Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Frances Louise Fourt Papers
Collection Dates: 1930-1935
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Alumni Records Office in September 1980.  Finding aid created October 2007.

Photographs: Box 1

Frances Louise Fourt at YMCA camp, 1931

Frances Louise Fourt at YMCA camp, 1931

Scope and Contents

The Frances Louise Fourt papers include one scrapbook of photographs and clippings.

Biographical Note

Frances Louise Fourt grew up in Fairfield, Iowa.  She attended the State University of Iowa (1930-1935), where she was a member of Alpha Chi Omega, Phi Beta Kappa, Seals Club, YWCA, Morrison Club, and Women's Athletic Association Board.  Ms. Fourt was one of 12 female students in her junior class named to the Mortar Board honorary society in spring 1933.  While undergoing tuberculosis treatment at Oakdale Sanatorium for two years, she completed Extension Division correspondence courses and graduated with highest distinction on June 3, 1935, with a B.A. in Political Science.  Frances Fourt died November 19, 1981.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG 01.15.04)

Papers of Everett E. Sterner (RG02.09.09)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Photographs, including YWCA camp at Lake Okoboji in Spirit Lake, Iowa, where Ms. Fourt was a life guard.

Records of Alpha Chi Omega, handbook for Currier Hall residents, and articles about students' activities.

November 15, 1930 homecoming button and season football tickets.