Student Guides and Handbooks Collection
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials have been transferred to the University Archives at various times and continue to accrue. Guide posted to the Internet June 2006.
Scope and Contents
The Student Guides and Handbooks Collection consists of titles that were produced to orient incoming freshmen and transfer students, or to provide general information to the student body at large. Titles were produced by student organizations, including social fraternities and sororities.
Records of the Office of Student Services (RG 24.03)
Student-produced Directories Collection (RG 02.13)
Student-produced Publications and Newsletters Collection (RG 02.05)
Box Contents List
Code for Coeds; 0.5 ft.
Fraternity Way; 0.25 ft.
Freshman Handbook; 0.25 ft.
Panhellenic Handbook; 0.25 ft.
The Unofficial Guide to the University of Iowa; 0.25 ft.
Whole University Catalog; 0.25 ft.
University Edition; 0.25 ft.