphabetically by last name of individual. The lists of files linked below indicate that a file pertaining to that individual is available at the University of Iowa Archives.